Home / News / New Restrictions for Equine Imports into Canada from the United States

Industry

New Restrictions for Equine Imports into Canada from the United States | Print |
January 21, 2009 — The Breeds & Industry Division of Equine Canada is advising stakeholders in Canada that the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) has announced revised import requirements as a result of the expanding investigation into contagious equine metritis (CEM) in the U.S. The revised import protocols will affect all live horses, semen and embryos entering Canada from the U.S.
 
Canadians seeking timely information regarding import requirements are advised to use the CFIA’s Automated Import Reference System (AIRS).

New CFIA Import restrictions for horses and their germplasm

Note: For the purpose of clarity in this document only horses are mentioned in the following conditions, however, they apply to all equines: horses, asses, mules and zebras)

For Live Horses:
(including Canadian horses returning to Canada but excluding horses for immediate slaughter)
  • Implementation date: January 19, 2009
  • No import permit required (except for certain categories of horses from the State of Florida because of Equine Piroplasmosis)
The following additional certification will be required on all U.S. export certificates issued after January 19, 2009, and for Canadian horses exported to the U.S. and returning on a Canadian health certificate issued after January 19, 2009:
  • The horse(s) have not been on a premises where T.equigenitalis has been isolated during the 60 days immediately preceding exportation to Canada or a premises currently under quarantine or investigation for CEM. Any female(s) in the shipment have not been bred naturally to, or inseminated with, semen from a stallion positive for CEM, or a stallion resident upon a positive premises or under quarantine or investigation for CEM.
AND
  • Showed no clinical signs of CEM on the day of inspection.
Note: For Canadian horses returning to Canada on a Canadian health certificate issued after January 19, 2009, a supplemental certification document with the above mentioned requirements will be provided by the CFIA endorsing office when advised of intended return. The supplemental certification will need to be attached to the Canadian health certificate and endorsed by USDA before return of the horse(s) to Canada.

For Semen: (frozen and fresh)

(Approximate implementation date: January 26, 2009)

1.     For semen collected before December 15, 2008:
  • No import permit required
  • U.S. health certificate required
The following certification will be required on the U.S. export certificate:
  • Date of collection;
  • Identity of the donor stallion
AND
  • Identity of the collection premises
2.     For semen collected after December 15, 2008:

(Approximate implementation date: January 26, 2009)
  • Import permit required
  • U.S. health certificate required.
The following certification will be required on the U.S. health certificate:
  • The donor stallion(s) have not been on a premises where T.equigenitalis has been isolated during the 60 days immediately preceding collection of the semen for export to Canada or a premises currently under quarantine or investigation for CEM.
  • The semen was processed using an extender that contains antibiotics effective against  T.equigenitalis.
  • Semen presented for importation into Canada must be in individual receptacles or straws, each marked with the collection date, identity of the donor and the semen collection premises.
For Embryos:

(Approximate implementation date: January 26, 2009)
  • Import permit required
  • U.S. health certificate required.
The following certification will be required on the U.S. health certificate:
  • The donor mare(s) have not been on a premises where T.equigenitalis has been isolated during the 60 days immediately preceding the collection of the embryo(s) for export to Canada or a premises currently under quarantine or investigation for CEM and have not been bred naturally or inseminated with semen from a stallion positive for CEM, or a stallion resident upon a positive premises or under quarantine or investigation for CEM.
  • The flushing medium that was used to collect the embryo(s) contains antibiotics effective against T.equigenitalis.
  • Embryos presented for importation into Canada must be in sterile straws or pipettes, each marked with the collection date, identity of the donor and the embryo collection premises.
To download an Import Permit Application Form for Live Animals, Semen, Embryos, Animal Products and By-Products, visit the CFIA website.
 
The single use import permit costs $35 and the multiple use import permit costs $60.

