Home / News / Michelle Wheeler Wins Running Fox CET Medal Final at Royal Horse Show

Jump Canada

Michelle Wheeler Wins Running Fox CET Medal Final at Royal Horse Show | Print |

December 10, 2007 - Michelle Wheeler, 16, of Calgary, AB, came out on top when the final phase of competition in the Running Fox CET Medal Final was held on Thursday, November 8, at the Royal Horse Show in Toronto, ON.

Riding Paddy Jordan, her 10-year-old Irish Sport Horse gelding, Wheeler won the Final after a brilliant performance in the last test, which required the top four riders to complete a series of tests during a shortened course, including a jump at the counter canter and tight roll-back turns.

"Once I got in the ring, the class was very fun," said a thrilled Wheeler after the awards ceremony.  "In preparation for such an important class, I did a lot of flatwork and showed at Spruce Meadows.  All the work has paid off."

Designed to be a foundation for riders moving from the hunter divisions into jumper competition, the Running Fox CET Medal is an equitation class where the riders are judged on their position and riding style, as well as their ability to control the horse over a jumper course.  The course requirements include a triple combination and a liverpool.  A flat phase, held before the jumping, incorporates lengthening of trot, lengthening of canter, and counter canter.  The top 16 riders, qualified from four Regional Finals, were invited to contest the Running Fox CET Medal Final at the Royal Horse Show.

In the Flat/Gymnastic phase held Wednesday, November 7, which required riders to ride a course featuring trot poles, canter poles, and a liver pool, Wheeler placed second.  She returned to the ring the next day for the Jumping Phase where she earned a spot in the ride-off.

"Michelle has great focus," noted one of Wheeler's coaches, 1986 World Champion Gail Greenough.  "So much of this sport is about not letting the ring or the course affect you mentally, and Michelle did a great job."

As the winner, Wheeler received a brand new Childeric saddle donated by long-time CET Medal Final sponsor, Running Fox.

Natalie Bova of Ashton, ON, was the Reserve Champion, while Miranda Travers Cavill of Claremont, ON, finished third.  Samantha Aird of South Delta, BC, placed fourth.

About Jump Canada

Jump Canada is a committee of Equine Canada responsible for all hunter, equitation and jumper activities in Canada from the grass roots to the international level. Jump Canada is governed by a board of directors, the majority of whom are elected by the stakeholders in the sport. For more information regarding Jump Canada programs and activities, visit www.jumpcanada.ca.

Running Fox CET Medal Final overall results

Placing / Rider / Hometown
1 / Michelle Wheeler / Calgary, AB
2 / Natalie Bova / Ashton, ON
3 / Miranda Travers Cavill / Claremont, ON
4 / Samantha Aird / South Delta, BC
5 / Rachel Schnurr / Waterloo, ON
6 / Natalie Bova / Ashton, ON
7 / Katie Kraft / Edmonton, AB
8 / Anya Woite / Edmonton, AB
9 / Alexandria Smith / Calgary, AB

Accueil / Nouvelles / Michelle Wheeler gagne la Finale de la Médaille EEC Running Fox au Royal

SAUT D’OBSTACLES CANADA

Michelle Wheeler gagne la Finale de la Médaille EEC Running Fox au Royal | Imprimer |

Le 10 décembre 2007 - Michelle Wheeler (Calgary, Alberta), 16 ans, a terminé première à la phase finale de la Médaille EEC Running Fox qui se tenait jeudi le 8 novembre dans le cadre du Royal Winter Fair à Toronto.

Wheeler a conduit Paddy Jordan, son hongre irlandais de 10 ans, à la victoire grâce à une brillante performance durant la dernière épreuve.  Les quatre meilleurs concurrents devaient exécuter une série de tests sur un parcours raccourci, qui comprenait un saut au contre-galop et des demi-tours très serrés.

"Une fois dans le manège, j'ai eu beaucoup de plaisir," a dit Wheeler, enchantée après la cérémonie de remise des trophées.  "J'ai fait beaucoup de travail sur le plat pour me préparer à cette épreuve importante, et je suis allée concourir à Spruce Meadows.  Tout ce travail est récompensé."

Créée pour développer les bases des cavaliers qui progressent des divisions de chasse vers les divisions de saut d'obstacles, la Médaille EEC Running Fox se déroule comme une épreuve d'équitation.  Les cavaliers sont jugés sur leur position et leur style d'équitation, ainsi que sur leur habileté à contrôler leur monture sur un parcours d'obstacles.  Le parcours doit comporter une combinaison triple et un liverpool.  La phase de plat, qui a lieu avant la phase à l'obstacle, incorpore le trot allongé, le galop allongé et le contre-galop.  Les 16 meilleurs cavaliers, qui se qualifient aux quatre finales régionales, sont invités à s'affronter durant la Finale de la Médaille EEC Running Fox qui a lieu pendant le concours hippique Royal.

Wheeler est arrivée deuxième à la phase de plat et de gymnastique qui avait lieu mercredi le 7 novembre.  Durant cette épreuve, les cavaliers devaient mener leur monture sur un parcours qui contenait le passage au trot de barres au sol, le passage au galop de barres au sol, et un obstacle liverpool.  Wheeler est revenue le lendemain pour la phase à l'obstacle, durant laquelle elle s'est mérité une place dans l'épreuve finale.

"Michelle est très concentrée," remarque une de ses entraîneurs, Gail Greenough, championne du monde en 1986.  "Dans ce sport, il ne faut surtout pas laisser le manège ou le parcours vous affecter mentalement, et Michelle a très bien réussi."

Wheeler a reçu en prix une selle Childeric, courtoisie de Running Fox, qui commandite la Médaille EEC depuis de nombreuses années.

Natalie Bova (Ashton, Ontario) a terminé championne de réserve, tandis que Miranda Travers Cavill (Claremont, Ontario) finissait troisième.  Samantha Aird (South Delta, BC) a pris la quatrième place.

À propos de Saut d'obstacles Canada

Saut d'obstacles Canada est un comité de Canada Hippique responsable de toutes les activités de compétition en chasse, saut d'obstacles et équitation, depuis les  niveaux de base jusqu'au sport international. Saut d'obstacles Canada est dirigé par un conseil d'administration élu en majorité par les intervenants du sport. Consultez ce site Web www.jumpcanada.ca pour connaître les programmes et activités de Saut d'obstacles Canada.

Classement final - Médaille EEC Running Fox

Rang / Cavalière / Lieu de résidence

1 / Michelle Wheeler / Calgary, AB
2 / Natalie Bova / Ashton, ON
3 / Miranda Travers Cavill / Claremont, ON
4 / Samantha Aird / South Delta, CB
5 / Rachel Schnurr / Waterloo, ON
6 / Natalie Bova / Ashton, ON
7 / Katie Kraft / Edmonton, AB
8 / Anya Woite / Edmonton, AB
9 / Alexandria Smith/ Calgary, AB