Home / Canadian Eventing Committee


Canadian Eventing Committee

EC’s governance structure recently changed due to the new By-laws implemented in September 2015 after a voting process that saw a 97% approval rate from the voting membership. The new model is the direct result of hard work, collaboration and contributions from EC staff, the EC board, volunteers, stakeholders and key partners.

As a result of the new overarching organizational structure, sport governance changes will also be rolled out for all of EC’s disciplines. As the first two disciplines to implement a new governance model, Canadian Eventing and Dressage Canada are leading the way.

Key changes to the governance model for Canadian Eventing are as follows:

  • Reduced governing layers to reorient and expedite the decision-making process around a lean, coordinated and strategic approach to sport development.
  • Sub-committees have been disbanded and replaced with one high level strategic committee, with 5-9 members appointed for their expertise and skill-sets with consideration given to diversity, including without limitation, national/international experience, technical competency in the sport, region, and linguistic balance.
  • Roles, responsibilities and accountability of staff and volunteers have been clarified to create stronger and more productive working relationships, which will result in a more meaningful and impactful volunteer and staff experience within EC.
The official committee members appointed to EC’s newly revamped Canadian Eventing Committee, based on their discipline-specific competencies and expertise, as well as their general strengths as collaborators and strategic thinkers are as follows:

Canadian Eventing Committee
Name / Hometown
Peter Gray (Committee Chair) / Orangeville, ON
Ruth Allum / Ashton, ON
Peggy Hambly / Guelph, ON
Jennifer Holling / Ocala, FL
Julie Johansson / Oliver, BC
Sue Ockendon / Knowlton, QC
Rob Stevenson / Lakeside, NB
John Rumble / Schomberg, ON
Kellie Towers / Burlington, ON