Home / News / Sandra Sillcox Named Jump Canada ‘Official of the Year’ for 2010

Jump Canada

Sandra Sillcox Named Jump Canada ‘Official of the Year’ for 2010 | Print |

“Sandra Sillcox was posthumously named the Jump Canada 'Official of Year’ Award for 2010.  Accepting the award from Jump Canada Chair John Taylor are Sillcox’s husband, Robert, and son, Scott.”  Photo Credit — Michelle C. DunnFebruary 23, 2011 — Sandra Sillcox was posthumously named the recipient of Jump Canada’s ‘Official of the Year’ Award for 2010.


In March of 2008, the Canadian equestrian community lost Sillcox at the age of 74.  Sillcox was an Equine Canada (EC) Senior National steward and Fédération Equestre Internationale (FEI) steward.  She was accredited as a FEI—X steward for all the FEI disciplines of Combined Driving, Eventing, Jumper, Dressage, Vaulting, Endurance and Reining.
“Sandra Sillcox was posthumously named the Jump Canada 'Official of Year’ Award for 2010.  Accepting the award from Jump Canada Chair John Taylor are Sillcox’s husband, Robert, and son, Scott.”  Photo Credit — Michelle C. Dunn
Sillcox's lifetime commitment as a steward began when she created Equine Canada's steward program and developed the FEI steward program in Canada.  She is a past chair of the Equine Canada National Stewards Committee and the former head of the FEI Steward program in Canada.

Sandra was the Chief Jumping Steward at the 1996 Atlanta Olympics and the Overall Chief Steward at the 1999 Pan Am Games in Winnipeg.  At the 2000 Olympics in Sydney, Sandra acted as the Chief Dressage Steward.  She was also the first National Steward General appointed from Canada to the FEI.

“On behalf of the entire Sillcox family, I would like to thank Jump Canada and all of the equestrian groups across Canada who have continued to honour Sandra’s contributions to the sport since her passing in 2008,” said her son, Scott Sillcox.  “My goodness, she loved horses and the people those horses attracted.  It didn't matter what your background was — if you loved horses, you were immediately her friend.  Sandra loved so many things about the horse world, and this love led her to dedicating a good deal of her time to good governance, rule writing and strict observation of the rules.  Heaven help you if you were inclined to view the rules as being somewhat elastic!  Many thanks Jump Canada for bestowing this honour upon Sandra — it is greatly appreciated.”

The Jump Canada 'Official of Year’ Award was accepted by Sillcox’s husband, Robert, and her son, Scott, during the Jump Canada Hall of Fame Gala held in Toronto, ON.

“Sandra Sillcox was a driving force in all areas of equestrianism,” said John Taylor, Chair of Jump Canada.  “She was equally proficient at a dressage show, a hunter/jumper show or at a Pony Club rallies.  Sandra was truly an all round horse woman and very deserving of the award.”

In its inaugural year, the 2004 Official of the Year Award was presented to Tom Michiel of Calgary, AB.  Other recipients include Francois Ferland (2005), Michel Vaillancourt (2006), Marjorie Dennis (2007), David Ballard (2008) and, posthumously, Alf Fletcher (2009).


About Jump Canada

Jump Canada is the committee of Equine Canada responsible for all hunter, equitation and jumper activities in Canada from the grass roots to the international level.  Jump Canada is governed by a board, the majority of whose members are elected by the stakeholders in the sport.  For more information regarding Jump Canada programs and activities, visit http://www.equinecanada.ca/jumpcanada.

About Equine Canada

Equine Canada is Canada’s national governing body for equestrianism.  A member-driven, charitable institution, it is the executive branch of the Canadian Equestrian Team, and the national authority for equestrian competition; the national voice for recreational riders; and the national association for equine welfare, breeding, and industry.  Equine Canada is recognised by the Government of Canada, the International Equestrian Federation (FEI), and the Canadian Olympic Committee as the national organisation representing equestrian sport and equine interests. For more information about Equine Canada, please visit www.equinecanada.ca.

Accueil / Nouvelles / Saut d’obstacles Canada nomme Sandra Sillcox Officiel de l’année 2010

SAUT D’OBSTACLES CANADA

Saut d’obstacles Canada nomme Sandra Sillcox Officiel de l’année 2010 | Imprimer |

Le 23 février 2011 — Sandra Sillcox a été nommée Officiel de l’année 2010 à titre posthume par Saut d’obstacles Canada.

