Home / News / Jump Canada Announces Co-Chairs for the High Performance Committee

Jump Canada

Jump Canada Announces Co-Chairs for the High Performance Committee | Print |
July 31, 2010 — Jump Canada is pleased to announce that Terrance ‘Torchy’ Millar has agreed to remain in his current role as Chair of the Jump Canada High Performance Committee for a further two years.  Effective immediately, Torchy Millar and Mark Laskin have been appointed as Co-chef d’equipes of the Canadian Show Jumping Team.

Torchy has been the Chair of Jump Canada’s High Performance Committee since 2004, leading Canada to numerous victories in Nations’ Cup competitions.  Torchy was also the chef d’equipe when Canada won unprecedented Team Silver and Individual Gold Medal at the 2008 Beijing Olympics.

Mark Laskin, who rode on many Nations’ Cup teams for Canada, has assisted Torchy in his role for the last two years.  Both Mark and Torchy are enthusiastic about the new structure, as they feel that it will give the High Performance Committee better coverage of the country as a whole.  Mark resides in Western Canada while Torchy is in the East, allowing them to share country-wide perspectives.

Mark Laskin will continue to assist Torchy in his role as Chair of High Performance.  The next major event for the new Co-chefs will be at the 2010 Alltech FEI World Equestrian Games in Lexington, Kentucky, this fall.  They are also preparing for the $350,000 BMO Nations’ Cup at Spruce Meadows as well as for the Spanish Tour taking place in September, where Canada will field Nations’ Cup teams in Gijon as well as in the FEI Promotional League Final in Barcelona.

 
About Jump Canada

Jump Canada is the committee of Equine Canada responsible for all hunter, equitation and jumper activities in Canada from the grass roots to the international level.  Jump Canada is governed by a board, the majority of whose members are elected by the stakeholders in the sport.  For more information regarding Jump Canada programs and activities, visit http://equinecanada.ca/jumpcanada.

About Equine Canada

Equine Canada is Canada’s national governing body for equestrianism.  A member-driven, charitable institution, it is the executive branch of the Canadian Equestrian Team, and the national authority for equestrian competition; the national voice for recreational riders; and the national association for equine welfare, breeding, and industry.  Equine Canada is recognised by the Government of Canada, the International Equestrian Federation (FEI), and the Canadian Olympic Committee as the national organisation representing equestrian sport and equine interests. For more information about Equine Canada, please visit equinecanada.ca.

Accueil / Nouvelles / Deux coprésidents siégeront au comité haute performance de Saut d’obstacles Canada

SAUT D’OBSTACLES CANADA

Deux coprésidents siégeront au comité haute performance de Saut d’obstacles Canada | Imprimer |
Le 31 juillet 2010 – Saut d’obstacles Canada a le plaisir d’annoncer que Terrance ‘Torchy’ Millar a accepté de demeurer en poste en qualité de président du comité haute performance pour encore deux ans. À compter de maintenant, Torchy Millar et Mark Laskin partageront la tâche de chef d’équipe au sein de l’équipe canadienne de saut d’obstacles.

Torchy occupe la fonction de président du comité haute performance de Saut d’obstacles Canada depuis 2004 et sous sa présidence, le Canada s’est imposé de nombreuses fois en compétition de Coupe des Nations. Torchy était en poste comme chef d’équipe lorsque le Canada a connu deux victoires sans précédent, soit d’être médaillé d’argent en équipe et de voir l’un de ses cavaliers remporter une médaille d’or en individuel lors des Jeux olympiques de Pékin en 2008.

Mark Laskin, qui a souvent été membre d’une équipe de Coupe des Nations pour le Canada, joue le rôle d’adjoint de Torchy depuis deux ans. L’un comme l’autre se disent très heureux de cette nouvelle structure, puisqu’ils croient que cela permettra au comité haute performance de mieux couvrir l’ensemble du pays. Mark vit dans l’ouest du Canada tandis que Torchy est domicilié dans l’est, ce qui leur ouvre des perspectives d’un océan à l’autre.

Mark Laskin continuera de seconder Torchy dans son rôle de président de la haute performance. Le prochain concours d’envergure inscrit au programme des co-chefs sera celui des Jeux équestres mondiaux FEI Alltech  de 2010, lesquels se tiendront cet automne à Lexington, au Kentucky. Ils se préparent également en vue de la Coupe des Nations BMO de 350 000$ à Spruce Meadows, ainsi que pour la tournée en Espagne au mois de septembre. À cette occasion, le Canada fera participer une équipe à la Coupe des Nations de Gijon de même qu’à la finale de la Ligue promotionnelle FEI de Barcelone.    

À propos de Saut d’obstacles Canada

Saut d’obstacles Canada est un comité de Canada Hippique responsable de toutes les activités de compétition en chasse, saut d’obstacles et équitation, depuis les niveaux de base jusqu’au sport international. Saut d’obstacles Canada est dirigé par un conseil d’administration élu en majorité par les intervenants du sport. Consultez le site Web http://equinecanada.ca/jumpcanada pour connaître les programmes et activités de Saut d’obstacles Canada.

À propos de Canada Hippique

Canada Hippique est l’organisme national chapeautant l’hippisme. Institution caritative axée sur le service aux membres, Canada Hippique est la division administrative de l’Équipe équestre canadienne faisant autorité en concours hippique national. Elle est la voix nationale des cavaliers de loisir, l’association nationale représentant le bien-être du cheval, l’élevage et l’industrie. Canada Hippique est reconnue auprès du gouvernement du Canada, de la Fédération équestre internationale et du Comité olympique canadien en tant qu’organisme représentant les sports équestres et les intérêts équins. Pour plus de renseignements sur Canada Hippique, veuillez visiter le equinecanada.ca