Home / News / Canadian Eventing Names Additions to the Squad for the 2011 Pan American Games

Eventing

Canadian Eventing Names Additions to the Squad for the 2011 Pan American Games | Print |

Panam-Eventing-TeamAugust 5, 2011 — Following the very successful CCI/CIC Rebecca Farm Three Day Event, in Kalispell, Montana, July 22–24th, where Canadians took top honours in four of the five international divisions, the Canadian Eventing High Performance Committee announces additions to the Canadian Eventing Squad for the Pan American Games, October 21 – 23, 2011.

The initial Squad comprised of six horse/rider combinations was named on July 12, 2011. Under the selection criteria—prior to August 31, 2011—additional rider/horse combinations could be named to the Eventing Squad for the 2011 Pan American Games by the Equine Canada/Canadian Eventing High Performance Committee Selectors.  In order to be considered by the selectors, the rider/horse combination must have achieved a Certificate of Capability for the 2011 Pan American Games and would be evaluated according to the conditions described in the criteria.  

Winning performances by Jessica Phoenix and Pavarotti and James Atkinson with Gustav at Rebecca Farm earned them positions on the Squad.

The 2011 Pan American Games eventing championship will be held at the Club Hipica and Santa Sophia Country Club in Guadalajara, Mexico.

Riders and horses currently named to the Squad (in alphabetical order) are:

 

Rider, hometown
Horse
Owner
James Atkinson, Mountain Road, MB Gustav, 1999 chestnut Oldenburg/TB Gelding Carolyn Hoffos
Hawley Bennett-Awad, Langley, BC Five O’Clock Somewhere,2001, bay,  American TB gelding Rider , Sue Church &
Kimberley Barron
Rebecca Howard, Salmon Arm, BC
Roquefort, 1998, black, KWPN /TB gelding Rider & The Fork Stables
Micheline Jordan, Ottawa, ON Irish Diamonds, 1998, bay, Canadian TB gelding Rider
Jordan McDonald, Oakville, ON Apple Cider, 1999, dark bay, Canadian KWPN /TB gelding Amanda & Jorge Bernhard
Danica Moore, Salmon Arm, BC Utah B, 2001, bay, KWPN gelding Rider
Selena O’Hanlon, Elgin, ON Foxwood High, 2003, bay, Canadian Sport Horse, gelding

John Rumbl

Jessica Phoenix , Uxbridge ON Pavarotti, 2002 bay Westphalian gelding Don J. Good

Under the selection criteria—prior to August 31, 2011—additional rider/horse combinations may be named to the Eventing Squad for the 2011 Pan American Games by the EC/CE HPC Selectors.  In order to be considered by the Selectors, the rider/horse combination must have achieved a Certificate of Capability for the 2011 Pan American Games and would be evaluated according to the conditions described in the criteria.  

For rider biographies, visit web site www.equinecanada.ca.   

The Squad will participate in a training sessions, preparatory competitions throughout the summer leading up to the final training camp which will take place in October prior to the Games. The final team of up to five rider /horse combinations and alternates will be named in late August.

The team trains under the leadership of David O’Connor, International Technical Advisor.  Eventing Chef d’équipe, Graeme Thom; stable manager, Debbie Furnas; team veterinarian, Dr. Christiana Ober; team , farrier  Randy Pawlak  will accompany and provide support to the team throughout the Games.

The Canadian Eventing Committee is grateful to Own the Podium, Sport Canada, the Canadian Olympic Committee and all of its sponsors, supporters, suppliers and friends for their continued support of the Canadian Eventing Team in its quest for excellence.

The Olympic sport of eventing encompasses three separate tests: dressage, cross-country, and show jumping held consecutively. Each test ridden by the rider and horse in combination is scored individually but added together for the final results. The rider/horse combination with the fewest number of penalty points over the three days wins the competition.  

At the 2011 Pan American Games each eligible nation may compete up to five rider/horse combinations in the team and individual competition (with the best three scores to count towards the final team classification)  Nations which are unable to field a team may send one or rider/horse combinations to compete in the individual competition.

Provisional Schedule for the Pan American Games Eventing Competition

  • Friday, October 21 - Dressage
  • Saturday, October 22 - Cross Country
  • Sunday, October 23 - Show Jumping
  • Victory Ceremony - Team and Individual

For specific times and competition details and results consult the Organizing Committee website www.guadalajara2011.org.mx or the FEI web site www.fei.org.

Accueil / Nouvelles / La formation de cavaliers de Concours complet canadien s’enrichit d’autres candidats en vue des Jeux panaméricains de 2011

Concours complet

La formation de cavaliers de Concours complet canadien s’enrichit d’autres candidats en vue des Jeux panaméricains de 2011 | Imprimer |

Le 5 août 2011 — Suite aux succès obtenus au concours complet CCI/CIC Rebecca Farm de Kalispell, Montana, (22 au 24 juillet) alors que les Canadiens ont enlevé les honneurs de quatre des cinq divisions internationales, le comité de haute performance a ajouté d’autres cavaliers à la formation de candidats en prévision des Jeux panaméricains qui se dérouleront du 21 au 23 octobre prochain.

