Home / News / Jump Canada Announces European Show Jumping Tour

Jump Canada

Jump Canada Announces European Show Jumping Tour | Print |
August 28, 2009 — Jump Canada is pleased to announce that Amy Millar, Jonathon Millar, Jenna Thompson and Keean White will represent the Canadian Show Jumping Team at CSI4* Chantilly, FRA, from Sept 11-13, and the Promotional League Nations’ Cup Final at CSIO4* Barcelona, ESP, from Sept 16-20.

The European tour is made possible through Sport Canada and the Canadian Olympian Committee’s ‘Own the Podium’ program, a national sport technical initiative designed to help Canada’s summer and winter athletes achieve podium success at the Olympic Games.

Amy Millar, 32, of Perth, ON, will take two horses, Costa Rica Z and Romanov, to Europe.  With Costa Rica Z, a 14-year-old Holsteiner mare owned by Millar Brooke Farm and Ann Matthews, Millar won the $50,000 Caledon National Grand Prix at the Caledon National on May 24.  Paired with Romanov, Millar Brooke Farm’s 11-year-old Dutch Warmblood gelding, Millar placed fourth in the $10,000 Marshes Open Welcome held August 14 during the National Capital Show Jumping Tournaments in Ottawa, ON.

Jonathon Millar, 34, also of Perth, ON, will join his sister in Europe riding Contino 14, a 12-year-old Holsteiner gelding owned by Millar Brooke Farm, and Vianco v/d Rampaarden, an 11-year-old Belgian Warmblood gelding owned by Bridge Brook Arms & Kelly Soleau.  Jonathon Millar and Contino 14 recently won the $10,000 CompetitiveJumpers.com Open Welcome held August 21 at the National Capital Show Jumping Tournaments.  Paired with Vianco v/d Rampaarden, Jonathon Millar finished fourth in the $30,000 ConocoPhillips Canada Cup at the Spruce Meadows 'Continental' Tournament in Calgary, AB.

Jenna Thompson, 21, of Calgary, AB, will be making her Canadian Show Jumping Team debut in Barcelona.  Riding Zeke, an 11-year-old Oldenburg gelding, Thompson competed in the $50,000 Equisport Agency Grand Prix, the $30,000 Braman Motorcars WEF Challenge Cup Round IV, and the $75,000 Bainbridge Companies Grand Prix during the Winter Equestrian Festival in Wellington, FL.  In June, they placed fifth in the $30,000 Enbridge Cup and sixth in the $200,000 CN Reliability Grand Prix at the Spruce Meadows ‘National’ Tournament.

Current Canadian Show Jumping Champions Keean White, 26, of Rockwood, ON, and Celena Z, a nine-year-old Zangersheide mare owned by Ashland Group and Angelstone Farms, are the fourth and final members of the Canadian Team.  White won the 2008–2009 Canadian World Cup League Standings and represented Canada riding Celena Z at the 2009 FEI World Cup Final in Las Vegas, NV, in April.  The pair was also a member of Canada’s winning team in the $75,000 FEI Nations’ Cup in Wellington, FL, on February 28, 2009.  This victory qualified Canada for the Nations’ Cup competition at the Promotional League Final in CSIO4* Barcelona.

“I think it is a very interesting time for Canadian show jumping,” said Mark Laskin, who will act as chef d’équipe in Chantilly and Barcelona, aided by stable manager Lori Green.  “We are fielding two international calibre teams at the same time, one at the Spruce Meadows ‘Masters’ and one at Barcelona.  This speaks to the depth of talent of our Canadian riders and horses.  In addition to gaining valuable experience at the top level of competition, I expect that these riders will go over to Europe and be very competitive at the same time.”

A Nations’ Cup is the only competition in show jumping where riders, competing in teams of four, compete against other countries for top honours.  The top three scores from each team are counted towards the final result of the two-round competition.

