Home / News / Canadian Dressage Talent Set to Represent Canada at the 2008 NAJYRC

Dressage

Canadian Dressage Talent Set to Represent Canada at the 2008 NAJYRC | Print |
July 9, 2008 — Dressage Canada is pleased to announce the teams and individuals that will represent Canada at the 2008 North American Junior and Young Riders’ Championships (NAJYRC), to be held at The Colorado Horse Park in Parker, CO, July 29–August 3, 2008.

Teams and Individuals were selected by the 2008 NAJYRC Dressage Selection Committee based on qualification scores submitted as outlined in the 2008 criteria.

The 2008 NAJYRC Dressage Selection Committee is comprised of Chair, Christina Duncan; FEI Rider Representative, Pia Fortmuller; 2008 Youth High Performance Committee Designate, Ali Buchanan; Equine Canada Senior dressage judge, Jacquie Oldham; and FEI Veterinarian, Jennifer Miller.

“We are very encouraged to see the growth and interest in dressage across Canada. This trend is demonstrated by the high level of competition in both the FEI Young Rider and FEI Junior divisions. This development bodes well for the future of the sport in Canada," remarked Christina Duncan, Chair of the Dressage Canada Selection Committee for NAJYRC.  "The Young Rider and Junior teams and individual competitors represent a cross section of the sport within Canada, and on behalf of the committee, I would like to wish success to all the riders."

The following Young Riders’ have been selected based on qualification scores submitted:
 
Ontario Team
Rider
Hometown Horse
Jaimie Holland
Caledon, ON 
Fleurina
Amy Jager Puslinch, ON
Jive
Jade Deter  Kemptville, ON
Mastermind
Danielle McKinnon  Aurora, ON
Noma Tender
     
 Young Rider Individuals
Rhiannon Williams Red Deer, AB
Rock Star
Brittany Fraser  New Glasgow, NS
Furio

The following Junior Riders’ have been selected based on qualification scores submitted:
 
 Canada West Team
 Rider Hometown
Horse
Devon Luca Pitt Meadows, BC
Jyl Sander
Sara Regehr  Vernon, BC
Danika
Erin Gibson  Errington, BC
Kaden
Ariana Chia  Winnipeg, MB 
Marzipan
     
 Junior Individual Riders
Megan Lane  Collingwood, ON
Dolany 
Alex Dvorak  Hillsburgh, ON 
Fling 

This will mark the third time that an FEI Junior Championship is being held in conjunction with an FEI Young Rider Championship and has proven to make for an exciting competition.

Successful international Canadian dressage rider at the Prix St. Georges and Intermediaire I levels, Lisa Von Martels, will accompany the Canadian contingent as the Chef d’équipe. Von Martels, of Ridgetown, ON, is a current member of the Dressage Canada High performance Committee and was a former member of the Dressage Canada Committee.

Canadian Dressage riders have historically enjoyed immense success over the years including the 2007 edition of the NAJYRC, held in Lexington, VA. Canada’s Junior Dressage Team—comprised of Jade Deter of Kemptville, ON, Jaimie Holland of Caledon, ON, Sara Regehr of Vernon, BC, and Lindsay Seidel-Wassenaar of Bluffton, AB—won the Team Gold Medal. Deter then went on to make history when she became the first Canadian rider to win three gold medals at the same Championships.

In the 2007 edition of the NAJYRC, Canada won Team Gold and 2 Individual Gold in the FEI Junior Division while the FEI Young Rider division saw Canadian riders continue their domination of the standings by claiming Gold, two Silver and bronze medals. 

For many competitors, the NAJYRC is their first experience riding on a team, as well as their first time competing under the rules of the Fédération Equestre Internationale (FEI), the international governing body for equestrian sport. Many athletes on Canada’s senior roster have been past competitors of these championships. The NAYRC began in 1974 as an eventing challenge between the United States and Canada. A Dressage Championship was added in 1981, and Show Jumping debuted in 1982. The first complete NAYRC was held in British Columbia, Canada in 1982. The FEI Junior Dressage division was added to the program for the first time in 2005. Tempel Farms has hosted the Championship more than any other location, 13 times since 1985.

For more information on NAJYRC, please visit www.youngriders.org.

About Dressage Canada

Dressage Canada, as a committee of Equine Canada, is the National governing body for Dressage in Canada. Dressage Canada's objective is to foster the growth of Dressage and the pursuit of excellence in the sport at the local, national and international levels. Dressage Canada provides support and guidance to both amateur and professional through the following programs: coaching education and programs, officials’ education and programs, rules & qualifying criteria, sport development, publications & awards. For more information about Dressage Canada, please visit the Dressage section of the Equine Canada site.

Accueil / Nouvelles / Les jeunes talents canadiens prêts à représenter le Canada en dressage lors des CNAJJC

Dressage

Les jeunes talents canadiens prêts à représenter le Canada en dressage lors des CNAJJC | Imprimer |
Le 9 juillet 2008 – Dressage Canada a le plaisir de dévoiler les noms des athlètes qui représenteront le Canada en dressage, tant en équipe qu’en individuel, aux Championnats nord-américains pour Juniors et Jeunes Cavaliers (CNAJJC). La compétition se tiendra du 29 juillet au 3 août au Colorado Horse Park de Parker, au Colorado.

