Home / News / Peter Barry Top Canadian at CCI 3* Fair Hill International Three Day Event

Eventing

Peter Barry Top Canadian at CCI 3* Fair Hill International Three Day Event | Print |
“Peter Barry of Dunham, QC was the top Canadian rider in the CCI 3* division at the Dansko Fair Hill International Three Day Event held October 14–17, 2010, in Elkon, MD, USA.” Photo credit—Shannon BrinkmanOctober 22, 2010 — Peter Barry of Dunham, QC was the top Canadian rider in the CCI 3* division at the Dansko Fair Hill International Three Day Event held October 14–17, 2010, in Elkon, MD, USA. 

Barry finished in fourth place with Kilrodan Abbott, 11-year-old Irish Sport Horse gelding owned by the rider and his wife, Susan Barry. After dressage, Barry was tied for 19th place in the large field of 45 starters on a score of 62.6. The pair were only one of two CCI 3* entries to finish on their dressage score, moving up 15 places following their picture perfect performances in both cross country and show jumping to finish in fourth place overall.
“Peter Barry of Dunham, QC was the top Canadian rider in the CCI 3* division at the Dansko Fair Hill International Three Day Event held October 14–17, 2010, in Elkon, MD, USA.” Photo credit—Shannon Brinkman
“Kilrodan Abbott started competing in the Advanced division this year, and it has been an awesome season for us. It is just a privilege to have such a great horse,” said Barry, who also finished in second place this year in CIC 3* division at Jersey Fresh with his horse earlier this year. “Fair Hill was a great event. The jumps were very well built, and the course was difficult but doable. The organizers put a lot of effort into the competition and deserve much credit for a well run weekend.”

Micheline Jordan of Ottawa, ON, rode her own Irish Diamonds, a 12-year-old Canadian Thoroughbred gelding to 14th place. Sitting in 21st place following dressage, on a score 63.4, the pair moved up to 19th position after a clear cross country round and 13.6 time faults over the Derek de Grazia designed course. Despite two rails rail and one time fault in the show jumping round the pair continued to move up the leaderboard to finish on a final score of 86 penalties

American Hannah Burnett and St. Barths won the CCI 3* division with a score of 49.4. 

Danica Moore was the top Canadian rider in the CCI 2*competition. Riding her own Utah B, a nine-year-old Dutch Warmblood gelding, Moore of Salmon Arm, BC was tied for 37th place following dressage with a score of 59.7. With 7.2 cross country time penalties and a fault-free show jumping effort, the pair finished in 15th place overall, out of 57 starters, with 66.9 penalties.

Diana Burnett finished in 17th place. Sitting in 39th position after dressage, Burnett, of Blackstock, ON, and Shigatzi, a seven-year-old Canadian Thoroughbred gelding owned by the rider and Valerie Eden, moved up the standings adding just 3.6 cross-country time faults and one rail in show jumping to their final score, finishing with 67.6.

Other Canadians completing the two star competition Shandiss Wewiora of Oakville, ON, partnered with Jorge Bernhard’s Fionn McCuhal, who finished in 20th place on a score of 71.2. Kelly List of Bracebridge, ON rode her horse Smarty Pants to a 26th place finish. In 29th place was Julie Clark of Newmarket, ON and Guinness, while Rebecca Lee of Bon Eccord, AB rode Nazrullah owned by Erin Hinchcliff to 43rd place.

Clark Montgomery of the United States and Loughan Glen won the CCI 2* division with a score of 46.1.

 
About Canadian Eventing

Canadian Eventing is the committee of Equine Canada responsible for the sport of eventing in Canada from the grassroots to the international level. The Canadian Eventing Committee is comprised of 12 members, including two rider representatives elected by the Elite Riders Association. Directed by the Strategic Plan for Eventing, all Eventing activities are administered by this committee via six sub-committees with the support of an eventing manager based at the Equine Canada office in Ottawa. For more information about Canadian Eventing, visit http://equinecanada.ca/eventing.

About Equine Canada

Equine Canada is Canada’s national governing body for equestrianism.  A member-driven, charitable institution, it is the executive branch of the Canadian Equestrian Team, and the national authority for equestrian competition; the national voice for recreational riders; and the national association for equine welfare, breeding, and industry.  Equine Canada is recognised by the Government of Canada, the International Equestrian Federation (FEI), and the Canadian Olympic Committee as the national organisation representing equestrian sport and equine interests. For more information about Equine Canada, please visit equinecanada.ca.

Accueil / Nouvelles / Peter Barry premier participant canadien au concours complet CCI 3* Fair Hill

Concours complet

Peter Barry premier participant canadien au concours complet CCI 3* Fair Hill | Imprimer |
«Peter Barry, de Dunham,  Québec, s’est distingué en tant que premier participant canadien dans la division CCI 3* du concours complet international Dansko Fair Hill. Cette compétition a eu lieu du 14 au 17 octobre à Elkon, MD.»  Photo : Shannon BrinkmanLe 22 octobre 2010 – Peter Barry, de Dunham,  Québec, s’est distingué en tant que premier participant canadien dans la division CCI 3* du concours complet international Dansko Fair Hill. Cette compétition a eu lieu du 14 au 17 octobre à Elkon, MD.

