Home / News / Para-Equestrian Canada Names Canadian Para Dressage Team and Individuals for the 2010 WEG

Para-Equestrian

Para-Equestrian Canada Names Canadian Para Dressage Team and Individuals for the 2010 WEG | Print |
October 4, 2010 — Para-Equestrian Canada is pleased to announce the riders and horses representing Canada in the team and individual Para Dressage competition at the 2010 Alltech FEI World Equestrian Games (WEG) to be held in Lexington, KY October 5–9, 2010.

Named to compete in the Team competition (in alphabetical order) are
 
Rider     
  Hometown
  Grade
  Horse
  Owner
Lauren Barwick    Aldergrove, BC
  2
  Maile
  Lauren Barwick
Eleonore Elstone
  Langley, BC
  4   Why Not G
  Kelleigh Kulscar and Eleonore Elstone
Ashley Gowanlock
  Vancouver, BC
  1b
  Donnymaskell
  Alexander (Sandy) Mitchell
Jennifer McKenzie
  Maple Ridge, BC 
  2
  Sunbury Lodge Voodoo
  Jennifer McKenzie
 
Named to compete in the Individual competition (in alphabetical order) are
 
Rider      
Hometown
  Grade
  Horse
    Owner
Sharon Buffitt
Pointe-Claire, QC
  2
   Gitane d’aubrac     Ecurie d’aubrac
Tara Kowalski
Chilliwack, BC
  1a
   MJ Fatal Atracson
    Dr. Philippa Keegan and Rachael Tipper
Madison Lawson
Bonfield, ON
  4
  McGuire
    Madison Lawson
 
The scores of the four horse rider combinations named to the team will count towards the Team awards.

The Canadian Para-Equestrian team at the 2010 World Equestrian Games will be led by Elizabeth Quigg-Robinson (chef d’équipe), Amie O’Shaughnessy (Team Manager) and Andrea Taylor (National Team Coach).

The WEG Para Dressage competition will take place October 5–9, 2010. The Individual Team competition runs October 5, which will be followed by a two-day Individual Championship on October 6th and 7th. The Individual Freestyle competition will also run over two days on October 8th and 9th. Complete details about WEG Para Dressage maybe found at www.alltechfeigames.com.


About Para-Equestrian Canada

Para-Equestrian Canada is the Equine Canada committee responsible for developing programs for athletes with a physical disability, and implementing the Para-Dressage high performance program. Para-Equestrian is one of Canada’s most successful international disciplines, achieving an individual gold medal and an individual silver medal at the 2008 Paralympic Games, as well as two individual bronze medals at the 2004 Paralympic Games.

About Para-Equestrian Sport

Para-Equestrian sport provides riders with a physical disability the opportunity to compete against other riders with similar abilities. Riders are given a “Grade” based on their functional ability, and are judged on their riding skill against other athletes of the same Grade.  There are five grades of competitions in dressage, with Grade 1A representing the more severely impaired riders, and Grade 4 representing the least severely impaired riders. Many Para-Equestrian athletes also compete alongside able-bodied competitors in Equine Canada competitions. At the grass roots level, Para-Equestrian encompasses a number of different disciplines, while the international stream focuses only on Para-Dressage.  For more information, please visit www.equinecanada.ca/para-equestrian .

About Equine Canada

Equine Canada is Canada’s national governing body for equestrianism.  A member-driven, charitable institution, it is the executive branch of the Canadian Equestrian Team, and the national authority for equestrian competition; the national voice for recreational riders; and the national association for equine welfare, breeding, and industry.  Equine Canada is recognised by the Government of Canada, the International Equestrian Federation (FEI), and the Canadian Olympic Committee as the national organisation representing equestrian sport and equine interests. For more information about Equine Canada, please visit www.equinecanada.ca

Accueil / Nouvelles / Para-équestre Canada choisit ses cavalières participant en équipe et en individuel aux JEM de 2010

Para-Équestre

Para-équestre Canada choisit ses cavalières participant en équipe et en individuel aux JEM de 2010 | Imprimer |
Le 4 octobre 2010 – Para-équestre Canada est heureuse de publier les noms des cavalières canadiennes participant en équipe et en individuel aux épreuves de para-dressage qui  ont lieu à Lexington, KY, dans le cadre des Jeux équestres mondiaux FEI Alltech de 2010. La compétition de para-dressage se tient du 5 au 9 octobre. 

