Home / News / Canadian Show Jumping Team to Compete in Nations' Cup in Belgium

Jump Canada

Canadian Show Jumping Team to Compete in Nations' Cup in Belgium | Print |
April 27, 2010 — Karen Cudmore of Victoria, BC, Jill Henselwood of Oxford Mills, ON, Eric Lamaze of Schomberg, ON, and Keean White of Cambridge, ON, will comprise the Canadian Show Jumping Team contesting the Nations’ Cup at CSIO4* Lummen, BEL, from April 28–May 2.

Cudmore was Canada’s representative at the 2010 Rolex FEI World Cup™ Final in Geneva, SUI, held April 15–18, 2010.  In Lummen, Cudmore will ride her World Cup Final mount, Southern Pride, a 12-year-old Holsteiner stallion owned by her husband, Blair Cudmore.

2008 Olympic silver medalist Henselwood will ride Bottom Line, an 11-year-old Belgian Warmblood mare owned by Bradon Construction.  The pair recently won the $300,000 Lamborghini Grand Prix of the Desert, presented by Pfizer Animal Health, in Thermal, CA, on March 14.

Olympic Champion Lamaze will ride Ronaldo, a 12-year-old Dutch Warmblood gelding owned by Ashland Stables.  Lamaze currently stands second in the Federation Equestre International (FEI) Rolex World Rider Rankings.

White, the 2008 Canadian Show Jumping Champion, will ride Celena Z, a 10-year-old Zangersheide mare owned by The Ashland Group and Angelstone Farms.

Funding for the Canadian Show Jumping Team to compete at CSIO4* Lummen is made possible through Sport Canada and the Canadian Olympian Committee’s Own the Podium program, a national sport technical initiative designed to help Canada’s summer and winter athletes achieve podium success at the Olympic Games.

Nine countries will field teams in the Lummen Nations’ Cup.  Canada will compete for top honours against Belgium, Finland, Great Britain, Germany, Ireland, Japan, France and Italy.  Canada last competed in the Nations’ Cup at Lummen in 2008, earning a second place finish among 14 countries.

A Nations’ Cup is the only competition in show jumping where riders, competing in teams of four, compete against other countries for victory.  The top three scores from each team are counted towards the final result of the two-round competition.

More information, including results during the competition, for CSIO4* Lummen are available on-line at www.csiolummen.be.

 
About Jump Canada

Jump Canada is the committee of Equine Canada responsible for all hunter, equitation and jumper activities in Canada from the grass roots to the international level.  Jump Canada is governed by a board, the majority of whose members are elected by the stakeholders in the sport.  For more information regarding Jump Canada programs and activities, visit http://equinecanada.ca/jumpcanada.

About Equine Canada

Equine Canada is Canada’s national governing body for equestrianism.  A member-driven, charitable institution, it is the executive branch of the Canadian Equestrian Team, and the national authority for equestrian competition; the national voice for recreational riders; and the national association for equine welfare, breeding, and industry.  Equine Canada is recognised by the Government of Canada, the International Equestrian Federation (FEI), and the Canadian Olympic Committee as the national organisation representing equestrian sport and equine interests. For more information about Equine Canada, please visit equinecanada.ca.

Accueil / Nouvelles / Une équipe canadienne de saut d’obstacles est formée en vue de participer à la Coupe des Nations de

SAUT D’OBSTACLES CANADA

Une équipe canadienne de saut d’obstacles est formée en vue de participer à la Coupe des Nations de | Imprimer |
Le 27 avril 2010 – Karen Cudmore, de Victoria, Colombie-Britannique, Jill Henselwood, d’Oxford Mills, Ontario, Éric Lamaze, de Schomberg, Ontario, et Keean White, de Cambridge, Ontario, forment l’équipe canadienne de saut d’obstacles qui s’apprête à disputer la Coupe des Nations de Lummen, présentée en Belgique du 28 avril au 2 mai, dans le cadre d’un concours CSIO4*.

Cudmore a représenté le Canada lors de la finale de la Coupe du Monde FEI Rolex, qui s’est déroulée à Genève, en Suisse, du 15 au 18 avril dernier. À Lummen, Cudmore sera aux rênes de sa monture de Coupe du Monde, Southern Pride, l’étalon Holsteiner de douze ans de son époux Blair Cudmore.

Médaillée d’argent aux Jeux olympiques de 2008, Henselwood montera Bottom Line, une jument warmblood belge de onze ans dont le propriétaire est Bradon Construction. Ce couple a  remporté le 14 mars dernier le Grand Prix Lamborghini de 300 000$, présenté par Pfizer Animal Health, à Thermal, en Californie.

Le champion olympique Éric Lamaze aura comme partenaire Ronaldo, un warmblood hollandais de douze ans appartenant à Ashland Stables. Lamaze figure actuellement au deuxième rang du classement international Rolex FEI.

White, qui a été couronné champion canadien de saut d’obstacles en 2008, sera sur la selle de Celena Z, une jument Zangersheide de dix ans dont les propriétaires sont The Ashland Group et Angelstone Farms.

Le financement permettant à l’équipe canadienne de participer au CSIO4* de Lummen, a été apporté par Sport Canada et le programme À nous le podium du Comité olympique canadien, une initiative sportive canadienne créée afin d’aider les athlètes canadiens des sports d’été et d’hiver à atteindre le podium aux Jeux olympiques.

Neuf pays ont formé une équipe pour participer à la Coupe des Nations de Lummen. Le Canada défendra ses couleurs face à la Belgique, la Finlande, la Grande-Bretagne, l’Allemagne, l’Irlande, le Japon, la France et l’Italie. La dernière participation du Canada à cette compétition remonte en 2008, lorsque l’équipe canadienne s’est classée deuxième sur quatorze.

La Coupe des Nations est la seule compétition de saut d’obstacles où les cavaliers, participant en équipes de quatre, affrontent des cavaliers d’autres pays pour les plus grands honneurs. Les trois meilleurs résultats de chaque équipe sont comptés en vue du résultat final de l’épreuve en deux manches.

Pour obtenir plus d’information, et notamment les résultats tout au long du CSIO4* de Lummen, veuillez consulter le www.csiolummen.be.

 
À propos de Saut d’obstacles Canada

Saut d’obstacles Canada est un comité de Canada Hippique responsable de toutes les activités de compétition en chasse, saut d’obstacles et équitation, depuis la base jusqu’au niveau international. Saut d’obstacles Canada est dirigé par un conseil d’administration élu en majorité par les intervenants du sport. Pour connaître les programmes et activités de Saut d’obstacles Canada, veuillez visiter equinecanada.ca/jumpcanada.

À propos de Canada Hippique

Canada Hippique est l’organisme national chapeautant l’hippisme. Institution caritative axée sur le service aux membres, Canada Hippique est la division administrative de l’Équipe équestre canadienne faisant autorité en concours hippique national. Elle est la voix nationale des cavaliers de loisir, l’association nationale représentant le bien-être du cheval, l’élevage et l’industrie. Canada Hippique est reconnue auprès du gouvernement du Canada, de la Fédération équestre internationale et du Comité olympique canadien en tant qu’organisme représentant les sports équestres et les intérêts équins.  Pour plus de renseignements sur Canada Hippique, veuillez visiter le equinecanada.ca.