The Application for Permit to Import is completed by the importer. In order to apply for an import permit, importers in Canada will have to contact one of the following CFIA area offices:

For the Atlantics
 
Dr. Allan McLean
Animal Health Staff Veterinarian
Atlantic Area
Telephone: (506) 851-7871
Fax: (506) 851-3700
This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

For Québec

Dr. Alain Lajoie
Program Specialist— Importation
Program Network—Quebec
Telephone: (514) 283-3815 (4210)
Fax: (514) 283-6214
This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it
 
For Ontario

Dr. Susan Wray
Program Specialist—Import
Program Network—Ontario
Telephone: (519) 826-2810
Fax: (519) 837-9771
This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

For the West

Dr Gary Kruger
Veterinary Program Specialist
Program Network—West
Telephone: (403) 292-5825
Fax: (403) 292-6629
This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it
 
The completed application must be faxed or mailed with payment to the Import Office in the province you reside in or into which you will be importing the commodity(ies). You will be contacted by the Import Office within three (3) days of receipt of the application form with information on how to proceed.

To reference the responsibilities of Brokers, visit the CFIA website.
 
These revised import restrictions are a result of the expanding investigation into CEM. The USDA has confirmed, as of January 21, nine stallions as positive for CEM, four in Kentucky, three in Indiana, one in Wisconsin and one in Texas. The USDA has undertaken an extensive traceback exercise to identify and locate all horses in the US that have been exposed to the CEM positive stallions either through direct contact or collected semen. The USDA reports that the locations of approximately 275 exposed horses in 38 states have also been confirmed but more exposed horses are actively being traced. For more information, visit http://www.aphis.usda.gov/newsroom/hot_issues/cem/index.shtml.

Shipments of frozen semen from one of these stallions were sent to Ontario and Alberta in the spring of 2008. To date, nine premises—three in Alberta and six in Ontario—are under quarantine, and the exposed mares are undergoing testing.  These measures will remain in place until all animals have tested negative for CEM. As investigations in Canada and the U.S. continue, animals on additional farms may be quarantined.

CEM is a reportable disease in Canada and the U.S. This means that all suspected cases in Canada must be reported to the CFIA for immediate investigation by inspectors. CEM is a highly contagious disease that affects the reproductive tract of horses. The disease can cause temporary infertility in mares. In most cases, CEM can be successfully treated with disinfectants and antibiotics.

As new information about import/export protocols or the CEM outbreak becomes available, the Breeds & Industry Division of Equine Canada will issue updates to Canadian stakeholders. All updates can be found at http://equinecanada.ca/industry/index.php?option=com_content&view=category&sectionid=100&id=232&Itemid=12.

On February 7, 2009, at 9:30 a.m., a CFIA representative will provide an update on CEM at the Breeds & Industry Delegate Assembly at the Equine Canada Convention in Ottawa. Everyone is welcome to attend. More information about the Equine Canada Convention may be found equinecanada.ca .


About Equine Canada Breeds & Industry Division

Equine Canada Breeds & Industry Division provides a structure for the more than 40 breed organizations operating in Canada to unite as a coalition under the national federation of Equine Canada. It provides a forum from which to seek and exchange information between Equine Canada, Canadian stakeholders, the Government of Canada and foreign entities. The Breeds & Industry Division works to promote and assist a vibrant equine industry and to affect policy in Canada. Breed organizations and industry partners share resources and expertise with unity of purpose to increase the long-term profitability of Canada's equine sector and ensure its future viability. Visit equinecanada.ca for complete information about the Equine Canada Breeds & Industry Division.

About Equine Canada

Equine Canada is a member-based association that represents, promotes and services Canada's equine community and industry. Its core areas of activity involve sport, equine health and welfare, education and safety, governance and marketing, representation and communication. Equine Canada is recognized by Sport Canada, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, the International Equestrian Federation (FEI), the Canadian Olympic Committee and Canadian Coaching Association of Canada as the national organization representing equestrian sport and equine interests in Canada. For more information about Equine Canada, please visit equinecanada.ca.

