Home / News / Joelle Froese Wins Show Jumping Individual Bronze at the 2009 Adequan FEI NAJYRC

Jump Canada

Joelle Froese Wins Show Jumping Individual Bronze at the 2009 Adequan FEI NAJYRC | Print |
Joelle Froese & CondorJuly 27, 2009 — Joelle Froese of Abbotsford, BC, won the Individual Bronze Medal in Show Jumping on Sunday, July 26, at the 2009 Adequan FEI North American Junior/Young Riders’ Championships (NAJYRC).  Presented by Gotham North, the Championships were held July 21-26 at the Kentucky Horse Park in Lexington, KY, also the site of the 2010 Alltech FEI World Equestrian Games.
 
Froese, 21, began the competition on Thursday, July 23, by placing sixth in the 1.45m speed competition with Condor, her nine-year-old Westphalian gelding.  Her speed round time was converted in to 1.64 faults, a score that she carried forward to the team competition on Friday.
Joelle Froese & Condor
“The speed round was very challenging, so I was pretty cautious and careful,” said Froese, who is coached by 2008 Olympic Team Silver medalist, Jill Henselwood.  “I wanted to be clean.”

In the team competition, Froese and Condor jumped the large 1.50m course with four faults in the first round and eight faults in the second, giving the pair a total of 13.64 faults and placing them fourth in the individual standings.

“The team competition course had the biggest fences that I have ever jumped,” said Froese of the course set by Olaf Petersen, Jr., of Germany.  “I am really proud of my horse.  He really tried hard.”

In Sunday’s Individual final, Froese and Condor produced two clear rounds to secure the Bronze Medal.

“We have made a lot of progress since the spring,” added Froese.  “All the flat work and my time competing at Spruce Meadows is what allowed me to be this successful at the Championships.”

On Saturday July 25, Canadian riders were also victorious in the 1.40m Farwell competition.  Brie Etcheverry, 21, of Calgary, AB, won the Farewell with Pilgrim VD Paddepoel, her 10-year-old Belgian Warmblood gelding.  Kim Denroche, 21, of Kanata, ON, and her horse, Ralocia, an 11-year-old Dutch Warmblood mare, placed third.

For more information on NAJYRC, please visit www.youngriders.org.

 
About Jump Canada

Jump Canada is the committee of Equine Canada responsible for all hunter, equitation and jumper activities in Canada from the grass roots to the international level.  Jump Canada is governed by a board, the majority of whose members are elected by the stakeholders in the sport.  For more information regarding Jump Canada programs and activities, visit http://equinecanada.ca/jumpcanada.

About Equine Canada

Equine Canada is a member-based association that represents, promotes and services Canada's equine community and industry.  Its core areas of activity involve sport, equine health and welfare, education and safety, governance and marketing, representation and communication.  Equine Canada is recognized by Sport Canada, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, the International Equestrian Federation (FEI), the Canadian Olympic Committee and Canadian Coaching Association of Canada as the national organization representing equestrian sport and equine interests in Canada.  For more information about Equine Canada, please visit equinecanada.ca.

Accueil / Nouvelles / Joelle Froese médaillée de bronze en saut d’obstacles aux CNAJJC FEI Adequan

SAUT D’OBSTACLES CANADA

Joelle Froese médaillée de bronze en saut d’obstacles aux CNAJJC FEI Adequan | Imprimer |
Joelle Froese & CondorLe 27 juillet 2009 – Joelle Froese (Abbotsford, Colombie-Britannique) s’est mérité la médaille de bronze en saut d’obstacles lors de l’édition 2009 des Championnats nord-américains pour Juniors et Jeunes Cavaliers FEI Adequan. Présentés par Gotham North, les championnats se tenaient du 21 au 26 juillet au Kentucky Horse Park de Lexington, au Kentucky, le site qui accueillera, en 2010, les Jeux équestres mondiaux FEI Alltech.

Au début de la compétition, le jeudi 23 juillet, Froese s’est classée sixième dans l’épreuve de vitesse de 1,45 m sur Condor, son Westphalien de neuf ans. Le temps de parcours fut converti en 1,64 points, un score inscrit sur sa fiche en accédant à la compétition par équipe du vendredi.
Joelle Froese & Condor
« L’épreuve de vitesse était bien difficile, alors j’ai visé la précision en faisant attention de ne pas commettre d’erreurs », a dit la jeune femme de 21 ans dont l’entraîneure, Jill Henselwood, a été médaillée d’argent en équipe aux Jeux olympiques de 2008.

Dans l’épreuve en équipe, Froese et Condor ont franchi l’énorme parcours de 1,50 m, cumulant quatre points en manche initiale et huit points dans la suivante, ce qui leur a donné un résultat de  13,64 assorti de la quatrième position au classement individuel.

« Les obstacles de l’épreuve d’équipe étaient les plus imposants que j’ai eu à négocier dans ma vie », a dit la cavalière au sujet du parcours créé par l’Allemand Olaf Petersen Jr. « Je suis vraiment fière de mon cheval. Il a beaucoup de cœur. » 

Dans la compétition en individuel du dimanche, Froese et Condor ont enregistré deux parcours sans faute, ce qui leur a valu la médaille de bronze.

« Nous avons beaucoup progressé depuis le printemps », a-t-elle ajouté. « C’est le travail au plat et le temps consacré à concourir à Spruce Meadows qui m’ont permis de réussir aussi bien aux championnats. »

Le samedi 25 juillet, les cavaliers canadiens ont aussi connu la victoire dans l’épreuve Farwell de 1,40 m. C’est Brie Etcheverry, 21 ans, de Calgary, Alberta, qui l’a remportée sur Pilgrim VD Paddepoel, son Warmblood belge de dix ans. Kim Denroche, 21 ans, de Kanata, Ontario, et sa jument Warmblood hollandaise de onze ans, Ralocia, se sont classées troisièmes.

Pour obtenir un complément d’information sur l’édition 2009 des Championnats nord-américains pour Juniors et Jeunes Cavaliers FEI Adequan, veuillez visiter le  www.youngriders.org.


À propos de Saut d’obstacles Canada

Saut d’obstacles Canada est un comité de Canada Hippique responsable de toutes les activités de compétition en chasse, saut d’obstacles et équitation, depuis les niveaux de base jusqu’au sport international. Saut d’obstacles Canada est dirigé par un conseil d’administration élu en majorité par les intervenants du sport. Pour connaître les programmes et activités de Saut d’obstacles Canada, veuillez visiter equinecanada.ca/jumpcanada.

À propos de Canada Hippique

Canada Hippique est une association formée de membres, dont la mission est de représenter, promouvoir et offrir des services à  la collectivité et  l’industrie équines canadiennes. Ses sphères d’activités principales sont le sport, la santé et le bien-être du cheval, l’éducation et la sécurité, la gouvernance et le marketing, la représentation et la communication. Canada Hippique est reconnue auprès de Sport Canada, Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada, la Fédération équestre internationale, le Comité olympique canadien, et l’Association canadienne des entraîneurs, comme étant l’organisme national dirigeant les sports équestres et les intérêts équins au Canada. Pour plus de renseignements sur Canada Hippique, veuillez visiter le equinecanada.ca.