Home / News / Export Preparedness Seminars Pave an Exciting New Path

Industry

Export Preparedness Seminars Pave an Exciting New Path | Print |
Dr. Alain Moreau, Senior Veterinary Officer, Canadian Food Inspection AgencyMarch 31, 2010 — The latest Equine Canada Export Preparedness Training seminars in the cross-Canada series were held in Guelph, ON, on March 27, and Kemptville, ON, on March 28, 2010.  Speakers and topics were selected to provide attendees with the tools required to strengthen Canada’s ability to export horses and equine genetics to countries around the world.  Breeders, along with other stakeholders involved in the business of rearing, developing and marketing horses, were in attendance.

“While the series revolves around a core body of information developed by Equine Canada, we brought together speakers from Gencor, Sea Air Freight Forwarders, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada’s Canada Brand, Export Development Canada and the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) who do business in the areas where the seminars were held,” said Susan Stewart, Equine Canada Breeds & Industry Division, Coordinator Export Market Development.  “The results are two-fold.  Attendees had the opportunity to learn from these speakers who have extensive experience and a deep understanding in their fields, and attendees are also invited to contact these professionals in the future, so that they can leverage off of the expertise they offer and ultimately, increase the export trade of horses and genetics.”
Dr. Alain Moreau, Senior Veterinary Officer, Canadian Food Inspection Agency
Seminar Sound Bites

•    Export of equine semen from Canada to countries other than the USA increased from 987 units in 2007 to 5,772 units in 2009; more opportunities for the increase in the export of horses and genetics have been identified

•    A recent study concluded that conception rates in horses inseminated with frozen semen were increased by 31% with the use of INRA-Freeze

•    Export Development Canada offers protection against foreign buyers’ failure to pay with coverage up to 90%

•    Equine businesses involved in the export of Canadian-bred horses can design their websites, brochures and other marketing materials under the Canada Brand program offered by Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada which includes the use of design materials and guidance at no cost

•    CFIA will work with breeders to meet the strict requirements for exporting equine semen to the European Union and other countries around the world

•    An initiative is underway to establish a Made-in-Canada message for use by equine producers; all stakeholders will be invited to participate

•    The Equine Canada Export Market Development Strategy has identified 94 activities in which 16 breed associations and Equine Canada will participate in during the 2010-2011 time-frame. Activities include research, incoming and outgoing trade missions, advocacy, training and education, trade shows, and promotional and branding projects

More Seminars to Share

To ensure availability of seminar information to individuals in other locations in Canada, continuation of the seminar series is planned.  Additional information on how these seminars will be offered will be made available once funding for the 2010-2011 period has been confirmed.

Partnership to Advance Canadian Export

The Export Preparedness Training Seminars and other initiatives managed by the Equine Canada Export Market Development Strategy are partially funded by the AgriMarketing Program of Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, which aims to enhance marketing capacity and competitiveness of the Canadian agriculture, agri-food, fish and seafood sectors.  To find out more about the 2010-2011 initiatives, contact Susan Stewart at This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it or (613) 826-1155.

This initiative is partially funded by the Agri-Marketing Program of Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada and is in support of Canada Brand for food and agriculture.


About Equine Canada Breeds & Industry Division

Equine Canada Breeds & Industry Division provides a structure for breed organizations and industry partners operating in Canada to unite as a coalition under the national federation of Equine Canada. It provides a forum from which to seek and exchange information between Equine Canada, Canadian stakeholders, the Government of Canada and foreign entities. The Breeds & Industry Division works to promote and assist a vibrant equine industry and to affect policy in Canada. Breed organizations and industry partners share resources and expertise with unity of purpose to increase the long-term profitability of Canada’s equine sector and to ensure its future viability.

About Equine Canada

Equine Canada is Canada’s national governing body for equestrianism.  A member-driven, charitable institution, it is the executive branch of the Canadian Equestrian Team, and the national authority for equestrian competition; the national voice for recreational riders; and the national association for equine welfare, breeding, and industry.  Equine Canada is recognized by the Government of Canada, the International Equestrian Federation (FEI), and the Canadian Olympic Committee as the national organization representing equestrian sport and equine interests. For more information about Equine Canada, please visit equinecanada.ca.

Accueil / Nouvelles / Les séminaires de préparation à l’exportation pavent une voie innovante et stimulante

Industrie

Les séminaires de préparation à l’exportation pavent une voie innovante et stimulante | Imprimer |
Dr. Alain MoreauLe 31 mars 2010 — Les plus récents séminaires de préparation à l’exportation de Canada Hippique qui seront présentés partout au pays ont eu lieu le 27 mars à Guelph en Ontario et le 28 mars à Kemptville, également en Ontario. Les conférenciers et les sujets ont été choisis dans l’optique d’équiper les participants des outils nécessaires au renforcement de la capacité du Canada d’exporter des chevaux et de la génétique équine à travers le monde. Étaient présents des éleveurs et des intervenants actifs dans l’élevage, le développement et la commercialisation des chevaux.

