Home / News / Clarification on the Statement from Equine Canada Regarding the Disqualification of Victor, Canadian Show Jumper from the 2012 Olympic Games

Jump Canada

Clarification on the Statement from Equine Canada Regarding the Disqualification of Victor, Canadian Show Jumper from the 2012 Olympic Games | Print |

August 8, 2012, London, England - Equine Canada has issued the following further statements regarding the International Equestrian Federation's (FEI) hypersensitivity testing protocol.
"Equine Canada agrees that the FEI's hypersensitivity protocol is in place to protect the welfare of the horse and the fairness of our sport," states Mr. Gallagher.

"Victor sustained a superficial cut on the front of the left front coronary band," states Canadian Olympic Team Veterinarian for Jumping Dr. Sylvie Surprenant. "In our opinion the horse was fit to compete as he showed no signs of lameness. However the FEI hypersensitivity protocol is such that if the horse is sensitive to the touch, regardless of the cause, the horse is disqualified. While the FEI rules for the hypersensitivity protocol were followed, we believe that there should be a review of this protocol."

"We feel that further discussion of the hypersensitivity protocol needs to take place in order to ensure a balance is reached between the philosophical intent and the real-world application.  Canada looks forward to playing a role in those discussions along with other nations within the FEI family," states Mr. Gallagher

"Equine Canada wants to make it clear that there is absolutely no accusation of any wrongdoing on the part of our athlete Tiffany Foster or any member of the Canadian Team. Equine Canada fully stands behind and supports our athlete Tiffany Foster, as well as our entire team. Everyone at Equine Canada and the Canadian Olympic Team are disheartened and extremely disappointed over the premature ending of Tiffany Foster's Olympic dream, and remain fiercely proud of both her incredible sportsmanship and athletic achievements," states Mr. Gallagher.

Read more on the FEI's hypersensitivity protocol.

Accueil / Nouvelles / Clarification de la declaration de Canada Hippique a propos de la disqualification de Victor, cheval d'obstacle des Jeux Olympiques de 2012

SAUT D’OBSTACLES CANADA

Clarification de la declaration de Canada Hippique a propos de la disqualification de Victor, cheval d'obstacle des Jeux Olympiques de 2012 | Imprimer |

Le 8 août 2012, Londres, Angleterre - Canada Hippique a fait la déclaration suivante à propos du protocole d'évaluation de l'hypersensibilité de la Fédération équestre internationale (FEI).

 


« Canada Hippique est d'accord que le protocole d'évaluation de l'hypersensibilité de la FEI est en place pour protéger le bien-être du cheval et l'équité au sein de notre sport, » affirme M. Gallagher

« Victor avait une coupure superficielle à l'avant de la couronne gauche, explique la Dre Sylvie Surprenant, vétérinaire de l'Équipe olympique canadienne responsable du saut d'obstacle. À notre avis, le cheval était en état de concourir parce qu'il ne boitait pas. Cependant, en vertu du protocole d'évaluation de l'hypersensibilité de la FEI, un cheval est disqualifié s'il est sensible au toucher, peu importe la raison. Nous avons observé les règlements du protocole d'évaluation de l'hypersensibilité de la FEI, mais nous pensons que celui-ci doit être revu. »

« Nous croyons qu'il faudrait que le protocole d'évaluation de l'hypersensibilité soit étudié pour atteindre un équilibre entre son intention et son application dans la réalité. Le Canada serait ravi de jouer un rôle dans les discussions en collaboration avec les autres pays de la famille de la FEI, » soutient M. Gallagher

« Canada Hippique tient à réitérer que notre athlète Tiffany Foster et les autres membres de l'Équipe olympique canadienne n'ont rien fait de mal. Canada Hippique appuie sans réserve Tiffany Foster ainsi que le reste de l'équipe. Tous les membres de Canada Hippique et de l'Équipe olympique canadienne sont consternés et déçus de la fin prématurée du rêve olympique de Tiffany Foster et demeurent extrêmement fiers de ses performances sportives et du grand esprit sportif dont elle a fait preuve, ajoute M. Gallagher.

Trouvez de plus amples renseignements sur le protocole.