Home / News / Margie Gayford and Hayley Alfonso Top Talent Squad Standings

Jump Canada

Margie Gayford and Hayley Alfonso Top Talent Squad Standings | Print |
Margie Gayford and Winston. Photo—ShootPhoto.caOctober 27, 2010 — Margie Gayford of Sharon, ON, emerged the Eastern Division winner of the 2010 Jump Canada National Talent Squad Series while Hayley Alfonso of Calgary, AB, topped the standings in the Western Division.

In the Eastern Division Talent Squad competition held at the Caledon Summer Festival in Palgrave, ON, Gayford guided Winston, Wingberry Farm’s 11-year-old Belgian Warmblood gelding, to a second place finish.  The duo also finished second in the Talent Squad class at the National Open in Ottawa, ON, and secured their Eastern Division win with a second place finish at the Eastern Division Talent Squad Final held at the Canadian Show Jumping Tournament in Palgrave, ON.  They finished the season with a total of 57 points.
Hayley Alfonso and Lennox 157 by Cansport. Photo—Cansport, courtesy of Rocky Mountain Show JumpingMargie Gayford and Winston. Photo—ShootPhoto.ca
“Competing in the Jump Canada Talent Squad series is an invaluable experience that was designed to develop horses and riders in preparation for entering the Grand Prix ring,” said Gayford.  “It gives the participants the opportunity to jump the technicality of a Grand Prix course without the height.”

In the Western Division, Alfonso piloted Lennox 157, a 11-year-old Holsteiner gelding owned by Tyndall Wood Farms, to a third place finish in the Talent Squad class at the Royal Manitoba Winter Fair.  The pair won the Talent Squad class at the Bow Valley Classic I and finished in fourth place a week later in the Talent Squad class at the Bow Valley Classic Week II.  They sealed their win in the Western Division with another Talent Squad victory at the Edmonton Classic Horse Show, finishing the season with a total of 21 points.

“I am really thrilled with how our season went, and my horse jumped great all summer,” said Alfonso, 23.  “It is really great to have the Jump Canada Talent Squad Series, and now I am looking forward to next summer.”

As the top placed riders in the Eastern and Western Divisions, Gayford and Alfonso will be awarded airfare to the 2011 Rolex FEI World Cup™ Final in Leipzig, GER, to be held April 27 to May 1, 2011.  In addition, the two Division winners will be nominated to Sport Canada to receive Athlete Developmental Funding Cards.

The top 10 riders from both the Eastern and Western Divisions will go head-to-head in the Jump Canada National Talent Squad Championships, which will take place during the Royal Horse Show in Toronto, ON, from November 5–14, 2010.

The Jump Canada Talent Squad Series is a means of recognizing up-and-coming riders who are preparing to enter the grand prix ranks and gives them a platform to demonstrate their ability to become future members of the Canadian Equestrian Team.  For complete standings and criteria, please visit equinecanada.ca/jumpcanada.


About Jump Canada

Jump Canada is the committee of Equine Canada responsible for all hunter, equitation and jumper activities in Canada from the grass roots to the international level.  Jump Canada is governed by a board, the majority of whose members are elected by the stakeholders in the sport.  For more information regarding Jump Canada programs and activities, visit http://equinecanada.ca/jumpcanada.

About Equine Canada

Equine Canada is Canada’s national governing body for equestrianism.  A member-driven, charitable institution, it is the executive branch of the Canadian Equestrian Team, and the national authority for equestrian competition; the national voice for recreational riders; and the national association for equine welfare, breeding, and industry.  Equine Canada is recognised by the Government of Canada, the International Equestrian Federation (FEI), and the Canadian Olympic Committee as the national organisation representing equestrian sport and equine interests. For more information about Equine Canada, please visit equinecanada.ca

Accueil / Nouvelles / Margie Gayford et Hayley Alfonso en tête du classement Talent Squad

SAUT D’OBSTACLES CANADA

Margie Gayford et Hayley Alfonso en tête du classement Talent Squad | Imprimer |
Margie Gayford et Winston. Photo—ShootPhoto.caLe 27 octobre 2010 – Margie Gayford (Sharon, Ontario) a remporté la division est-canadienne de l’édition 2010 du circuit national Talent Squad de Saut d’obstacles Canada, tandis que Hayley Alfonso (Calgary, Alberta) était déclarée gagnante de la division ouest-canadienne. 

