Home / News / Margot Lefebvre and Brian Morton Top Talent Squad Standings

Jump Canada

Margot Lefebvre and Brian Morton Top Talent Squad Standings | Print |
Brian Morton & Spitfire (Totem Photographics)October 2, 2009 — Margot Lefebvre of Stittsville, ON, emerged the Eastern Division winner of the 2009 Jump Canada National Talent Squad Series while Brian Morton of Langley, BC, was the best in the Western Division.

In the Eastern Division Talent Squad competition held at the Classique Internationale de Blainville Week 1, Lefebvre guided Mister Cash van der Veldmolen, her 13-year-old Belgian Warmblood gelding, to a first place finish for 14 points.  The duo also finished second in the Talent Squad class at the L’International Bromont and secured their Eastern Division win with a second place finish at the Eastern Division Talent Squad Final held at the Canadian Show Jumping Tournament in Palgrave, ON.  They finished the season with a total of 41 points.
Margot Lefebvre & Mister Cash van der Veldmolen (Cealy Tetley Photo)
“Winning the Eastern Division Talent Squad Final or even making it to the Royal was not even part of the plan this year as it was our first year competing at 1.45m,” said Lefebvre, 19, who trains with 2008 Olympic Team Silver medalist Jill Henselwood.  “I feel so fortunate to win and be able to watch the 2010 World Cup Final in Switzerland.  I would never have had such a great opportunity if it were not for Jump Canada and the Talent Squad program.  I would like to thank Jump Canada for all the support they give up-and-coming riders.”

In the Western Division, Morton piloted Spitfire, a 12-year-old French-bred gelding owned by Linda Opdycke, to a fourth place finish in the Talent Squad class at the Thunderbird Show Park Western Family Horse Show.  They sealed their win in the Western Division with another fourth place finish in the Western Division Talent Squad Final held at the Thunderbird Show Park Summer Festival.
Brian Morton & Spitfire (Totem Photographics)
“We had a fantastic experience competing in the Jump Canada Talent Squad classes this summer,” said Morton, 23, who began riding Spitfire in the 2009 season.  “My coach, Mark Laskin, suggested that we do the classes as there are so many potential benefits and publicity from competing in the series.  Our results got better at each show, and the Final was our best class of the year.  We had an amazing summer in the Talent Squad, and it could not have ended better.”

As the top placed riders in the Eastern and Western Divisions, Lefebvre and Morton will be awarded airfare to the 2010 Rolex FEI World Cup™ Final at in Geneva, SUI, to be held April 14–18, 2010.  In addition, the two Division winners will be nominated to Sport Canada to receive Athlete Developmental Funding Cards.

The top 10 riders from both the Eastern and Western Divisions will go head-to-head in the Jump Canada National Talent Squad Championships, which will takes place during the Royal Horse Show in Toronto, ON, from November 6–15, 2009.

The Jump Canada Talent Squad Series is a means of recognizing up-and-coming riders who are preparing to enter the grand prix ranks and gives them a platform to demonstrate their ability to become future members of the Canadian Equestrian Team.  For complete standings, please visit equinecanada.ca/jumpcanada.


About Jump Canada

Jump Canada is the committee of Equine Canada responsible for all hunter, equitation and jumper activities in Canada from the grass roots to the international level.  Jump Canada is governed by a board, the majority of whose members are elected by the stakeholders in the sport.  For more information regarding Jump Canada programs and activities, visit http://equinecanada.ca/jumpcanada.

About Equine Canada

Equine Canada is Canada’s national governing body for equestrianism.  A member-driven, charitable institution, it is the executive branch of the Canadian Equestrian Team, and the national authority for equestrian competition; the national voice for recreational riders; and the national association for equine welfare, breeding, and industry.  Equine Canada is recognised by the Government of Canada, the International Equestrian Federation (FEI), and the Canadian Olympic Committee as the national organisation representing equestrian sport and equine interests. For more information about Equine Canada, please visit equinecanada.ca

Accueil / Nouvelles / Margot Lefebvre et Brian Morton, en tête du classement Talent Squad

SAUT D’OBSTACLES CANADA

Margot Lefebvre et Brian Morton, en tête du classement Talent Squad | Imprimer |
Brian Morton & Spitfire (Totem Photographics)Le 2 octobre 2009 ― Margot Lefebvre, originaire de Stittsville, ON, est sortie vainqueur de la division est-canadienne à la suite du circuit Talent Squad 2009 de Saut d’obstacles Canada, alors que Brian Morton, de Langley, C.-B., a excellé dans la division ouest-canadienne.