There are only two Nations’ Cup events held annually in North America – the $75,000 FEI Nations’ Cup at the Winter Equestrian Festival in Wellington, FL, and the $350,000 BMO Nations’ Cup at the Spruce Meadows “Masters” Tournament in September.

Complete details about the two competitions may be found at www.jumping-chantilly.com for CSI 4* Chantilly and www.csiobarcelona.com for CSIO4* Barcelona.

 
About Jump Canada

Jump Canada is the committee of Equine Canada responsible for all hunter, equitation and jumper activities in Canada from the grass roots to the international level.  Jump Canada is governed by a board, the majority of whose members are elected by the stakeholders in the sport. For more information regarding Jump Canada programs and activities, visit http://equinecanada.ca/jumpcanada.

About Equine Canada

Equine Canada is Canada’s national governing body for equestrianism.  A member-driven, charitable institution, it is the executive branch of the Canadian Equestrian Team, and the national authority for equestrian competition; the national voice for recreational riders; and the national association for equine welfare, breeding, and industry.  Equine Canada is recognized by the Government of Canada, the International Equestrian Federation (FEI), and the Canadian Olympic Committee as the national organization representing equestrian sport and equine interests. For more information about Equine Canada, please visit equinecanada.ca.

Accueil / Nouvelles / Saut d’obstacles Canada annonce une participation à deux concours européens pour l’équipe canadienne

SAUT D’OBSTACLES CANADA

Saut d’obstacles Canada annonce une participation à deux concours européens pour l’équipe canadienne | Imprimer |
Le 28 août 2009 — Saut d’obstacles Canada a le plaisir d’annoncer qu’Amy Millar, Jonathon Millar, Jenna Thompson et Keean White représenteront l’équipe canadienne de saut d’obstacles lors de deux concours européens. Le premier, le CSI4* de Chantilly, en France, aura lieu du 11 au 13 septembre, tandis que le second, la finale de la Coupe des Nations de la Promotional League du CSIO4*, se tiendra à Barcelone, en Espagne, du 16 au 20 septembre.

La participation à ce circuit européen est possible grâce au programme À nous le podium de Sport Canada et du Comité olympique canadien, une initiative technique sportive nationale conçue dans le but d’aider les athlètes canadiens d’été et d’hiver à atteindre le podium aux Jeux olympiques.

Amy Millar, âgée de 32 ans et résidant à Perth, en Ontario, sera accompagnée de deux chevaux, Costa Rica Z et Romanov. Avec Costa Rica Z, une jument Holsteiner de 14 ans appartenant à la Millar Brooke Farm et Ann Matthews, Millar a remporté le Caledon National Grand Prix de 50 000 $ lors du Caledon National du 24 mai. Par ailleurs, à bord de Romanov, un hongre Warmblood hollandais de 11 ans également propriété de la Millar Brooke Farm, Millar s’est classée quatrième lors du Marshes Open Welcome de 10 000 $ qui avait lieu le 14 août durant le National Capital Show Jumping Tournaments à Ottawa, en Ontario.

Jonathon Millar, âgé de 24 ans et également de Perth, en Ontario, se joindra à sa sœur en Europe, avec pour montures Contino 14, un hongre Holsteiner de 12 ans appartenant à la Millar Brooke Farm, et Vianco v/d Rampaarden, un hongre Warmblood belge de 11 ans propriété de Bridge Brook Arms et Kelly Soleau. Jonathon Millar et Contino 14 ont récemment remporté le CompetitiveJumpers.com Open Welcome de 10 000 $ le 21 août dernier dans le cadre des tournois de sauts d’obstacles de la Capitale Nationale. De plus, à bord de Vianco v/d Rampaarden, Jonathon Millar a terminé en quatrième position de la ConocoPhilips Canada Cup de 30 000 $ lors du tournoi continental de Spruce Meadows à Calgary, Alberta.

