Home / News / Canadian Show Jumping Team Named for Nations’ Cup in Wellington, Florida

Jump Canada

Canadian Show Jumping Team Named for Nations’ Cup in Wellington, Florida | Print |

February 24, 2011 — Yann Candele, Eric Lamaze, Ian Millar and Jonathon Millar have been named to the Canadian Show Jumping Team for the $75,000 FEI Nations’ Cup, presented by G & C Farm, held Friday evening, March 4, during the CSIO4* FTI Winter Equestrian Festival in Wellington, FL.

The defending champions, Canada has won the Nations’ Cup in Wellington, FL, for the past two consecutive years.  Candele of Caledon, ON, was a member of the Canadian Team on both occasions, as was Lamaze of Schomberg, ON.  Lamaze is the current Olympic Champion in addition to winning an Individual Bronze medal at the 2010 World Equestrian Games.

Nine-time Olympian Ian Millar and his son, Jonathon Millar, both of Perth, ON, will be the additional members of the four-man team.  Jonathon Millar was a member of the Canadian Show Jumping Team at the 2010 World Equestrian Games where Canada finished fifth and qualified for the 2012 Olympics in London, GBR.

In addition, Mac Cone of King City, ON, and Amy Millar of Perth, ON, will represent Canada as individuals in the international division, and will be alternates for the Nations’ Cup team.

Canada has won the $75,000 FEI Nations’ Cup in Wellington, FL, more than other country, claiming victory in 2004, 2006, 2007, 2008 and 2010.  This year, nine teams are expected to compete, including Argentina, Australia, Canada, Colombia, Great Britain, Ireland, Mexico, the United States and Venezuela.

“We have a strong team this year but as for our prospects, we will have to wait and see the make-up of the teams from the other nations,” said Terrance Millar, chef d'équipe of the Canadian Show Jumping Team.

The two-round $75,000 FEI Nations’ Cup, presented by G & C Farm, will take place at night with Olympic course designer Steve Stephens of the United States setting the track.  A Nations’ Cup is the only competition in show jumping where riders, competing in teams of four, compete against other countries for top honours.  The top three scores from each team are counted towards the final result of the two-round competition.


About Jump Canada

Jump Canada is the committee of Equine Canada responsible for all hunter, equitation and jumper activities in Canada from the grass roots to the international level.  Jump Canada is governed by a board, the majority of whose members are elected by the stakeholders in the sport.  For more information regarding Jump Canada programs and activities, visit http://www.equinecanada.ca/jumpcanada.

About Equine Canada

Equine Canada is Canada’s national governing body for equestrianism.  A member-driven, charitable institution, it is the executive branch of the Canadian Equestrian Team, and the national authority for equestrian competition; the national voice for recreational riders; and the national association for equine welfare, breeding, and industry.  Equine Canada is recognised by the Government of Canada, the International Equestrian Federation (FEI), and the Canadian Olympic Committee as the national organisation representing equestrian sport and equine interests. For more information about Equine Canada, please visit www.equinecanada.ca.

Accueil / Nouvelles / L’équipe canadienne de saut d’obstacles est nommée pour la Coupe des nations de Wellington en Floride

SAUT D’OBSTACLES CANADA

L’équipe canadienne de saut d’obstacles est nommée pour la Coupe des nations de Wellington en Floride | Imprimer |
Le 24 février 2011 — Yann Candele, Éric Lamaze, Ian Millar et Jonathon Millar formeront l’équipe canadienne de saut d’obstacles qui participera à la Coupe des nations FEI dotée de 75 000 dollars. Présentée par G & C Farm, cette épreuve aura lieu vendredi le 4 mars en soirée dans le cadre du concours CSIO4* FTI Winter Equestrian Festival, de Wellington, Floride.
Le Canada, qui défendra son titre de champion, a gagné la Coupe des nations de Wellington deux fois d’affilée en 2009 et 2010.  Candele (Caledon, Ont.), et Lamaze (Schomberg, Ont.), faisaient tous deux partie de l’équipe canadienne victorieuse des deux dernières années.  Lamaze est  l’actuel champion olympique  et il détient aussi une médaille de bronze remportée aux Jeux équestres mondiaux en 2010.

Ian Millar, qui a participé à neuf éditions des Jeux olympiques, et son fils Jonathon Millar, tous deux de Perth en Ontario, compléteront l’équipe formée de quatre cavaliers.  Jonathon Millar était membre de l’équipe canadienne de saut d’obstacles qui a pris part aux Jeux équestres mondiaux de 2010, où le Canada a terminé cinquième et s’est qualifié pour les Jeux olympiques de Londres en 2012.

De plus, Mac Cone de King City en Ontario et Amy Millar de Perth, Ontario, représenteront le Canada à titre individuel dans la division internationale, et seront les remplaçants pour la Coupe des nations.

Le Canada a remporté la Coupe des nations de Wellington, dotée de 75 000 dollars en bourse, plus souvent que tout autre pays, se méritant la victoire en 2004, 2006, 2007, 2008 et 2010.  Cette année, on y attend neuf équipes, notamment l’Argentine, l’Australie, le Canada, la Colombie, la Grande-Bretagne, l’Irlande, le Mexique, les Etats-Unis et le Venezuela.

«Notre équipe est forte cette année, mais avant de pouvoir faire des prédictions, nous allons devoir attendre de connaître la composition des autres équipes», a déclaré le chef d’équipe Terrance Millar.

Les deux manches de la Coupe des nations de 75 000 dollars, présentée par G & C Farm, se dérouleront en soirée.  Le tracé sera l’œuvre de l’américain Steve Stephens, concepteur de parcours aux Jeux olympiques.  La Coupe des nations est la seule épreuve de saut d’obstacles où les cavaliers, qui participent en équipe de quatre, se mesurent aux autres pays pour un championnat de haut niveau.  Les trois meilleurs résultats de chaque équipe sont conservés pour calculer le résultat final de l’épreuve qui se déroule en deux manches.


À propos de Saut d’obstacles Canada

Saut d’obstacles Canada est un comité de Canada Hippique responsable de toutes les activités de compétition en chasse, saut d’obstacles et équitation, depuis les niveaux de base jusqu’au sport international. Saut d’obstacles Canada est dirigé par un conseil d’administration, dont la majorité des membres sont élus par les intervenants du sport. Pour connaître les programmes et activités de Saut d’obstacles Canada, veuillez visiter www.equinecanada.ca/jumpcanada.

À propos de Canada Hippique

Canada Hippique est l’organisme national chapeautant l’hippisme. Institution caritative axée sur le service aux membres, Canada Hippique est la division administrative de l’Équipe équestre canadienne faisant autorité en concours hippique national. Elle est la voix nationale des cavaliers de loisir, l’association nationale représentant le bien-être du cheval, l’élevage et l’industrie. Canada Hippique est reconnue auprès du gouvernement du Canada, de la Fédération équestre internationale et du Comité olympique canadien en tant qu’organisme représentant les sports équestres et les intérêts équins.  Pour plus de renseignements sur Canada Hippique, veuillez visiter le www.equinecanada.ca.