Dans l’épreuve de la division est-canadienne du Talent Squad, qui s'est tenue pendant la première semaine de la Classique internationale de Blainville, Margot Lefebvre a pris la première place avec Mister Cash van der Veldmolen, son hongre Warmblood belge de 13 ans, en totalisant 14 points. Le couple a également décroché la deuxième place à l'épreuve Talent Squad qui a eu lieu à l'International  Bromont et s'est assuré la victoire de la division Est en remportant la deuxième place de la finale du Talent Squad - division Est à l'occasion du Canadian Show Jumping Tournament de Palgrave, ON. La cavalière et sa monture ont terminé la saison avec au total 41 points.
Margot Lefebvre & Mister Cash van der Veldmolen (par : Cealy Tetley)
« Mes projets pour cette année n'étaient pas de gagner la finale du Talent Squad - division Est et encore moins le Royal Horse Show, étant donné que c'était notre première compétition à 1,45 m », a expliqué Margot Lefebvre, 19 ans, qui a pour entraîneur la médaillée d'argent en équipe aux Jeux olympiques  de 2008, Jill Henselwood. « Je suis vraiment chanceuse de gagner, et d'avoir l'occasion d'assister à la finale de la coupe du monde de 2010 en Suisse. Je n'aurais jamais eu une aussi belle opportunité si ce n'était pour Saut d'obstacles Canada et le programme du Talent Squad. Je voudrais donc remercier Saut d'obstacles Canada pour tout le soutien qu'il offre à la génération montante de cavaliers. »

Dans la division ouest-canadienne, Brian Morton est arrivé, avec sa monture, un hongre pur-sang français de 12 ans, propriété de Linda Opdycke, en quatrième position de l’épreuve Talent Squad, qui s'est déroulée au Thunderbird Show Park, lors du Western Family Horse Show. Le couple a confirmé sa victoire en prenant la quatrième place de la finale du Talent Squad - division Ouest, au cours du Summer Festival qui s'est tenu au Thunderbird Show Park.
Brian Morton & Spitfire (Totem Photographics)
« Participer cet été aux épreuves du Talent Squad de Saut d'obstacles Canada a été pour nous une superbe expérience », a déclaré Brian Morton, 23 ans, qui a commencé à monter Spitfire pendant la saison 2009. « Mon entraîneur, Mark Laskin, m'a conseillé de participer à ces épreuves, car il y a beaucoup d'avantages potentiels et de publicité autour des participants aux circuits. Nos résultats s'améliorent de compétition en compétition, et la finale a été notre meilleure performance de l'année. Nous avons eu un été extraordinaire dans le cadre du Talent Squad, et ça n'aurait pas pu mieux se terminer. »

En tant que vainqueurs des divisions est-canadienne et ouest-canadienne, Margot Lefebvre et Brian Morton ont gagné leur billet d'avion pour la finale de la coupe du monde FEI Rolex de 2010, à Genève, en Suisse, qui se déroulera du 14 au 18 avril 2010. De plus, la candidature des deux gagnants sera proposée à Sport Canada en vue de recevoir un brevet de développement dans le cadre du programme d’aide aux athlètes. Les 10 premiers cavaliers des divisions est-canadienne et ouest-canadienne s'affronteront lors des championnats du Talent Squad de Saut d'obstacles Canada, qui auront lieu pendant le Royal Horse Show de Toronto, ON, du 6 au 15 novembre 2010.

Le Circuit Talent Squad de Saut d’obstacles Canada a été créé en vue de reconnaître les cavaliers prometteurs qui se préparent à concourir dans les épreuves de Grand Prix. Ce tremplin leur donne la possibilité de démontrer leur capacité à devenir de futurs membres de l’Équipe équestre canadienne. Pour obtenir tous les détails au sujet du Talent Squad, veuillez consulter le site http://equinecanada.ca/jumpcanada.


À propos de Saut d’obstacles Canada                

Saut d’obstacles Canada est un comité de Canada Hippique responsable de toutes les activités de compétition en chasse, saut d’obstacles et équitation, depuis les niveaux de base jusqu’au sport international. Saut d’obstacles Canada est dirigé par un conseil d’administration élu en majorité par les intervenants du sport. Pour connaître les programmes et activités de Saut d’obstacles Canada, veuillez visiter equinecanada.ca/jumpcanada.

À propos de Canada Hippique

Canada Hippique est l’organisme national chapeautant l’hippisme. Institution caritative axée sur le service aux membres, Canada Hippique est la division administrative de l’Équipe équestre canadienne faisant autorité en concours hippique national. Elle est la voix nationale des cavaliers de loisir, l’association nationale représentant le bien-être du cheval, l’élevage et l’industrie. Canada Hippique est reconnue auprès du gouvernement du Canada, de la Fédération équestre internationale et du Comité olympique canadien en tant qu’organisme représentant les sports équestres et les intérêts équins.  Pour plus de renseignements sur Canada Hippique, veuillez visiter le equinecanada.ca.