Home / News / Canada’s Nations’ Cup Team Announced for Spruce Meadows ‘Masters’

Jump Canada

Canada’s Nations’ Cup Team Announced for Spruce Meadows ‘Masters’ | Print |
September 9, 2009 — John Anderson of Calgary, AB, Eric Lamaze of Schomberg, ON, Ian Millar of Perth, ON, and Beth Underhill also of Schomberg, ON, will form the Canadian Show Jumping Team for the $350,000 BMO Nations' Cup held Saturday, September 12, at the CSIO5* Spruce Meadows ‘Masters’ Tournament in Calgary, AB.

Former Olympian Anderson will be paired with Terrific, a nine-year-old Dutch Warmblood gelding owned by Foxdale Farm Inc.  Terrific and Anderson finished third in the $60,000 GWL Reality Advisors Cup and second in the $50,000 RBC Cup at the ‘Canada One’ Tournament at Spruce Meadows.

Olympic Champion Lamaze, a member of Canada’s victorious team at the last Nations’ Cup held in North America in Wellington, FL, will ride Hickstead, a 13-year-old Dutch Warmblood stallion owned by Torrey Pines and Ashland Stables Inc.  The pair comes into the BMO Nations’ Cup after a very successful summer in Europe where they placed fourth in the €285,000 Global Champions Tour Grand Prix at CSI5* Valkenswaard, NED.  In July, they were second in the €285,000 Global Champions Tour Grand Prix in Rio de Janeiro, BRA.

Millar, a nine-time Olympian, was also a member of Canada’s winning Nations’ Cup team in Wellington. Millar also anchored the Canadian Team at the 2008 Olympic Games, helping to secure the Team Silver Medal.  For the Nations’ Cup at Spruce Meadows, Millar will be paired with Redefin, the 11-year-old Dutch Warmblood gelding, owned by Susan Grange and Lothlorien Farm. At the Spruce Meadows ‘National’ Tournament, Millar and Redefin won the $40,000 ATCO Midstream Winning Round and third in the $175,000 Mercedes-Benz Classic at the ‘North American’ Tournament.

Riding Top Gun, a nine-year-old Dutch Warmblood gelding owned by Iron Horse Farm, Underhill finished third in the $200,000 CN Reliability Grand Prix during the Spruce Meadows ‘National’ Tournament and second in the $100,000 Summer Festival Grand Prix in Palgrave, ON.

A Nations’ Cup is the only competition in show jumping where riders, competing in teams of four for their country, vie for top honours against other nations.  Canada will challenge teams from Germany, Great Britain, Italy, Ireland, Mexico, the Netherlands, Norway, Switzerland and the United States for victory over the two-round competition where the top three scores from each team are counted towards the final result.

Once again, the BMO Nations’ Cup will be broadcast on CBC television, beginning at 8 p.m. EST on Saturday, September 12.


About Jump Canada

Jump Canada is the committee of Equine Canada responsible for all hunter, equitation and jumper activities in Canada from the grass roots to the international level.  Jump Canada is governed by a board, the majority of whose members are elected by the stakeholders in the sport.  For more information regarding Jump Canada programs and activities, visit http://equinecanada.ca/jumpcanada.

About Equine Canada

Equine Canada is Canada’s national governing body for equestrianism.  A member-driven, charitable institution, it is the executive branch of the Canadian Equestrian Team, and the national authority for equestrian competition; the national voice for recreational riders; and the national association for equine welfare, breeding, and industry.  Equine Canada is recognised by the Government of Canada, the International Equestrian Federation (FEI), and the Canadian Olympic Committee as the national organisation representing equestrian sport and equine interests. For more information about Equine Canada, please visit equinecanada.ca

Accueil / Nouvelles / L’équipe canadienne est formée en vue de participer à la Coupe des Nations des Masters de Spruce. .

SAUT D’OBSTACLES CANADA

L’équipe canadienne est formée en vue de participer à la Coupe des Nations des Masters de Spruce. . | Imprimer |
Le 9 septembre 2009 - John Anderson de Calgary, Alberta, Éric Lamaze de Schomberg, Ontario, Ian Millar de Perth, Ontario, et Beth Underhill également de Schomberg, Ontario, formeront l'équipe canadienne de saut d’obstacle participant à la Coupe des Nations BMO de 350,000 $, une épreuve qui aura lieu le samedi 12 septembre dans le cadre du concours CSIO5* Masters  de Spruce Meadows, Calgary, Alberta.