La formation initiale comprenant six couples cheval-cavalier a été annoncée le 12 juillet dernier. En vertu des critères de sélection, d’autres couples peuvent être ajoutés à ces candidats à l’équipe des Jeux panaméricains de 2011 par les sélectionneurs du comité de haute performance et ce, avant le 31 août prochain. Afin d’être pris en considération par les sélectionneurs, le couple cheval-cavalier doit avoir réussi un certificat d’aptitude pour les Jeux panaméricains de 2011 et il sera évalué en fonction des conditions décrites dans les critères.

Jessica Phoenix et Pavarotti, et James Atkinson sur Gustav, se sont mérité une place comme candidats en raison de leurs prestations gagnantes au concours de Rebecca Farm.

Le championnat de concours complet des Jeux panaméricains de 2011 se tiendra au Club Hipica et au Santa Sophia Country Club de Guadalajara, au Mexique.

Voici la formation par ordre alphabétique :

Cavalier/cavalière et lieu de résidence Cheval
Propriétaire
James Atkinson, Mountain Road, MB Gustav, hongre Oldenburg/TBalezan né en 1999 Carolyn Hoffos
Hawley Bennett-Awad, Langley, BC Five O’Clock Somewhere, hongre TB américain bai, Né en 2001 Cavalière, Sue Church & Kimberley Barron
Rebecca Howard, Salmon Arm, BC
Roquefort, hongre KWPN/TB noir Né en 1998
Cavalière & The Fork Stables
Micheline Jordan, Ottawa, ON Irish Diamonds, hongre, TB canadien, bai, Né en 1998 Cavalière
Jordan McDonald, Oakville, ON
Apple Cider, hongre, KWPN/TB bai foncé Né en 1999
Amanda & Jorge Bemhard
Danica Moore, Salmon Arm, BC Utah B, hongre, KWPN bai Né en 2001 Cavalière
Selena O’Hanlon, Elgin, ON
Foxwood High, hongre, Cheval de sport canadien bai Né en 2003 John Rumble
Jessica Phoenix, Uxbridge, ON
Pavarotti, hongre Westphalien bai né en 2002 Don J. Good









Pour obtenir les biographies de ces athlètes, visitez le site Web suivant : www.equinecanada.ca.    

Le groupe de cavaliers participera tout l’été à des entraînements ainsi qu’à des compétitions, jusqu’à la tenue du camp d’entraînement qui se déroulera en octobre juste avant les Jeux. L’équipe finale, qui comprendra jusqu’à cinq couples et couples remplaçants sera nommée à la fin août.

L’équipe s’entraîne sous la houlette de David O’Connor, conseiller technique international. Ces personnes accompagneront et soutiendront l’équipe tout au long des Jeux : Graeme Thom, chef d’équipe en concours complet, Debbie Fumas, responsable des écuries, Dr Christiana Ober, vétérinaire de l’équipe, et Randy Pawlak, maréchal-ferrant de l’équipe.

Le comité de Concours complet canadien est reconnaissant envers À nous le podium, Sport Canada, le Comité olympique canadien, ainsi qu’envers ses supporters, commanditaires, fournisseurs et amis, qui appuient assidûment les efforts de dépassement de l’Équipe canadienne de concours complet.

Le sport olympique de concours complet comprend trois épreuves distinctes  présentées consécutivement: le dressage, le cross-country et le jumping. À l’issue des trois jours de compétition, le couple cavalier-cheval obtient un score final qui représente l’addition des trois notes attribuées. Le couple qui aura encouru le plus petit nombre de points de pénalité sera déclaré gagnant.  

Aux Jeux panaméricains de 2011 chaque nation admissible peut faire participer jusqu’à cinq couples cavalier-cheval dans la compétition  d’équipe ainsi qu’en individuel (les trois meilleurs résultats s’additionnent en vue de la classification finale). Les nations qui ne peuvent avoir une équipe peuvent faire participer un couple en individuel.

Horaire provisoire pour le concours complet lors des Jeux panaméricains

  • Vendredi 21 octobre - Dressage
  • Samedi  22 octobre - Cross-country
  • Dimanche 23 octobre - Jumping et cérémonies pour les gagnants en équipe et en Individuel

Pour obtenir plus de détails ainsi qu’un horaire plus précis et le tableau des résultats, veuillez consulter le site Web du comité organisateur suivant : www.guadalajara2011.org.mx ou le site Web de la FEI www.fei.org.