Home / News / Lauren Gue Wins Running Fox CET Medal Final at Royal Horse Show

Jump Canada

Lauren Gue Wins Running Fox CET Medal Final at Royal Horse Show | Print |
“Lauren Gue of Vancouver, BC, emerged the winner of the Running Fox CET Medal Final on Thursday, November 12, at the Royal Horse Show in Toronto, ON.”  Photo Credit — Cealy TetleyNovember 18, 2009 — Lauren Gue of Vancouver, BC, emerged the winner of the Running Fox CET Medal Final on Thursday, November 12, at the Royal Horse Show in Toronto, ON.

Riding her horse Toronto, a nine-year-old Dutch Warmblood gelding, Gue won the CET Medal Final which was held over two days and included three Phases— Flat/Gymnastic, Jumping and a Final Four test.

In the Flat/Gymnastic phase held Wednesday, November 11, riders were required to demonstrate lengthening of trot, lengthening of canter and canter lead changes prior to starting a demanding gymnastic course featuring bounces.  Gue placed second in this phase, within one point of the leader, Miranda Travers-Cavill of Claremont, ON.  Gue returned to the Ricoh Coliseum the following day for the Jumping Phase where she once again finished one point behind Travers-Cavill for second place.
“Lauren Gue of Vancouver, BC, emerged the winner of the Running Fox CET Medal Final on Thursday, November 12, at the Royal Horse Show in Toronto, ON.”  Photo Credit — Cealy Tetley
The top four riders returned for a final test, which included a trot fence and a halt in the middle of a six-stride line.  Gue and Toronto performed a flawless final test to secure the win.

“I remember watching the older riders at my barn doing this class, but I never thought that one day I would win the CET Medal Final at the Royal,” said Gue, 17, following the awards ceremony.  “On both days, the courses rode really well, but were very difficult.  Knowing your horse in a class like this means everything.”

Designed to be a foundation for riders moving from the hunter divisions into jumper competition, the Running Fox CET Medal is a two-phase equitation class where the riders are judged on their position and riding style, as well as their ability to control the horse over a jumper course.  The top 16 riders, qualified from four Regional Finals, were invited to contest the Running Fox CET Medal Final at the Royal Horse Show.

“This is Lauren’s first year jumping 3’9” and she is a real natural,” said Gue’s coach, 1988 Canadian Olympian Laura Balisky.  “She is a great rider and a very dedicated working student.”

As the winner, Gue received a brand new Childeric saddle donated by long-time CET Medal Final sponsor, Running Fox.

“It was such a great class to watch.  Lauren really stepped up and put the pressure on the other riders in the final round with her fantastic trip,” said Debra Smith, co-owner of Running Fox.  “That is the reason we really enjoy sponsoring this class.”

Cassandra Kahle, of Langley, BC, was the Reserve Champion while Lanie Thomas of Kingston, BC, finished third.  Miranda Travers-Cavill of Claremont, ON, placed fourth.

About Jump Canada

Jump Canada is a committee of Equine Canada responsible for all hunter, equitation and jumper activities in Canada from the grass roots to the international level.  Jump Canada is governed by a board of directors, the majority of whom are elected by the stakeholders in the sport.  For more information regarding Jump Canada programs and activities, visit http://equinecanada.ca/jumpcanada.

About Equine Canada

Equine Canada is a member-based association that represents, promotes and services Canada's equine community and industry.  Its core areas of activity involve sport, equine health and welfare, education and safety, governance and marketing, representation and communication.  Equine Canada is recognized by Sport Canada, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, the International Equestrian Federation (FEI), the Canadian Olympic Committee and Canadian Coaching Association of Canada as the national organization representing equestrian sport and equine interests in Canada. For more information about Equine Canada, please visit equinecanada.ca.

Visit equinecanada.ca for more information.

About Running Fox

With two retail stores in Ontario, a mobile unit and a large online store, Canadian owned Running Fox is a retailer of prestigious English riding apparel.  Running Fox also attends 12 additional weeks of horse shows in Wellington, Florida every year.  Carrying tack and equipment of the highest quality, Running Fox is the exclusive Canadian and US distributor for Luc Childeric saddles and Dy'on bridleworks.  For more information on Running Fox and their products and services please visit www.runningfox.com or call 1-888-387-8225.

Running Fox CET Medal Final overall results

Placing / Rider / Hometown

1 / Lauren Gue / Vancouver / BC
2 / Cassandra Kahle / Langley, BC
3 / Lanie Thomas / Kingston, ON
4 / Miranda Travers-Cavill / Claremont, ON
5 / Ally Franczak / Calgary, AB
6 / Anne-Sophie Milette / Montreal, QC
7 / Jessica Rooks / Pitt Meadows, BC
8 / Jordan Wilson / Okotoks, AB
9 / Laurence Addison / Lorraine, QC
10 / Angelica Edward Jones / Calgary, AB

Accueil / Nouvelles / Lauren Gue remporte la Finale de la Médaille EEC Running Fox au Concours hippique Royal

SAUT D’OBSTACLES CANADA

Lauren Gue remporte la Finale de la Médaille EEC Running Fox au Concours hippique Royal | Imprimer |
«Lauren Gue de Vancouver, C.-B., a remporté la Finale de la Médaille EEC Running Fox jeudi le 12 novembre dans le cadre du Concours hippique Royal à Toronto.»  Photo : Cealy TetleyLe 18 novembre 2009—Lauren Gue de Vancouver, C.-B., a remporté la Finale de l’épreuve de Médaille EEC Running Fox qui a eu lieu jeudi le 12 novembre au Concours hippique Royal à Toronto.