Peter Barry s’est classé quatrième, aux rênes de Kilrodan Abbott, le cheval de sport irlandais de onze ans qu’il détient en copropriété avec son épouse Susan Barry. Après le dressage, le cavalier était à égalité en 19e position (62,6) parmi les 45 partants. De ce groupe, seuls deux couples, dont Barry et son cheval, ont réussi à terminer la compétition avec leur résultat de dressage. Barry a réalisé un  parcours parfait en cross-country et un autre en jumping, ce qui lui a valu de remonter 15 échelons et de prendre la quatrième place.
«Peter Barry, de Dunham,  Québec, s’est distingué en tant que premier participant canadien dans la division CCI 3* du concours complet international Dansko Fair Hill. Cette compétition a eu lieu du 14 au 17 octobre à Elkon, MD.»  Photo : Shannon Brinkman
« Kilrodan Abbott vient de commencer à participer à la division Avancée cette année, et nous avons connu une super saison. Je me sens réellement privilégié d’avoir un aussi bon cheval », a dit Barry, qui a terminé deuxième au concours de Jersey Fresh, division CIC 3*, plus tôt cette année sur ce cheval. « Le concours de Fair Hill était formidable. Les obstacles étaient très bien érigés, et le parcours était difficile mais faisable. Les organisateurs ont fait converger leurs efforts afin d’offrir une belle compétition et ils méritent tous les éloges car ce fut un très beau week-end. »

Micheline Jordan, d’Ottawa, Ontario, montait Irish Diamonds, son pur-sang de 12 ans d’origine canadienne, et le couple s’est classé 14e. Après le dressage, ils occupaient la 21e position avec 63,4, puis ils étaient 19e à l’issue du cross-country créé par Derek de Grazia. Un parcours bien  exécuté mais qui fut taxé de 13,6 pénalités de temps. En jumping, malgré deux obstacles renversés et une pénalité de temps, ils ont réussi une autre ascension de quelques places pour terminer avec un score de 86 pénalités.   

C’est l’Américaine Hannah Burnett et St. Barths qui ont été déclarés vainqueurs de la division CCI 3* avec un résultat de 49,4. 

Danica Moore de Salmon Arm, C.-B., a été la meilleure Canadienne au niveau CCI 2*. Sur la selle de Utah B, son warmblood hollandais de neuf ans, elle était d’abord 37e ex æquo après le dressage avec un score de 59,7. En cross-country, elle a obtenu 7,2 pénalités de temps, tandis qu’elle n’enregistrait aucune faute en jumping. Moore a ainsi terminé au 15e rang sur 57 partants, avec un résultat de 66,9 pénalités. 

Diana Burnett s’est classée 17e. En 39e position après le dressage, cette cavalière de Blackstock, Ontario, et Shigatzi, un pur-sang canadien de sept ans dont elle partage la propriété avec Valerie Eden, ont repris du galon en n’ajoutant que 3,6 pénalités de temps en cross-country et quatre points en jumping. Le couple a terminé avec 67,6.

Parmi les autres participants canadiens dans la division deux-étoiles, mentionnons Shandiss Wewiora, d’Oakville, Ontario qui s’est classée 20e (71,2) sur Fionn McCuhal, le cheval de Jorge Bernhard. Kelly List, de Bracebridge, Ontario, était 26e sur son cheval Smarty Pants. En 29e position, on retrouvait Julie Clark, de Newmarket, Ontario, sur Guinness, tandis que Rebecca Lee, de Bon Accord, Alberta, prenait la 43e place sur Nazrullah, un cheval appartenant à Erin Hinchcliff.

La victoire de la division CCI 2* est allée à l’Américain Clark Montgomery qui a enregistré 46,1 sur Loughan Glen.

 
À propos de Concours complet canadien

Concours complet canadien est le comité de Canada Hippique responsable du sport de concours complet depuis le niveau de base jusqu’au sport international. Le comité Concours complet canadien comprend douze membres dont deux représentants élus par l’Association des cavaliers d’élite. Tel que le prévoit le plan stratégique du concours complet qui a été adopté, toutes les activités de concours complet  sont régies par ce comité via six sous-comités, avec le soutien de la directrice du concours complet basée dans les bureaux de Canada Hippique à Ottawa.   Pour un complément d’information au sujet des programmes et activités de Concours Complet Canadien, visitez le equinecanada.ca. Sélectionnez « disciplines » puis « concours complet ».

À propos de Canada Hippique

Canada Hippique est l’organisme national chapeautant l’hippisme. Institution caritative axée sur le service aux membres, Canada Hippique est la division administrative de l’Équipe équestre canadienne faisant autorité en concours hippique national. Elle est la voix nationale des cavaliers de loisir, l’association nationale représentant le bien-être du cheval, l’élevage et l’industrie. Canada Hippique est reconnue auprès du gouvernement du Canada, de la Fédération équestre internationale et du Comité olympique canadien en tant qu’organisme représentant les sports équestres et les intérêts équins.  Pour plus de renseignements sur Canada Hippique, veuillez visiter le equinecanada.ca.