Accueil / Nouvelles / Le Canada impose de nouvelles restrictions sur l’importation de chevaux des États-Unis

Industrie

Le Canada impose de nouvelles restrictions sur l’importation de chevaux des États-Unis | Imprimer |
Le 21 janvier 2009 - La division Races et Industrie de Canada Hippique souhaite informer tous  les intervenants de l’industrie canadienne du cheval que l’Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments (ACIA) a révisé ses conditions d’importation en raison de l’enquête faite aux États-Unis entourant l’épizootie de métrite contagieuse équine (MCÉ), enquête dont l’ampleur s’accentue.  Les conditions d’importation touchent les chevaux vivants et leur matériel génétique (semence et embryons).
 
Pour prendre connaissance des exigences actuelles s’appliquant à l’entrée de chevaux au Canada, veuillez utiliser le système automatisé de référence à l’Importation (SARI)  qui se trouve sur le  site http://airs-sari.inspection.gc.ca/Airs_External/Default.aspx.

Les nouvelles restrictions de l’ACIA pour les chevaux et leur matériel génétique

NOTE : Par souci de clarté dans le document, seuls les chevaux sont mentionnés dans les conditions suivantes. Cependant, elles s’appliquent à tous les équins : chevaux, ânes, mulets, bardots et zèbres.

POUR LES CHEVAUX VIVANTS : (incluant les chevaux canadiens qui reviennent au Canada mais excluant les chevaux pour abattage immédiat) :

• Date de mise en application : 19 janvier 2009
• Un permis d’importation n’est pas requis (sauf pour certaines catégories de chevaux en provenance de la Floride à cause de la Piroplasmose équine)

La certification supplémentaire suivante sera requise sur tous les certificats d’exportation des USA, émis après le 19 janvier 2009 ainsi que pour les chevaux canadiens exportés aux USA et revenant au Canada avec un certificat zoosanitaire canadien émis après le 19 janvier 2009 :
  • Les chevaux n’ont pas été dans un lieu ou la T. equigenitalis a été isolée durant les 60 jours précédant immédiatement leur exportation au Canada ou un lieu actuellement en quarantaine ou sous enquête pour la MCÉ. Les femelles se trouvant dans ce chargement n’ont pas été accouplées avec un étalon, ou inséminées avec de la semence d’un étalon, positif à l’égard de la MCÉ ou résidant dans un lieu positif, en quarantaine ou sous enquête pour la MCÉ.
ET
  • Les chevaux ne présentaient aucun signe clinique de MCÉ le jour de leur inspection.
NOTE :

Pour les chevaux canadiens retournant au Canada avec un certificat zoosanitaire canadien émis après le 19 janvier 2009, une certification supplémentaire, contenant les conditions ci-haut mentionnées, sera fournie par le bureau de l’ACIA chargé de la contre-signature lorsque informé du retour envisagé de l’animal. La certification supplémentaire devra être jointe au certificat zoosanitaire canadien et contre-signée par le USDA avant le retour des chevaux au Canada.

POUR LA SEMENCE : (congelée ou fraîche)
(Date approximative de mise en application : 26 janvier 2009)

1-    Pour la semence collectée avant le 15 décembre 2008 :
  • aucun permis d’importation n’est requis;
  • un certificat sanitaire des USA est requis
La certification suivante sera requise sur le certificat sanitaire des USA :
  • date de collecte
  • identité de l’étalon donneur
ET
  • identité de l’établissement effectuant la collecte
2- Pour la semence collectée après le 15 décembre 2008 :
(Date approximative de mise en application : 26 janvier 2009)

-    un permis d’importation est requis
-    un certificat sanitaire des USA est requis

La certification suivante sera requise sur le certificat sanitaire des USA :
  • Les étalons donneurs n’ont pas été dans un lieu ou la T. equigenitalis a été isolée durant les 60 jours précédant immédiatement la collecte de la semence destinée à être exportée au Canada ou un lieu actuellement en quarantaine ou sous enquête pour la MCÉ.
  • La semence a été traitée en utilisant un diluant qui contenait des antibiotiques efficaces contre la T. equigenitalis.
  • La semence présentée en vue de l’importation au Canada doit être conservée dans des contenants individuels ou des paillettes, identifiés avec la date de collecte, l’identité du donneur et de l’établissement qui a effectué la collecte.
POUR LES EMBRYONS : 

