Home / News / Canada’s Nicole Parkin Wins CCI 2* at Ocala Florida International Three Day Event

Eventing

Canada’s Nicole Parkin Wins CCI 2* at Ocala Florida International Three Day Event | Print |

2012_cci_ocala_nicole_parkin_lexus_smallApril 26, 2012 —Nicole Parkin of Orangeville, ON, led the large contingent of Canadians competing at the Ocala Horse Properties International Three  Day Event in Ocala, FL, April 12-15, 2012 with a win in the CCI 2* division.

Sitting in third place after dressage on a score of 43.70, Parkin and Lexus, Gail Gendrie’s 12-year-old Hanoverian mare went on to perform a fault-free ride over the cross country course, designed by Canadian Jay Hambly, and added just one show jumping rail, for four faults to their score  moving them into the winning spot on a final score of 47.70.

“Lexus always goes as well as I can ride her,” said Parkin, who plans on competing in the CIC 3* at Jersey Fresh followed by the CCI 3* at2012_cci_ocala_nicole_parkin_lexus_web Bromont. “I have been working with Phillip Dutton on her suppleness and she has become so much more rideable. It is so exciting to win.”

Finishing in fourth place in their first CCI 2* competition was Young Rider Sable Giesler of Powassan, ON, riding her own Evil Munchkin, an 11-year-old Holsteiner gelding. Tied for 10th place following dressage with 55.30, they added only two cross country time faults to finish with a final score of 57.30. The pair were individual silver medalists at the 2011 North American Junior Championships.

Cody Sturgess of Port Perry, ON, and the rider’s own 11-year-old Canadian Thoroughbred mare, Imperial Melody, finished eighth with 68.80. Riding her own 13-year-old Canadian Sport Horse mare, Watson’s Shelbreen, Frankie Simpson, of Orangeville, ON placed in 11th place with a score of 73.60.  Kaleigh Holland of Kelowna, BC, with her own True Dynamite, a 10-year-old Thoroughbred mare, placed 13th overall. Erin MacDonald of London, ON, riding her own Tobaiz, a 10-year-old Canadian Sport Horse gelding, was 15th. Rounding out the Canadian entries in the CCI 2* division was Hilary Popiel of Carleton Place, ON, riding Grey Max, Paul Popiel’s eight-year-old Canadian Thoroughbred gelding, in 18th place.

Samantha St. Jacques originally from Vancouver, BC, now residing in Anthony, FL, was top was Canada’s top placed entry in the CCI 1* aboard Jaeda the eight-year-old Canadian Thoroughbred mare owned by Gregory Paull. The pair finished on their dressage score of 52.5, which was  good for fourth place.

Hawley Bennett-Awad of Langley, BC and Demello, Megan Lepper’s eight-year-old Oldenburg gelding, Bennett-Awad added only a rail, for four penalties, in show jumping to their dressage score of 53.10, to finish 11th with 57.10.

Right behind Bennett-Awad on the leaderboard in 12th place was Jessica Phoenix of Cannington, ON, riding her own Patras VR, an 11-year-old Canadian Trakehner gelding on a final score of 58.70. In 14th spot was Canadian Lesley Grant-Law riding What Law, the rider’s own seven-year-old Irish Sport Horse gelding.

Other Canadians completing the CCI 1* division within the top thirty include Stephanie Hodge and Pen Pal (17th), April Simmonds and Impressively Done (19th), Phoenix and A Little Romance (22nd), Parkin and Shotgun Express (26th).

Robin Walker, of the United States, claimed the CCI 1* win aboard Someday Never Comes.

The next stops on the Canadian eventing calendar are the CCI 4* Rolex Kentucky Three Day Event April 26-29 in Lexington, KY; the CCI/CIC 3 Jersey Fresh Three Day Event May 10-13 in Allentown, NJ; and the CCI/CIC Bromont Three Day Event June 7–10 in Bromont, QC.