Voici les membres de l’équipe (en ordre alphabétique):

Cavalière   Domicile      Catégorie      Cheval      Propriétaire
Lauren Barwick    Aldergrove, BC
  2
  Maile
  Lauren Barwick
Eleonore Elstone
  Langley, BC
  4   Why Not G
  Kelleigh Kulscar and Eleonore Elstone
Ashley Gowanlock
  Vancouver, BC
  1b
  Donnymaskell
  Alexander (Sandy) Mitchell
Jennifer McKenzie
  Maple Ridge, BC 
  2
  Sunbury Lodge Voodoo
  Jennifer McKenzie
 
Voici les participants en individuel (en ordre alphabétique):
 
Cavalière Domicile      Catégorie      Cheval        Propriétaire
Sharon Buffitt
Pointe-Claire, QC
  2
  Gitane d’aubrac     Ecurie d’aubrac
Tara Kowalski
Chilliwack, BC
  1a
  MJ Fatal Atracson
    Dr. Philippa Keegan and Rachael Tipper
Madison Lawson
Bonfield, ON
  4
  McGuire
    Madison Lawson
 
Les notes des quatre couples cavalier-cheval faisant partie de l’équipe compteront pour le résultat final de l’équipe.

L’équipe canadienne para-équestre qui concourt à l’édition 2010 des Jeux équestres mondiaux sera sous la direction de Elizabeth Quigg-Robinson (chef d’équipe), Amie O’Shaughnessy (directrice de l’équipe) et Andrea Taylor (entraîneure de l’équipe nationale).

Les épreuves de para-dressage se dérouleront du 5 au 9 octobre. La compétition en équipe se tiendra le 5 octobre, tandis que le championnat en individuel sera présenté les jours suivants, soit les 6 et 7. Les  reprises libres seront également étalées sur deux jours, soit les 8 et 9. Veuillez consulter le www.alltechfeigames.com pour tous les détails.


À propos de Para-équestre Canada

Para-équestre Canada est le comité de Canada Hippique chargé d’élaborer des programmes pour athlètes avec une incapacité physique, et de mettre en œuvre le programme de  haute performance du  para-dressage. Au Canada, la discipline para-équestre est l’une des plus couronnées de succès sur la scène internationale. Les athlètes ont ramené au pays une médaille d’or en individuel et une d’argent en individuel à l’occasion des Jeux paralympiques de 2008. Ils ont aussi remporté deux médailles de bronze en individuel lors des Jeux paralympiques de 2004.

À propos du sport para-équestre

Le sport para-équestre donne aux cavaliers avec une incapacité physique la possibilité de se mesurer à  d’autres cavaliers possédant des aptitudes similaires. On attribue une « catégorie » aux cavaliers selon leurs capacités motrices et l’évaluation en concours repose sur leurs habiletés équestres face à d’autres athlètes de la même catégorie. Les épreuves de dressage s’adressent aux athlètes de cinq catégories, la 1A étant réservée aux cavaliers les plus atteints et la catégorie 4, à ceux qui le sont moins. Plusieurs athlètes para-équestres participent également aux côtés de cavaliers valides lors des compétitions de Canada Hippique. En para-équestre de base, diverses disciplines sont offertes, tandis que sur la scène internationale, seul le para-dressage est présenté. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez visiter www.equinecanada.ca/para-equestrian.

À propos de Canada Hippique

Canada Hippique est l’organisme national chapeautant l’hippisme. Institution caritative axée sur le service aux membres, Canada Hippique est la division administrative de l’Équipe équestre canadienne faisant autorité en concours hippique national. Elle est la voix nationale des cavaliers de loisir, l’association nationale représentant le bien-être du cheval, l’élevage et l’industrie. Canada Hippique est reconnue auprès du gouvernement du Canada, de la Fédération équestre internationale et du Comité olympique canadien en tant qu’organisme représentant les sports équestres et les intérêts équins.  Pour plus de renseignements sur Canada Hippique, veuillez visiter le www.equinecanada.ca.