Lors de l’épreuve Talent Squad est-canadienne présentée dans le cadre du Caledon Summer Festival de Palgrave, ON, Gayford et Winston, un warmblood belge de onze ans appartenant à Wingberry Farm, se sont classés deuxièmes, comme ils l’avaient fait au National Open d’Ottawa, ON.  Leur victoire au sein de la division est-canadienne a été proclamée quand ils ont pris le deuxième rang en finale, lors du Canadian Show Jumping Tournament de Palgrave, ON. Ils ont terminé la saison avec 57 points au total.
Hayley Alfonso et Lennox 157 by Cansport. Photo—CansportMargie Gayford et Winston. Photo—ShootPhoto.ca
« La participation au circuit Talent Squad de Saut d’obstacles Canada est une expérience inestimable car elle prépare le cheval et le cavalier à accéder au Grand prix, a dit Gayford. Le circuit donne au participant l’occasion de franchir un parcours dont la technique s’apparente au  Grand prix sans en avoir la hauteur. »

Dans la division ouest-canadienne, Alfonso et Lennox 157, le Holsteiner de onze ans de Tyndall Wood Farms, ont pris la troisième position de l’épreuve Talent Squad présentée au Royal Manitoba Winter Fair. Puis le couple a remporté l’épreuve offerte  au concours Bow Valley Classic I et terminé au quatrième rang du Talent Squad une semaine plus tard, lors du Bow Valley Classic II. La victoire qui allait les propulser en tête de la division ouest-canadienne s’est produite au Edmonton Classic Horse Show. Alfonso et Lennox 157 ont cumulé 21 points au cours de la saison.

« Je suis très heureuse de la façon dont ma saison a pris fin, a dit la cavalière de 23 ans. Mon cheval a été super performant durant tout l’été. Ce fut vraiment fantastique de prendre part au circuit Talent Squad et maintenant, j’ai très hâte à l’été prochain. »

En tant que premières cavalières de l’Est et de l’Ouest, Gayford et Alfonso se sont mérité un billet d’avion pour assister à la finale de la Coupe du Monde FEI Rolex de 2011, qui se déroulera du 27 avril au 1er mai à Leipzig, en Allemagne. Les deux gagnantes ont de plus été proposées comme candidates à de l’aide financière de Sport Canada, offerte sous forme d’un brevet de développement.

Les 10 premiers cavaliers des divisions est-canadienne et ouest-canadienne s'affronteront lors des championnats du Talent Squad de Saut d'obstacles Canada, qui auront lieu au cours du Royal Horse Show de Toronto, ON, du 5 au 14 novembre 2010.
Le Circuit Talent Squad de Saut d’obstacles Canada a été créé en vue de reconnaître les cavaliers prometteurs qui se préparent à concourir dans les épreuves de Grand Prix. Ce tremplin leur donne la possibilité de démontrer leur capacité à devenir de futurs membres de l’Équipe équestre canadienne. Pour prendre connaissance du classement et obtenir tous les détails au sujet du Talent Squad, veuillez consulter le site equinecanada.ca/jumpcanada.


À propos de Saut d’obstacles Canada
   
Saut d’obstacles Canada est un comité de Canada Hippique responsable de toutes les activités de compétition en chasse, saut d’obstacles et équitation, depuis les niveaux de base jusqu’au sport international. Saut d’obstacles Canada est dirigé par un conseil d’administration élu en majorité par les intervenants du sport. Pour connaître les programmes et activités de Saut d’obstacles Canada, veuillez visiter equinecanada.ca/jumpcanada.

À propos de Canada Hippique

Canada Hippique est l’organisme national chapeautant l’hippisme. Institution caritative axée sur le service aux membres, Canada Hippique est la division administrative de l’Équipe équestre canadienne faisant autorité en concours hippique national. Elle est la voix nationale des cavaliers de loisir, l’association nationale représentant le bien-être du cheval, l’élevage et l’industrie. Canada Hippique est reconnue auprès du gouvernement du Canada, de la Fédération équestre internationale et du Comité olympique canadien en tant qu’organisme représentant les sports équestres et les intérêts équins.  Pour plus de renseignements sur Canada Hippique, veuillez visiter le equinecanada.ca.