L’ex athlète olympique Anderson montera Terrific, un hongre warmblood hollandais de neuf ans propriété de Foxdale Farm Inc. Terrific et Anderson se sont classés troisièmes dans la Coupe GWL Reality Advisors de 60,000 $ et deuxièmes dans la Coupe RBC de 50,000 $ à l’occasion du Canada One de Spruce Meadows.

Le champion olympique Éric Lamaze, membre de l'équipe canadienne victorieuse à la dernière Coupe des Nations tenue à Wellington, Floride, sera sur Hickstead, un étalon warmblood hollandais de 13 ans appartenant à Torrey Pines et Ashland Stables Inc. Le duo participe à la Coupe des Nations BMO après un été couronné de succès en Europe où ils ont pris le quatrième rang au Grand Prix Global Champions Tour de 285,000 Euros du CSI5* Valkenswaard, Pays-Bas. En juillet, ils ont raflé la deuxième place lors du Grand Prix Global Champions Tour de 285,000 Euros à Rio de Janeiro, Brésil.

Avec neuf participations olympiques, Millar était aussi un membre de l'équipe canadienne gagnante de la Coupe des Nations à Wellington. Millar était le dernier en piste pour le Canada aux Jeux 0lympiques 2008, ce qui a valu à son équipe de remporter la médaille d'argent. Lors de la Coupe des Nations de Spruce Meadows, Millar sera à bord de Redefin, un hongre warmblood hollandais de 11 ans, propriété de Susan Grange et  Lothlorien Farm. À Spruce Meadows, Millar et Redefin ont remporté le ATCO Midstream Winning Round de 40,000 $ lors du National, et ils se sont classés troisièmes à la Classique  Mercedes-Benz de 175,000 $ dans le cadre du North American.

Underhill et Top Gun, un hongre warmblood hollandais de neuf ans appartenant à  Iron Horse Farm, ont terminé en troisième place au Grand Prix CN Reliability de 200,000 $ lors du  National de Spruce Meadows et ont réussi une deuxième position au Grand Prix du Festival d’Été de 100,000 $ à Palgrave, Ontario.

La Coupe des Nations est le seul concours de sauts d’obstacles où les cavaliers, participant en équipes de quatre, affrontent des cavaliers d’autres pays pour les plus grands honneurs. Le Canada se mesurera aux équipes de l'Allemagne, la Grande-Bretagne, l'Italie, l'Irlande, le Mexique, les Pays-Bas, la Norvège, la Suisse et les États-Unis.  Les trois meilleurs résultats de chaque équipe sont pris en considération pour le résultat final de la compétition en deux manches.

Encore une fois cette année, la Coupe des Nations BMO sera diffusée sur le réseau CBC, à 20 h, heure normale de l’Est, le samedi 12 septembre.

Quelques mots au sujet de Saut d’obstacles Canada

Saut d’obstacles Canada est un comité de Canada Hippique responsable de toutes les activités de compétition en chasse, saut d’obstacles et équitation, depuis les niveaux de base jusqu’au sport international. Saut d’obstacles Canada est dirigé par un conseil d’administration élu en majorité par les intervenants du sport. Consultez ce site Web equinecanada.ca/jumpcanada pour connaître les programmes et activités de Saut d’obstacles Canada.

À propos de Canada Hippique

Canada Hippique est l’organisme national chapeautant l’hippisme. Institution caritative axée sur le service aux membres, Canada Hippique est la division administrative de l’Équipe équestre canadienne faisant autorité en concours hippique national. Elle est la voix nationale des cavaliers de loisir, l’association nationale représentant le bien-être du cheval, l’élevage et l’industrie. Canada Hippique est reconnue auprès du gouvernement du Canada, de la Fédération équestre internationale et du Comité olympique canadien en tant qu’organisme représentant les sports équestres et les intérêts équins.  Pour plus de renseignements sur Canada Hippique, veuillez visiter le equinecanada.ca.