En mars 2008, la communauté équestre canadienne apprenait le décès de Sillcox à l’âge de 74 ans.  Sillcox a été commissaire national senior de Canada Hippique (CH) et commissaire de la Fédération Équestre Internationale (FEI).  Elle était accréditée en tant que commissaire FEI-X pour toutes les disciplines de la FEI, soit le concours complet d’attelage, le concours complet, le saut d’obstacles, le dressage, la voltige, l’endurance et le reining.

Sillcox a été un commissaire engagé tout au long de sa vie, et cet engagement a commencé lorsqu’elle a créé le programme des commissaires de Canada Hippique et élaboré le programme canadien des commissaires de la FEI.  Elle a été présidente du Comité national des commissaires de Canada Hippique et a dirigé le programme des commissaires de la FEI au Canada.

Sandra a été commissaire en chef de saut d’obstacles aux Olympiques d’Atlanta en 1996 et commissaire en chef pour l’ensemble des disciplines aux Jeux panaméricains de Winnipeg en 1999.  Aux Jeux olympiques de Sydney en 2000, Sandra a exercé en tant que commissaire en chef de dressage.  Elle a aussi été l’un des premiers commissaires généraux canadiens désignés par le Canada pour agir à la FEI.

«Au nom de la famille Sillcox, j’aimerais remercier Saut d’obstacles Canada et tous les organismes équestres au pays qui, depuis son décès en 2008, continuent à rendre hommage à la contribution de Sandra au sport», a déclaré son fils Scott Sillcox.  «Dieu sait à quel point elle aimait  les chevaux ainsi que les gens attirés par eux.  L’expérience importait peu – si vous aimiez les chevaux, vous étiez automatiquement son ami.  Sandra aimait tellement de choses dans le monde équestre, et cet amour l’a amenée à dédier une bonne partie de son temps à la saine gestion, à la rédaction de règlements et à l’observation stricte de ces règlements. Et gare à ceux qui croyaient  que les règlements étaient flexibles!  Un grand merci à Saut d’obstacles Canada qui a décerné cet honneur à Sandra – il est grandement apprécié».

Le prix de l’Officiel de l’année de Saut d’obstacles Canada a été accepté par Robert, l’époux de Sandra, et par son fils Scott, dans le cadre du Gala annuel du Panthéon équestre de Saut d’obstacles Canada qui s’est déroulé le 7 novembre 2010 à Toronto.

«Sandra Sillcox était une force motrice dans tous les domaines du sport équestre», a souligné John Taylor, président de Saut d’obstacles Canada.  «Elle était tout aussi compétente à un concours de dressage, à une compétition de chasse et de saut d’obstacles qu’à un rallye du Poney Club.  Sandra était une véritable femme de cheval accomplie. Ce prix lui revient de droit.»

Lors de l’inauguration du prix d’Officiel de l’année en 2004, il a été présenté à Tom Michiel de Calgary en Alberta.  Les autres récipiendaires sont Francois Ferland (2005), Michel Vaillancourt (2006), Marjorie Dennis (2007), David Ballard (2008) et Alf Fletcher (2009) à titre posthume.


À propos de Saut d’obstacles Canada

Saut d’obstacles Canada est un comité de Canada Hippique responsable de toutes les activités de compétition en chasse, saut d’obstacles et équitation, depuis les niveaux de base jusqu’au sport international. Saut d’obstacles Canada est dirigé par un conseil d’administration élu en majorité par les intervenants du sport. Consultez le site Web http://www.equinecanada.ca/jumpcanada  pour connaître les programmes et activités de Saut d’obstacles Canada.

À propos de Canada Hippique

Canada Hippique est l’organisme national chapeautant l’hippisme. Institution caritative axée sur le service aux membres, Canada Hippique est la division administrative de l’Équipe équestre canadienne faisant autorité en concours hippique national. Elle est la voix nationale des cavaliers de loisir, l’association nationale représentant le bien-être du cheval, l’élevage et l’industrie. Canada Hippique est reconnue auprès du gouvernement du Canada, de la Fédération équestre internationale et du Comité olympique canadien en tant qu’organisme représentant les sports équestres et les intérêts équins. Pour plus de renseignements sur Canada Hippique, veuillez visiter le www.equinecanada.ca