(Date approximative de mise en application : 26 janvier 2009)

-    un permis d’importation est requis
-    un certificat sanitaire des USA est requis

La certification suivante sera requise sur le certificat sanitaire des USA :
  • Les juments donneuses n’ont pas été dans un lieu ou la T. equigenitalis a été isolée durant les 60 jours précédant la collecte des embryons en vue de leur exportation au Canada ou un lieu actuellement en quarantaine ou sous enquête pour la MCÉ.
  • Les juments donneuses n’ont pas été accouplées avec un étalon, ou inséminées avec de la semence d’un étalon, positif à l’égard de la MCÉ ou résidant dans un lieu positif, en quarantaine ou sous enquête pour la MCÉ.
  • Le liquide de perfusion qui a été utilisé pour effectuer la collecte des embryons contenait des antibiotiques efficaces contre la T. equigenitalis.
  • Les embryons présentés en vue de leur importation au Canada doivent être conservés dans des paillettes ou des pipettes stériles, chacune identifiée de la date de collecte, de l’identité du donneur et du nom de l’établissement qui a effectué la collecte.
Pour télécharger une demande de permis d’importation d’animaux vivants, de  semence, d’embryons, de produits et sous-produits d’animaux, veuillez visiter le site de l’ACIA suivant : http://www.inspection.gc.ca/francais/anima/heasan/import/permit_coverf.shtml

Un permis pour utilisation unique coûte 35$ tandis que les frais sont de 60$ pour un permis à utilisation multiple. La demande de permis est remplie par l’importateur. Pour obtenir un permis d’importation, les importateurs du Canada doivent communiquer avec le bureau  de l’ACIA de leur région, soit :

Pour l’Atlantique
Dr. Allan  McLean
Santé des animaux Service Vétérinaire
Région de l’Atlantique
Téléphone : (506) 851-7871
Télécopieur : (506) 851-3700
Internet : Cette adresse email est protégée contre les robots des spammeurs, vous devez activer Javascript pour la voir.

Pour le Québec
Dr. Alain Lajoie
Spécialiste du programme- Importation
Réseau des programmes- Québec
Téléphone : (514) 283-3815 (4210)
Télécopieur : (514) 283-6214
Internet : Cette adresse email est protégée contre les robots des spammeurs, vous devez activer Javascript pour la voir.

Pour l’Ontario
Dr. Susan Wray
Spécialiste du programme-Importation
Réseau des programmes-Ontario
Téléphone : (519) 826-2810
Télécopieur : (519) 837-9771
Internet : Cette adresse email est protégée contre les robots des spammeurs, vous devez activer Javascript pour la voir.

Pour l’Ouest
Dr. Gary Kruger
Spécialiste  du programme vétérinaire
Réseau des programmes-Ouest
Téléphone : (403) 292-5825
Télécopieur : (403) 292-6629
Internet : Cette adresse email est protégée contre les robots des spammeurs, vous devez activer Javascript pour la voir.  

La demande doit être remplie et transmise par télécopieur ou par la poste avec le paiement annexé au bureau de votre province de résidence ou d’importation. Le bureau d’importation communiquera avec vous dans les trois (3) jours suivant la réception de votre formulaire de demande pour vous indiquer la marche à suivre.

Pour connaître les responsabilités des courtiers, visitez le site Web de l’ACIA au lien suivant : http://www.inspection.gc.ca/francais/imp/kitf.shtml

Ces nouvelles conditions d’importation de l’ACIA ont dû être adoptées en raison de l’envergure de l’enquête touchant la MCÉ. Le 21 janvier, le USDA a confirmé la présence de la maladie chez neuf étalons, dont quatre sont au Kentucky, trois en Indiana, un au Wisconsin et un au Texas. Le USDA a mis de l’avant un vaste programme de mesures permettant d’identifier et de  retracer tous les chevaux ayant côtoyé ces étalons infectés en sol américain, que le contact ait été direct ou par l’intermédiaire d’une insémination. D’après le USDA, environ 275 chevaux exposés auraient été retrouvés dans 38 états, mais les recherches se poursuivent activement pour retracer d’autres chevaux exposés. Pour obtenir un complément d’information, visitez ce site :  http://www.aphis.usda.gov/newsroom/hot_issues/cem/index.shtml.

