Home / News / Inaugural Members Inducted to the Canadian Eventing Hall of Fame

Eventing

Inaugural Members Inducted to the Canadian Eventing Hall of Fame | Print |
September 18, 2009 — The Canadian Eventing Committee is pleased to announce the inaugural members of the Canadian Eventing Hall of Fame. The recipients were selected from over fifty nominations and chosen in recognition of their contributions to the development of the sport of eventing in Canada.

The inductees will be honoured at the Canadian Eventing Hall of Fame Gala Dinner which will be held November 7, 2009, at the Metropolitan Hotel, 108 Chestnut Street, Toronto, ON.

Athletes/Teams
The 1978 World Championship Gold Medal Team

With the World Equestrian Games returning to the Kentucky Horse Park in 2010, the site of the Gold Medal win for Canada, it is only fitting to acknowledge this incredible achievement.
**Team members:

Elizabeth Ashton and Sunrise
Juliet Graham and Sumatra
Mark Ishoy and Law and Order
Cathy Wedge and Abracadabra
Coach: Michael Herbert
The 1956 Olympic Bronze Medal Team
As the second team to ever compete at an Olympic Games for Canada in the eventing competition this was the first team to put Canadian Eventing onto the world stage.
**Team members:

James Elder and Colleen
Brian Herbinson and Tara
John Rumble and Cilroy
Coach: Major Anatole Pieregorodzki

** The accomplishments of both horses and riders to be recognized. 
Horses
Crusader — owned by David Wilding-Davies and Russell Smith, and ridden by David Wilding Davies, this appendix quarter horse gelding rose through the ranks of eventing winning a Gold Medal at the North American Young Riders Championships in 1985 and catapulting David onto the world stage by competing at many international competitions and being selected for World Championship and Olympic Game teams. “George,” as he was known to those around him, was an unlikely eventing star who went well beyond his days as a mountain pack horse.
 
Dial-a-dream — owned by Kelly Plitz and Doug and Carol Plitz, and ridden by Kelly Plitz, “Dreamie” as she was known throughout the event world, was a 15.3hh appendix quarter horse mare who carried her rider into the ring at many international competitions including the 1982 World Championships in Luhmuhlen, Germany, and the 1984 Olympic Games in Los Angeles, where they were the top placed Canadian both times.
Builders
Barbara Kemp — as a competitor, judge, international official in both dressage and eventing, Pony Club supporter and organizer, Barbara contributed to every aspect of equestrian sport in Canada and around the world. Perhaps her greatest achievement was to be appointed cross country course designer for the 1976 Montreal Olympic Games Three Day Event competition. She was the first and only woman to do so in history.

Ewen B “Pip” Graham — Pip Graham was a true founder of the sport in Canada, especially in Western Canada. He was an organizer, course designer, FEI Technical Delegate and participated in many International Championships and Olympic Games as Chef d’equipe of the Canadian Team. One of his finest achievements was as organizer of the Three Day Event competition at 1976 Montreal Olympic Games.

General Michael Gutowski — affectionately known as “the Colonel,” he brought to Canada the classical form of European equitation and his training principles are the foundation of the coaching system today. He was also the coach/trainer of many horse and riders that have competed for Canada at Olympic Games and other international championships.

Allister Marshall — Allister was the organizer of the Applewood Horse Trials held in the Annapolis Valley for many years and a significant part of the growth of Eventing in Eastern Canada especially the Maritime provinces.
Contributors
Joan Kendall — Joan Kendall was a tireless volunteer for the sport, one of the founding members of the Canadian Combined Training Association a tireless volunteer for the Ontario Horse Trials Association and for many years the organizer of the Caledon Horse Trials in Caledon, ON.

Jean and George Simpson — Jean and George Simpson have been supporters of the sport for over 50 years, promoting Young Riders development and contributing to the growth of the sport in British Columbia.  Their BC Supporters Club designed to promote eventing was unique and legendary. They were also owners for some of the country’s most successful riders whose horses have achieved some of our greatest successes.

Pam Arthur – Pam has been involved in every aspect of development of the sport in British Columbia and Western Canada. She’s been a competitor, organizer, coach, course designer, judge and steward for both the Eventing and Show Jumping disciplines.

Russell Smith – Russell Smith’s name is synonymous with the Checkmate Horse Trials and Training Centre in Feversham, ON. As an organizer, supporter and owner of many top level horses, Russell’s contributions to the sport of eventing are legendary.
Tickets for the Hall of Fame Gala dinner may be purchased through the Equine Canada office. Tickets are $225 per person $1800 for a table of 8 and $2100 for a table of 10. For a Ticket Order Form please visit equinecanada.ca and click on Disciplines then Eventing and Hall of Fame.  More information may be obtained by writing to This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .


