Home / News / Two Canadians Invited to 2009 FEI Children’s Jumper Final

Jump Canada

Two Canadians Invited to 2009 FEI Children’s Jumper Final | Print |
November 23, 2009 - Canada’s Georgia Young and Amanda Harris have qualified to compete at the 2009 FEI Children’s Jumping Final which will take place at the Abu Dhabi Equestrian Club in Abu Dhabi, UAE, from December 11–18, 2009.

Young of Calgary, AB, won the FEI Children’s Jumping Final Qualifier held at the Rocky Mountain Classic Week II, from August 25–29.  The 14-year-old posted four clear rounds aboard her horse, My Fair Lady, a 13-year-old Irish Sport Horse mare.  In addition to winning the FEI Children’s Qualifier, Young also was victorious in the 1.10m Mini Prix at the Spruce Meadows “North American” Tournament and the 1.15m Junior/Amateur Welcome at the Spruce Meadows “Canada One” Tournament this season.

“I am honoured to represent Canada at the FEI Children’s Jumping Final,” said Young, who is coached by 1986 World Show Jumping Champion Gail Greenough.  “It will be such an amazing experience, one that I will always remember."

Harris, 14, of Aurora, ON, won the second Canadian Qualifier for the FEI Children’s Jumping Final at the CornerStone Week 3 at Bronte Creek Equestrian Centre held in Milton, ON, from July 8–12.  Riding Heidi Harris’ Carmina, a 12-year-old Dutch Warmblood/Holsteiner-cross mare, Harris was also fault-free over four rounds of qualifying competition to secure her spot at the FEI Children’s Final.  Harris also won the $3,000 CornerStone Week 2 Mini Prix.

“I am really happy to attend,” said Harris, who trains with Lauren Hayes.  “I am riding every night and catch-riding as many different horses as I can to prepare.  I am thrilled to represent Canada.”

The FEI Children's Jumping Final in Abu Dhabi, UAE, will feature a total of 32 riders, including four from the host country of United Arab Emirates and two riders from each of the countries of Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, Jordan, Syria and Iraq. The remaining 16 riders selected to participate in the Final will be the best ten riders from the worldwide standings, plus the best rider from the remaining six FEI groups.  Canada is in FEI Group IV.  No country will be represented by more than two riders except for the UAE.

The worldwide standings include the final scores for each competitor from every FEI Children's Qualifying Competition in the world held in 2009 before October 18th.  The final score for each competitor is the total penalties of the four rounds and the total of time in the two second rounds.

Riders are considered children by the FEI from the beginning of the year they reach the age of 12 until the end of the year they reach the age of 14 for Children’s Category A.

For more information about the FEI Children's Jumping Final in Abu Dhabi, UAE, please visit http://www.uaeequafed.ae/ShowJ_2009-2010/2009-12-11_FEI_Children_Schedule.pdf.

 
About Jump Canada

Jump Canada is the committee of Equine Canada responsible for all hunter, equitation and jumper activities in Canada from the grass roots to the international level.  Jump Canada is governed by a board, the majority of whose members are elected by the stakeholders in the sport.  For more information regarding Jump Canada programs and activities, visit equinecanada.ca/jumpcanada.

About Equine Canada

Equine Canada is Canada’s national governing body for equestrianism.  A member-driven, charitable institution, it is the executive branch of the Canadian Equestrian Team, and the national authority for equestrian competition; the national voice for recreational riders; and the national association for equine welfare, breeding, and industry.  Equine Canada is recognised by the Government of Canada, the International Equestrian Federation (FEI), and the Canadian Olympic Committee as the national organisation representing equestrian sport and equine interests. For more information about Equine Canada, please visit equinecanada.ca.

Accueil / Nouvelles / Deux cavalières canadiennes sont invitées à la Finale de Saut d’obstacles FEI pour Enfants 2009

SAUT D’OBSTACLES CANADA

Deux cavalières canadiennes sont invitées à la Finale de Saut d’obstacles FEI pour Enfants 2009 | Imprimer |
Le 23 novembre 2009—Les Canadiennes Georgia Young et Amanda Harris se sont qualifiées pour participer à la Finale de Saut d’obstacles FEI pour Enfants 2009 qui doit avoir lieu du 11 au 18 décembre au Club Équestre Abu Dhabi dans la ville du même nom aux Émirats Arabes Unis.