Montant son cheval Toronto, un hongre Warmblood hollandais de neuf ans, Gue a gagné la Finale de l’épreuve de Médaille EEC qui s’est disputée en trois phases réparties sur deux jours, soit  l’équitation sur le plat et la gymnastique, le saut d’obstacles et le test des quatre finalistes.
«Lauren Gue de Vancouver, C.-B., a remporté la Finale de la Médaille EEC Running Fox jeudi le 12 novembre dans le cadre du Concours hippique Royal à Toronto.»  Photo : Cealy Tetley
Dans la phase d’équitation sur le plat et de gymnastique qui s’est déroulée mercredi le 11 novembre, les cavaliers ont dû exécuter des allongements au trot, des allongements au galop et des changements de pied au galop, pour ensuite poursuivre sur un parcours de gymnastique difficile composé de sauts de puce.  À l’issue de la première phase, Gue était en deuxième place et un seul point la séparait de la concurrente en tête du classement, Miranda Travers-Cavill de Claremont en Ontario.  Gue est retournée le lendemain au Colisée Ricoh pour la phase de saut d’obstacles où elle a encore une fois terminé deuxième, toujours un point derrière Travers-Cavill.

Les quatre meilleurs concurrents ont avancé au test final, qui comprenait un obstacle au trot et un arrêt au milieu d’une ligne de six foulées.  Gue et Toronto ont livré une performance sans faille, raflant ainsi la victoire.

«Je me souviens d’avoir regardé à l’écurie les cavaliers plus âgés qui participaient à cette épreuve, mais je n’ai jamais imaginé qu’un jour je gagnerais la Finale de l’épreuve de Médaille EEC au Royal», a déclaré Gue, 17 ans, après la cérémonie de remise des prix.  «Durant les deux jours, les parcours étaient bien construits et se franchissaient bien,mais ils étaient très difficiles.  Je pense que dans une épreuve comme celle-ci, le fait de bien connaître son cheval fait toute la différence.»

Conçue pour confirmer les bases des cavaliers qui quittent les divisions de chasse pour passer à celles de saut d’obstacles, la Médaille EEC Running Fox est une épreuve d’équitation qui se déroule en deux phases.  La position et le style des concurrents sont évalués, ainsi que leur habileté à diriger leur cheval sur un parcours de saut d’obstacles.  Les 16 meilleurs cavaliers qualifiés aux quatre finales régionales sont invités à disputer la Finale de l’épreuve de Médaille EEC Running Fox au Concours hippique Royal.

«Il s’agit d’une première année de saut d’obstacles à 3pi 9po pour Lauren et elle possède un talent naturel», a déclaré son entraîneur, Laura Balisky, qui a participé aux Jeux olympiques en 1988.  «C’est une excellente cavalière et une stagiaire très dévouée à son travail.»

En tant que vainqueur de l’épreuve, Gue a reçu une magnifique selle Childeric offerte par Running Fox, le commanditaire de longue date de la Médaille EEC.

«C’était un très beau spectacle.  Lauren s’est vraiment montrée à la hauteur et a mis de la pression sur les autres concurrents dans le test final avec un parcours fantastique», a commenté Debra Smith, co-propriétaire de Running Fox.  «Cela fait partie des raisons pour lesquelles nous aimons commanditer cette épreuve.»

Cassandra Kahle, de Langley, C.-B., a été déclarée championne de réserve tandis que Lanie Thomas de Kingston, C.-B. s’est mérité la troisième place.  Miranda Travers-Cavill de Claremont, Ontario, a fini quatrième.

À propos de Saut d’obstacles Canada

Saut d’obstacles Canada est un comité de Canada Hippique chargé de toutes les activités de compétition en chasse, saut d’obstacles et équitation, depuis la base jusqu’au niveau international. Saut d’obstacles Canada est dirigé par un conseil d’administration élu en majorité par les intervenants du sport. Consultez ce site Web equinecanada.ca/jumpcanada pour connaître les programmes et activités de Saut d’obstacles Canada.

À propos de Canada Hippique

Canada Hippique est l’organisme national chapeautant l’hippisme. Institution caritative axée sur le service aux membres, Canada Hippique est la division administrative de l’Équipe équestre canadienne faisant autorité en concours hippique national. Elle est la voix nationale des cavaliers de loisir, l’association nationale représentant le bien-être du cheval, l’élevage et l’industrie. Canada Hippique est reconnue auprès du gouvernement du Canada, de la Fédération équestre internationale et du Comité olympique canadien en tant qu’organisme représentant les sports équestres et les intérêts équins.  Pour plus de renseignements sur Canada Hippique, veuillez visiter le equinecanada.ca

À propos de Running Fox

De propriété canadienne, Running Fox est un détaillant de prestigieux articles d’équitation classique qui possède deux magasins de détail en Ontario,  une unité mobile ainsi qu’une importante boutique en ligne. Chaque année, Running Fox est également présent aux concours hippiques de Wellington en Floride qui se tiennent durant douze semaines. Offrant de l’équipement de sellerie de qualité supérieure, Running Fox est le distributeur exclusif pour le Canada et les États-Unis des selles Luc Childeric et des brides Dyon. Pour obtenir un complément d’information sur Running Fox et ses produits et services, nous vous invitons à visiter le www.runningfox.com ou composer le 1 888 387 8225.