About Canadian Eventing

Canadian Eventing is the committee of Equine Canada responsible for the sport of eventing in Canada from the grassroots to the international level. The Canadian Eventing Committee is comprised of 12 members, including two rider representatives elected by the Elite Riders Association. Directed by the Strategic Plan for Eventing, all Eventing activities are administered by this committee via six sub-committees with the support of an eventing manager based at the Equine Canada office in Ottawa. For more information about Canadian Eventing, visit www.equinecanda.ca and select disciplines then Eventing.

About Equine Canada

Equine Canada is Canada’s national governing body for equestrianism.  A member-driven, charitable institution, it is the executive branch of the Canadian Equestrian Team, and the national authority for equestrian competition; the national voice for recreational riders; and the national association for equine welfare, breeding, and industry.  Equine Canada is recognised by the Government of Canada, the International Equestrian Federation (FEI), and the Canadian Olympic Committee as the national organisation representing equestrian sport and equine interests. For more information about Equine Canada, please visit equinecanada.ca

Accueil / Nouvelles / Concours complet canadien annonce le lancement de son Panthéon équestre

Concours complet

Concours complet canadien annonce le lancement de son Panthéon équestre | Imprimer |
Le 2 octobre 2009 – Le comité de Concours complet canadien est heureux d’annoncer les noms des premiers intronisés au Panthéon équestre de Concours complet canadien. Les lauréats ont été sélectionnés parmi une cinquantaine de candidatures, en honneur à ce qu’ils ont accompli pour développer le sport de concours complet au Canada.

Ils seront intronisés dans le cadre du souper de gala du Panthéon équestre de Concours complet canadien qui aura lieu le samedi 7 novembre prochain au Metropolitan Hotel de Toronto, en Ontario.

Grâce à la générosité d’un bienfaiteur anonyme, le billet du souper de gala du Panthéon équestre se vend désormais 190$ seulement. Le prix pour une table de huit personnes a été fixé à 1 520$ et à 1 900$ pour une table de dix.

Athlètes/équipes

           L’équipe médaillée d’or des Championnats mondiaux de 1978

Avec les Jeux équestres mondiaux qui reviennent au Kentucky Horse Park en 2010, le site où le Canada s’est emparé de la médaille d’or, c’est l’occasion idéale de souligner cette réussite exceptionnelle.
**Les membres étaient :
Elizabeth Ashton et Sunrise

Juliet Graham et Sumatra

Mark Ishoy et Law and Order

Cathy Wedge et Abracadabra

Entraîneur: Michael Herbert
          L’équipe médaillée de bronze aux Jeux olympiques de 1956

En tant que seconde équipe à se produire aux Jeux olympiques pour le Canada en concours complet, elle a été la première à placer le pays sur l’échiquier international.
**Les membres étaient
James Elder et Colleen

Brian Herbinson et Tara

John Rumble et Cilroy

Entraîneur: Major Anatole Pieregorodzki
**Les réalisations des chevaux tout autant
que celles des cavaliers seront mises à l’honneur.
 
Chevaux
  • Crusader – Ce Quarter Horse appendix, propriété de David Wilding-Davies et Russell Smith, s’est taillé une place en concours complet grâce à la médaille d’or qu’il a remportée en 1985 aux Championnats nord-américains Jeunes Cavaliers sous la selle de David Wilding-Davies. Ce dernier s’est ainsi vu catapulté en concours international, ce qui lui a valu une sélection dans les équipes olympiques et de Championnats du monde.  Surnommé « George » par ses proches, il s’est distingué comme l’étoile improbable du concours complet. Il a vécu longtemps et est devenu  par la suite un cheval de randonnée en montagne.
  • Dialadream – Cette jument Quarter Horse appendix de 15 mains 3, propriété de Kelly Plitz et Doug et Carol Plitz, a servi de monture à sa cavalière Kelly Plitz lors de plusieurs concours internationaux. Surnommée « Dreamie » dans le milieu du concours complet, c’était elle qui était sous la selle de Kelly Plitz aux Championnats mondiaux de 1982 à Luhmuhlen, en Allemagne, ainsi qu’aux Jeux olympiques de 1984 à Los Angeles. À  ces deux occasions, ce couple a été le mieux classé chez les Canadiens.
Bâtisseurs
Barbara Kemp – En qualité de concurrente, juge, officiel international en dressage et en concours complet, supporter et organisatrice de poney clubs, Barbara a contribué à chaque volet du sport équestre, tant au Canada qu’ailleurs dans le monde. Sa réalisation la plus exceptionnelle a certainement été d’être choisie comme conceptrice de parcours de cross-country en concours complet aux Jeux olympiques de Montréal en 1976.  Elle a été et demeure la seule femme à avoir accompli cela dans toute l’histoire du sport.