« Bien que le circuit gravite autour d’un noyau d’information élaboré par Canada Hippique, nous avons rassemblé des conférenciers représentant Gencor, Sea Air International Forwarders, le programme Image internationale de la marque Canada d’Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada, Exportation et développement Canada et l’Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments et actifs dans les secteurs visés par les séminaires », souligne Susan Stewart, coordonnatrice du développement des marchés d’exportation, division Races et Industrie de Canada Hippique. « Les résultats présentent deux aspects. D’une part, les participants ont pu apprendre de ces conférenciers hautement expérimentés et parfaitement au fait de leur domaine. D’autre part, les participants ont aussi été invités à communiquer à l’avenir avec ces professionnels afin d’utiliser à leur avantage l’expertise offerte et, enfin, d’accroître l’exportation de chevaux et de génétique. »
Dr. Alain Moreau
Quelques bribes des séminaires

•    L’exportation de semence équine du Canada vers des pays autres que les États-Unis a augmenté de 987 unités en 2007 à 5772 en 2009. Davantage de possibilités d’accroissement des exportations de chevaux et de génétique ont été identifiées.

•    Une étude récente conclut que le taux de conception chez les juments inséminées avec de la semence congelée a augmenté de 31 % avec l’utilisation du produit INRA-Freeze.

•    Exportation et développement Canada offre une protection contre le défaut de paiement des acheteurs étrangers, avec une couverture maximale de 90 %.

•    Les entreprises équestres exportatrices de chevaux élevés au Canada peuvent concevoir leur site Web, dépliants et autres documents de commercialisation grâce au programme Image internationale de la marque Canada d’Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada, lequel offre l’utilisation de matériel de conception et de l’aide sans frais.

•    L’Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments travaillera de concert avec les exportateurs pour les aider à respecter les exigences sévères d’exportation de semence équine vers l’Union européenne et d’autres pays à travers le monde.

•    Un projet est actuellement en cours de développement afin de rédiger un message élaboré au Canada, lequel pourra être utilisé par les producteurs équestres. Tous les intervenants seront invités à participer.

•    Les responsables de la stratégie de développement des marchés d’exportation de Canada Hippique ont identifié 94 activités auxquelles participeront 16 associations de race et Canada Hippique en 2010-2011. Ces activités comprennent la recherche, les missions commerciales au pays et à l’étranger, la défense des intérêts, la formation et l’éducation, les foires commerciales et les projets promotionnels et de marque.

Encore plus de séminaires

La poursuite du circuit de séminaires est prévue afin d’assurer une disponibilité de l’information transmise par les séminaires aux personnes situées en d’autres lieux du pays. Des renseignements supplémentaires sur ce circuit seront transmis une fois confirmé le financement pour la période 2010-2011.

Partenaire de la progression des exportations canadiennes

Les séminaires de préparation à l’exportation et les autres initiatives gérées par les responsables de la stratégie de développement des marchés d’exportation de Canada Hippique sont en partie financés grâce au Programme Agri-marketing d’Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada, lequel vise à accroître les possibilités de commercialisation et la concurrence des secteurs agricoles, agroalimentaires, des poissons et des fruits de mer canadiens. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les initiatives de 2010-2011, communiquez avec Susan Stewart à Cette adresse email est protégée contre les robots des spammeurs, vous devez activer Javascript pour la voir. ou au 613 826-1155.

Cette initiative est financée en partie par le Programme Agri-marketing d’Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada et appuie la stratégie de l’image de marque Canada pour les secteurs de l’alimentation et de l’agriculture.


À propos de la division Races et Industrie de Canada Hippique

La division Races et Industrie de Canada Hippique procure une structure pour les divers organismes de races et les partenaires de l’industrie exerçant leurs activités au Canada, réunis en une coalition de forces sous l'égide de la fédération nationale Canada Hippique. Elle constitue une tribune propice aux échanges d'informations entre Canada Hippique, les intervenants du milieu canadien, le gouvernement du Canada et d'autres instances étrangères. La division Races et Industrie travaille à promouvoir l’industrie canadienne du cheval et l’aide à conserver son dynamisme, tout en s’efforçant d’exercer une influence bénéfique sur les politiques au Canada. Les organismes de races et les partenaires de l'industrie échangent des ressources et des connaissances dans la même optique, qui est celle de stimuler la rentabilité à long terme du secteur canadien du cheval et de veiller à ce qu'il demeure viable.

À propos de Canada Hippique

Canada Hippique est l’organisme national chapeautant l’hippisme. Institution caritative axée sur le service aux membres, Canada Hippique est la division administrative de l’Équipe équestre canadienne faisant autorité en concours hippique national. Elle est la voix nationale des cavaliers de loisir, l’association nationale représentant le bien-être du cheval, l’élevage et l’industrie. Canada Hippique est reconnu auprès du gouvernement du Canada, de la Fédération équestre internationale et du Comité olympique canadien en tant qu’organisme représentant les sports équestres et les intérêts équins.  Pour plus de renseignements sur Canada Hippique, veuillez visiter le site  equinecanada.ca.