Jenna Thompson, 21 ans et résidant à Calgary, Alberta, fera ses débuts avec l’équipe canadienne de sauts d’obstacles à Barcelone. En compagnie de Riding Zeke, son hongre Oldenburg de 11 ans, Thompson a concouru au Grand Prix Equisport Agency de 50 000 $, au Braman Motorcars WEF Challenge Cup Round IV de 30 000 $ et au Grand Prix Bainbridge Companies de 75 000 $ durant le Winter Equestrian Festival de Wellington, en Floride. En juin, le couple s’est classé en cinquième position à la Enbridge Cup de 30 000 $ et en sixième position au Grand Prix CN Reliability de 200 000 $ lors du tournoi national de Spruce Meadows.

Les champions canadiens de sauts d’obstacles actuels, Keean White, âgé de 26 ans et résidant à Rockwood, en Ontario, et Celena Z, une jument Zangersheide de neuf ans appartenant au Ashland Group et à Angelstone Farms, sont les quatrièmes et derniers membres de l’équipe canadienne. White est sorti vainqueur du classement de la Canadian World Cup League de 2008-2009 et il a représenté le Canada à bord de Celena Z lors de la finale de Coupe du Monde de la FEI de 2009 à Las Vegas, Nevada, au mois d’avril. Le couple a également été membre de l’équipe canadienne victorieuse de la Coupe des Nations FEI de 75 000 $ à Wellington, en Floride, le 28 février 2009. Cette victoire a permis au Canada de se qualifier pour la Coupe des Nations de la finale de la Promotional League CSIO4* à Barcelone.

« Je crois que nous vivons une période très intéressante pour le saut d’obstacles canadien », affirme Mark Laskin, qui agira à titre de chef d’équipe à Chantilly et à Barcelone, aidé de la gérante d’écurie Lori Green. « Nous avons réuni deux équipes de calibre international en même temps, une pour le Masters de Spruce Meadows et l’autre pour Barcelone. Ceci est très révélateur sur la profondeur du talent de nos cavaliers et chevaux au pays. En plus d’acquérir une expérience précieuse en compétition de haut niveau, je m’attends à ce que ces cavaliers aillent en Europe et qu’ils y soient très compétitifs. »

La Coupe des Nations est le seul concours de saut d’obstacles où les cavaliers, participant en équipes de quatre, affrontent des cavaliers d’autres pays pour les plus grands honneurs. Les trois meilleurs résultats de chaque équipe sont pris en considération pour le résultat final de la compétition en deux manches.

Seulement deux concours de la Coupe des Nations ont lieu à chaque année en Amérique du Nord : la Coupe des Nations FEI de 75 000 $ se déroulant au Winter Equestrian Festival à Wellington, en Floride, et la Coupe des Nations BMO de 350 000 $, qui a lieu au tournoi Masters de Spruce Meadows au mois de septembre.

Vous pourrez obtenir les détails complets sur les deux concours à www.jumping-chantilly.com pour le CSI 4* de Chantilly et à www.csiobarcelona.com pour le CSIO4* de Barcelone.


Quelques mots au sujet de Saut d’obstacles Canada

Saut d’obstacles Canada est un comité de Canada Hippique responsable de toutes les activités de compétition en chasse, saut d’obstacles et équitation, depuis les niveaux de base jusqu’au sport international. Saut d’obstacles Canada est dirigé par un conseil d’administration élu en majorité par les intervenants du sport. Consultez ce site Web www.jumpcanada.ca pour connaître les programmes et activités de Saut d’obstacles Canada.

À propos de Canada Hippique

Canada Hippique est l’organisme national chapeautant l’hippisme. Institution caritative axée sur le service aux membres, Canada Hippique est la division administrative de l’Équipe équestre canadienne faisant autorité en concours hippique national. Elle est la voix nationale des cavaliers de loisir, l’association nationale représentant le bien-être du cheval, l’élevage et l’industrie. Canada Hippique est reconnue auprès du gouvernement du Canada, de la Fédération équestre internationale et du Comité olympique canadien en tant qu’organisme représentant les sports équestres et les intérêts équins.  Pour plus de renseignements sur Canada Hippique, veuillez visiter le equinecanada.ca.