Ewen B « PiP » Graham – Pip Graham a été le vrai fondateur du sport au Canada,  particulièrement dans l’Ouest du pays. Il était organisateur, concepteur de parcours, ainsi que délégué technique FEI.   Il a participé à plusieurs Championnats internationaux et Jeux olympiques comme Chef d’équipe de l’équipe canadienne. L’une de ses réalisations les plus marquantes a été d’être l’organisateur de la compétition de concours complet aux Jeux olympiques de Montréal en 1976.

Général Michael Gutowski – Surnommé affectueusement « le Colonel », il a apporté au Canada l’équitation classique européenne et ses principes d’entraînement ont servi à édifier la structure actuelle de formation des entraîneurs. Il a également entraîné plusieurs chevaux et cavaliers qui ont concouru pour le Canada aux Jeux olympiques et à d’autres Championnats internationaux. 

Allister Marshall – Allister a été l’organisateur de l’Applewood Horse Trials qui a eu lieu dans l’Annapolis Valley pendant plusieurs années. Il a joué un rôle majeur dans la croissance du concours complet dans l’Est du Canada, et particulièrement dans les Maritimes.
Collaborateurs
Joan Kendall – Joan Kendall était une infatigable bénévole pour le sport. Elle a été l’un des membres fondateurs du Canadian Combined Training Association, et a servi comme dévouée bénévole auprès de l’Ontario Horse Trials Association. Elle a organisé pendant nombre d’années le Caledon Horse Trials de Caledon, Ontario.

Jean et George Simpson – Jean et George Simpson ont travaillé  pour le sport pendant plus de 50 ans, aidant au développement des Jeunes Cavaliers et contribuant à la croissance du sport en Colombie-Britannique. Leur légendaire Club de supporters de C.-B. mis sur pied afin de faire la promotion du concours complet était inégalé. Ils étaient également propriétaires de  montures servant à des cavaliers parmi les plus chevronnés au Canada, chevaux qui leur ont permis d’atteindre les plus hautes marches du podium.

Pam Arthur – Pam a travaillé au développement du sport sous tous ses aspects, dans l’Ouest du Canada et particulièrement en Colombie-Britannique. Elle était concurrente, organisatrice, entraîneure, conceptrice de parcours, juge et commissaire, tant en concours complet qu’en saut d’obstacles.

Russell Smith – Le nom de Russell Smith est synonyme du concours Checkmate Horse Trials et du centre d’entraînement de Feversham, en Ontario. En tant qu’organisateur, supporter et propriétaire de plusieurs chevaux de haut niveau, l’apport de Russell au sport de concours complet est entré dans la légende.
Vous pouvez télécharger le bon de commande sur equinecanada.ca en cliquant sur « disciplines », « concours complet » et « Panthéon équestre ». Pour un complément d’information, veuillez transmettre un courriel à cette adresse : Cette adresse email est protégée contre les robots des spammeurs, vous devez activer Javascript pour la voir. .


À propos de Concours Complet Canadien

Concours Complet Canadien est le comité de Canada Hippique responsable du sport de concours complet depuis le niveau de base jusqu’au sport international. Le comité Concours Complet Canadien comprend douze membres dont deux représentants élus par l’Association des cavaliers d’élite. Tel que le prévoit le plan stratégique du concours complet qui a été adopté, toutes les activités de concours complet  sont régies par ce comité via six sous-comités, avec le soutien de la directrice du concours complet basée dans les bureaux de Canada Hippique à Ottawa.  Le programme et les athlètes de l’équipe nationale, avec à leur tête le conseiller technique international David O’Connor, sont encadrés par le comité de la haute performance. Pour un complément d’information au sujet des programmes et activités de Concours Complet Canadien, visitez  le equinecanada.ca. Sélectionnez « disciplines » puis « concours complet ».

À propos de Canada Hippique

Canada Hippique est l’organisme national chapeautant l’hippisme. Institution caritative axée sur le service aux membres, Canada Hippique est la division administrative de l’Équipe équestre canadienne faisant autorité en concours hippique national. Elle est la voix nationale des cavaliers de loisir, l’association nationale représentant le bien-être du cheval, l’élevage et l’industrie. Canada Hippique est reconnue auprès du gouvernement du Canada, de la Fédération équestre internationale et du Comité olympique canadien en tant qu’organisme représentant les sports équestres et les intérêts équins.  Pour plus de renseignements sur Canada Hippique, veuillez visiter le equinecanada.ca.