Accueil / Nouvelles / Concours complet : Nicole Parkin remporte une victoire au CCI 2* d’Ocala

Concours complet

Concours complet : Nicole Parkin remporte une victoire au CCI 2* d’Ocala | Imprimer |

2012_cci_ocala_nicole_parkin_lexus_smallLe 27 avril 2012 — À la conclusion de la division CCI 2* du  concours complet d’Ocala (Ocala Horse Properties International Three Day Event) qui se déroulait du 12 au 15 avril,  Nicole Parkin (Orangeville, ON) avait enregistré le meilleur résultat, se positionnant en tête de l’imposante délégation canadienne à ce concours.

Troisièmes après le dressage (43,70), Parkin et Lexus, la jument Hanovrienne de douze ans de Gail Gendrie, ont franchi à la perfection le parcours de cross-country créé par le Canadien Jay Hambly. En saut d’obstacles, une barre renversée leur a coûté quatre points, mais la victoire leur était quand même assurée grâce à une note cumulative de 47,70.

« Lorsque je la monte bien, Lexus est parfaite », a dit la cavalière, qui participera bientôt au CIC 3* Jersey Fresh, puis au2012_cci_ocala_nicole_parkin_lexus_web CCI 3* de Bromont. « J’ai suivi les conseils que Phillip Dutton m’a donnés pour l’assouplir et elle est devenue bien plus facile à monter.  Il est tellement excitant de gagner. »

Sable Giesler (Powassan, ON) et Evil Munchkin, son Holsteiner de onze ans, se sont classés quatrièmes dans cette épreuve – leur première participation à un CCI 2*. À égalité en 10e position après le dressage (55,30), ils n’ont ajouté que deux pénalités de temps en cross-country pour terminer avec 57,30. Rappelons que ce couple a été médaillé d’argent en Junior individuel lors de l’édition 2011 des Championnats nord-américains pour Juniors et Jeunes cavaliers. Giesler a rejoint les rangs des Jeunes cavaliers.

Cody Sturgess (Port Perry, ON) et sa jument pur-sang canadienne de onze ans, Imperial Melody, ont pris la huitième place avec 68,80. En selle sur sa jument de sport canadienne de 13 ans, Watson’s Shelbreen, Frankie Simpson (Orangeville, ON), a obtenu une onzième place avec 73,60. Kaleigh Holland (Kelowna, C.-B.) et True Dynamite, une pur-sang de dix ans, se sont classés 13e. Erin MacDonald (London, ON) et Tobaiz, un cheval de sport canadien de dix ans, étaient 15e. Hilary Popiel (Carleton Place, ON) et Grey Max, le pur-sang canadien de huit ans de Paul Popiel fermaient les rangs du contingent canadien en 18e position de ce CCI 2*.

Originaire de Vancouver, C.-B., et vivant désormais à Anthony, FL, Samantha St. Jacques a été la meilleure participante canadienne dans la division CCI 1*. À bord de Jaeda, la pur-sang canadienne de huit ans de Gregory Paull, elle a terminé sur sa note de dressage de 52,5, ce qui lui a valu la quatrième place.

Hawley Bennett-Awad (Langley, C.-B.) et Demello, l’Oldenburg de huit ans de Megan Lepper, n’ont ajouté que quatre points encourus en jumping, à leur note de dressage de 53,10, pour terminer onzièmes avec 57,10.

Tout juste un échelon plus bas on retrouvait Jessica Phoenix (Cannington, ON) sur Patras VR, son Trakehner canadien de onze ans qui se sont classés 12e avec 58,70 tandis que Lesley Grant-Law et What Law, son cheval de sport irlandais de sept ans, prenaient la 14e place.

Parmi les autres concurrents Canadiens classés au top 30 du CCI 1*, mentionnons Stephanie Hodge et Pen Pal (17e), April Simmonds et Impressively Done (19e), Phoenix et A Little Romance (22e), Parkin et Shotgun Express (26e).

C’est Robin Walker des États-Unis qui a remporté la division CCI 1* sur Someday Never Comes.

La prochaine étape inscrite au calendrier canadien du concours complet est le CCI 4* Rolex Kentucky (26 au 29 avril, Lexington, KY), qui sera suivi du CCI/CIC 3* Jersey Fresh (10 au 13 mai, Allentown, NJ) et du CCI/CIC Bromont (7 au 10 juin, Bromont, QC).