Young, originaire de Calgary en Alberta, a remporté l’épreuve de qualification à la Finale de Saut d’obstacles FEI pour Enfants du concours Rocky Mountain Classic Week II qui s’est déroulé du 25 au 29 août.  La cavalière de 14 ans a exécuté quatre parcours sans faute à bord de son cheval My Fair Lady, une jument Irish Sport Horse de 13 ans.  En plus d’avoir gagné l’épreuve de qualification FEI pour Enfants, Young a aussi raflé pendant sa saison deux autres victoires, d’abord dans le Mini Prix à 1,10 mètres du tournoi «North American» de Spruce Meadows puis dans l’épreuve de Bienvenue Junior/Amateur à 1,15 mètres du tournoi «Canada One» de Spruce Meadows.

«Je suis honorée de représenter le Canada à la Finale de Saut d’obstacles FEI pour Enfants», a dit Young, qui est entraînée par Gail Greenough, championne du monde de saut d’obstacles en 1986.  «Je vais vivre une expérience extraordinaire et inoubliable.»

Harris, 14 ans, originaire d’Aurora en Ontario, a gagné la deuxième épreuve canadienne de qualification pour la Finale de Saut d’obstacles FEI pour Enfants, qui a eu lieu dans le cadre du concours Cornerstone Week 3 au Bronte Creek Equestrian Centre à Milton, Ontario, du 8 au 12 juillet.  Montant Carmina, une jument croisée Warmblood hollandais et Holsteiner appartenant à Heidi Harris, la jeune fille a aussi effectué quatre parcours sans faute dans l’épreuve de qualification, ce qui lui a valu une place à la Finale FEI pour Enfants.  De plus, Harris a remporté le Mini Prix de Cornerstone Week 2, doté d’une bourse de 3000 dollars.

«Je suis vraiment contente de participer», a déclaré Harris, qui s’entraîne avec Lauren Hayes.  «Je monte tous les soirs et quand les occasions se présentent, je monte le plus de chevaux possible afin de me préparer.  Je suis emballée de représenter le Canada.»

La Finale de Saut d’obstacles FEI pour Enfants d’Abu Dhabi sera disputée par 32 cavaliers, dont quatre proviendront du pays hôte, les Émirats Arabes Unis, et deux seront délégués par chacun des pays suivants:  le Qatar, l’Arabie Saoudite, le Koweït, la Jordanie, la Syrie et l’Iraq.  Les 16 autres concurrents sélectionnés pour participer à la Finale seront les dix meilleurs cavaliers au classement mondial, ainsi que le meilleur cavalier dans chacun des six groupes de la FEI restants.  Le Canada fait partie du groupe IV de la FEI.  Les pays ne peuvent envoyer plus de deux cavaliers à la Finale, à l’exception des ÉAU.

Le classement mondial est établi d’après le score final de chaque concurrent à toutes les épreuves de qualification FEI pour Enfants 2009 qui se déroulent à travers le monde avant le 18 octobre.  Le résultat final de chaque concurrent s’obtient en additionnant les points de pénalités encourus dans les quatre manches ainsi que le temps total dans les  deux secondes manches.

Les cavaliers sont considérés Enfants de la catégorie Enfants A par la FEI dès le début de l’année où ils atteignent l’âge de 12 ans jusqu’à la fin de l’année de leurs 14 ans.

Pour plus de renseignements sur la Finale de Saut d’obstacles FEI pour Enfants d’Abu Dhabi aux ÉAU, veuillez consulter le site à l’adresse http://www.uaeequafed.ae/ShowJ_2009-2010/2009-12-11_FEI_Children_Schedule.pdf.


À propos de Saut d’obstacles Canada

Saut d’obstacles Canada est un comité de Canada Hippique chargé de toutes les activités de compétition en chasse, saut d’obstacles et équitation, depuis la base jusqu’au niveau international. Saut d’obstacles Canada est dirigé par un conseil d’administration élu en majorité par les intervenants du sport. Consultez ce site Web equinecanada.ca/jumpcanada   pour connaître les programmes et activités de Saut d’obstacles Canada.

À propos de Canada Hippique

Canada Hippique est l’organisme national chapeautant l’hippisme. Institution caritative axée sur le service aux membres, Canada Hippique est la division administrative de l’Équipe équestre canadienne faisant autorité en concours hippique national. Elle est la voix nationale des cavaliers de loisir, l’association nationale représentant le bien-être du cheval, l’élevage et l’industrie. Canada Hippique est reconnue auprès du gouvernement du Canada, de la Fédération équestre internationale et du Comité olympique canadien en tant qu’organisme représentant les sports équestres et les intérêts équins.  Pour plus de renseignements sur Canada Hippique, veuillez visiter le equinecanada.ca