De la semence congelée provenant de l’un de ces étalons a été acheminée en Ontario ainsi qu’en Alberta au cours du printemps 2008. Neuf exploitations équestres canadiennes, soit trois en Alberta et six en Ontario,  hébergeant les chevaux exposés à la maladie sont en quarantaine et les juments ayant été exposées à la maladie sont sous évaluation. Ces mesures demeureront en place  jusqu’à ce qu’il  ait été confirmé que les résultats des analyses des prélèvements de tous ces animaux sont négatifs. L’enquête qui se poursuit au Canada et aux USA pourrait donner lieu à la mise en quarantaine d’un nombre encore plus élevé d’animaux et de fermes.

La MCÉ est une maladie déclarable au Canada et aux États-Unis, ce qui signifie que tous les cas suspects doivent être déclarés à l’ACIA afin que les inspecteurs entreprennent une enquête immédiatement. La MCÉ est une maladie hautement contagieuse qui s’attaque à l’appareil reproducteur des chevaux.   Elle peut causer une infertilité temporaire chez les juments. Dans la plupart des cas, cette maladie se traite bien au moyen d'antibiotiques et de désinfectants.

La division Races et Industrie de Canada Hippique fera le point sur la situation entourant l’épizootie de MCÉ et les conditions d’importation et d’exportation au fur et à mesure de la diffusion de nouveaux renseignements. Toutes les mises à jour se trouvent au :
http://equinecanada.ca/industry/index.php?option=com_content&view=category&sectionid=100&id=232&Itemid=12&lang=fr.

Le 7 février prochain à 9 h 30, un représentant de l’ACIA commentera sur la MCÉ dans le cadre de l’Assemblée des délégués de Races et Industrie qui aura lieu lors du Congrès de Canada Hippique. Toutes les personnes intéressées pourront y assister. Le Congrès de Canada Hippique se tiendra à Ottawa et pour prendre connaissance des détails, veuillez visiter le : equinecanada.ca
 

À propos de la division Races et Industrie de Canada Hippique

La division Races et Industrie de Canada Hippique procure une structure aux membres de plus de 40 associations de races exerçant leurs activités au Canada. Cette coalition de forces agissant sous l'égide de la fédération nationale Canada Hippique met en place une tribune propice aux échanges d'informations entre Canada Hippique, les intervenants du milieu canadien, le gouvernement du Canada  et d'autres instances étrangères. La division Races et Industrie permet à l’industrie  canadienne du cheval de s’exprimer et l’aide à conserver son dynamisme, tout en  appliquant des politiques au Canada. Les organismes de races et les partenaires de l'industrie échangent des ressources et des connaissances dans la même optique, qui est celle de stimuler la rentabilité à long terme du secteur canadien du cheval et de veiller à ce qu'il demeure viable. Visitez le equinecanada.ca pour obtenir un complément d'information sur la division Races et Industrie de Canada Hippique. 

À propos de Canada Hippique

Canada Hippique est une association formée de membres, dont la mission est de représenter, promouvoir et offrir des services à  la collectivité et  l’industrie équines canadiennes. Ses sphères d’activités principales sont le sport, la santé et le bien-être du cheval, l’éducation et la sécurité, la gouvernance et le marketing, la représentation et la communication. Canada Hippique est reconnue auprès de Sport Canada, Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada, la Fédération équestre internationale, le Comité olympique canadien, et l’Association canadienne des entraîneurs, comme étant l’organisme national dirigeant les sports équestres et les intérêts équins au Canada. Pour plus de renseignements sur Canada Hippique, veuillez visiter le equinecanada.ca.





-30-