Reining horses and riders complete intricate patterns using a set of barely perceptible cues. At reining competitions, horse and rider pairs are placed in classes sorted by their age, status (professional or amateur) and level of experience.

At the top level of competition, competitors complete one of 10 patterns that demonstrate the athletic abilities of the horse and the subtle communication between horse and rider. Included in the patterns are several compulsory movements: varying circles, small slow circles, flying lead changes, roll backs, spins and the crowd pleasing sliding stop.

Reining competitors also perform freestyles, in which they choreograph the compulsory movements to music. Freestyles are judged on level of difficulty as well as music and choreography.

Reining is the latest discipline to be recognized by the Federation Equestre Internationale (FEI). International reining competitions are now being held for both team and individual competitors worldwide. Reining was included at a medal discipline for the first time at the 2002 World Equestrian Games in Jerez, Spain. At the 2006 FEI World Equestrian Games, the Canadian Reining Team earned the Silver Medal for the team competition, and Duane Latimer took the individual Gold Medal for Canada. While reining is recognized by the FEI and performed at the World Equestrian Games, it is not an Olympic medal discipline.

Canadian Reining Committee

The Canadian Reining Committee is the discipline committee of Equine Canada responsible for developing and implementing programs on behalf of the Reining community.  The key role and responsibility of the CRC is to develop broad policy and objectives that will ensure that programs within the discipline are produced, implemented, and effectively evaluated. 

In the upcoming months, the CRC will be tasked with establishing a plan and structure for the Reining discipline that identifies how the sport will move forward within the Equine Canada and International (FEI) structure.  This will include the development of reining programs such as competitions, officials, coaching and rules within the EC structure.  The CRC will also maintain responsibility over the high performance programs including the approval of initiatives such as FEI competitions and the selection process for FEI teams and events.

Canadian Reining Committee Governance Manual

Les chevaux et les cavaliers exécutent des patrons complexes en utilisant des aides presque imperceptibles.  Aux concours de reining, les couples cavalier-cheval sont divisés en épreuves selon leur âge, leur statut (professionnel ou amateur) et leur niveau d’expérience.

Au plus haut niveau de compétition, les concurrents exécutent un des dix patrons disponibles qui leur permettent de démontrer les aptitudes athlétiques de leur cheval et la communication subtile qui existe entre le cavalier et sa monture.  Les patrons comprennent plusieurs mouvements obligatoires :  cercles aux dimensions variables, petits cercles lents, changements de pied en l’air, volte-faces, vrilles et arrêts en glissade qui soulèvent les foules.
 
Les concurrents de reining exécutent aussi des épreuves de style libre, pendant lesquelles les mouvements obligatoires sont chorégraphiés sur de la musique.  Les épreuves de style libre sont jugées selon le niveau de difficulté, la musique et la chorégraphie.

Le reining est la plus récente discipline à être reconnue par la Fédération équestre internationale (FEI).  Des concours internationaux de reining  ont maintenant lieu à travers le monde pour les concurrents qui participent en équipe et en individuel.  Le reining est devenu une discipline médaillée pour la première fois aux Jeux équestres mondiaux de Jerez en Espagne en 2002.  Aux Jeux équestres mondiaux de la FEI en 2006, l’équipe canadienne de reining s’est mérité la médaille d’argent en équipe, et Duane Latimer a remporté la médaille d’or en individuel pour le Canada.  Malgré que le reining soit reconnu par la FEI et fasse partie des Jeux équestres mondiaux, ce n’est pas une discipline officielle aux Jeux olympiques.

Le Comité canadien de reining

Chapeauté par Canada Hippique, le Comité canadien de reining est chargé d’instaurer et implanter des programmes au nom du milieu de reining. Le rôle principal du CCR consiste à tracer un cadre de politiques et objectifs pour favoriser l’élaboration et la mise en œuvre des programmes de la discipline de reining, ainsi que la création d’un mode d’évaluation efficace.   

Le CCR est chargé d’établir dans les mois qui viennent le plan et la structure de la discipline de reining, afin d’ouvrir les avenues sur lesquelles le sport évoluera dans le  cadre national de Canada Hippique et le cadre international de la FEI. Ceci comprendra la mise sur pied des programmes de reining, notamment pour la compétition, les officiels, la formation d’entraîneurs, de même que pour l’élaboration de règlements harmonisés à la structure de CH. Le CCR aura également la responsabilité des programmes de haute performance qui englobent l’approbation d’activités comme les compétitions FEI, ainsi que le processus de sélection des équipes et des épreuves FEI. 

Manuel de gouvernance et de politiques de la comité canadien de reining