Le comité de sélection des CNAJJC pour le sport de dressage a procédé à la sélection des  équipes et des cavaliers en compétition individuelle selon les résultats de qualification qui lui ont été présentés conformément aux exigences définies dans les critères.  

Le comité de sélection du dressage pour les CNAJJC de 2008 est formé de Christina Duncan,  présidente, Pia Fortmuller, représentante des cavaliers FEI, Ali Buchanan, personne désignée par le comité de haute performance Jeunes 2008, Jacquie Oldham, juge de dressage senior de Canada Hippique, et de la vétérinaire FEI, Jennifer Miller.

« Partout au Canada, nous voyons un intérêt marqué pour le dressage. Nous sommes très encouragés par cette croissance, car il s’agit d’une tendance qui rehausse le niveau de compétition chez les Juniors et les Jeunes Cavaliers. Nous pouvons entrevoir un bel avenir pour ce sport au Canada », a souligné Christina Duncan, présidente du comité de sélection du dressage pour les CNAJJC. « Les équipes Juniors et Jeunes Cavaliers, ainsi que les cavaliers participant en individuel, sont au carrefour du sport à l’échelle canadienne. Au nom du comité, je leur souhaite une brillante réussite à cette occasion importante. »  

Les Jeunes Cavaliers suivants ont été sélectionnés selon les résultats de qualifications soumis :
 
Équipe de l’Ontario
Cavalier Lieu de résidence Cheval
Jaimie Holland
Caledon, ON 
Fleurina
Amy Jager Puslinch, ON
Jive
Jade Deter  Kemptville, ON
Mastermind
Danielle McKinnon  Aurora, ON
Noma Tender
     
Individuels
Rhiannon Williams Red Deer, AB
Rock Star
Brittany Fraser  New Glasgow, N.-É.
Furio

Les Juniors suivants ont été sélectionnés selon les résultats de qualifications soumis :
 
Équipe ouest-canadienne
 Cavalier Lieu de résidence Cheval
Devon Luca Pitt Meadows, C.-B.
Jyl Sander
Sara Regehr  Vernon, C.-B.
Danika
Erin Gibson  Errington, C.-B.
Kaden
Ariana Chia  Winnipeg, MB 
Marzipan
     
Individuels
Megan Lane  Collingwood, ON
Dolany 
Alex Dvorak  Hillsburgh, ON 
Fling 

Il s’agit de la troisième fois qu’un championnat Junior FEI se tient concurremment à celui pour Jeunes Cavaliers FEI, ce qui contribue à rendre la compétition doublement excitante.

C’est Lisa Von Martels, une excellente cavalière canadienne de dressage aux niveaux internationaux Prix St-Georges et Intermédiaire I,  qui accompagnera le contingent canadien en qualité de chef d’équipe. Von Martels vit à Ridgetown, en Ontario, et elle fait actuellement partie du comité haute performance de Dressage Canada, après avoir été membre du conseil d’administration de Dressage Canada.

Les cavalières canadiennes de dressage obtiennent depuis bon nombre d’années un succès retentissant à cette compétition, et particulièrement lors de l’édition 2007 des CNAJJC, qui a eu lieu à Lexington, VA, alors que l’équipe canadienne junior, formée de Jade Deter (Kemptville, Ontario), Jaimie Holland (Caledon, Ontario), Sara Regehr (Vernon, Colombie-Britannique) et Lindsay Seidel-Wassenaar (Bluffton, Alberta) remportait la médaille d’or. Deter  a ensuite écrit une page d’histoire en devenant la seule cavalière canadienne à avoir récolté trois médailles d’or lors des mêmes championnats.     

L’an dernier aux CNAJJC, le Canada a gagné deux  médailles d’or par équipe et deux médailles d’or en individuel, au niveau Junior FEI. Dans la division Jeunes Cavaliers FEI, les Canadiennes étaient encore une fois en tête du classement avec des médailles d’or, d’argent et de bronze.

Plusieurs concurrents font leurs premières armes en compétition par équipe lors des CNAJJC. C’est aussi la première fois qu’ils sont soumis aux règlements de la Fédération équestre internationale (la FEI),  l’organisme régissant les sports équestres sur la scène internationale. La plupart des grands noms du dressage au Canada sont passés par ces championnats qui, en 1974, ont débuté en tant que défi Canada-États-Unis dans le sport de concours complet. Un championnat de dressage fut ajouté en 1981, et le saut d’obstacles a fait son entrée en 1982. La formule des CNAJC comprenant les trois sports a été inaugurée en Colombie-Britannique en 1982, tandis que la division pour Juniors venait s’y greffer en 2005. C’est Tempel Farms qui a accueilli le plus souvent cette compétition, soit 13 fois depuis 1985.  

Pour obtenir un complément d’informations sur les CNAJJC, visitez le www.youngriders.org.

 
À propos de Dressage Canada
 
Dressage Canada est un comité de Canada Hippique. A titre d’organisme directeur du sport de dressage au Canada, son objectif  est de favoriser la croissance du dressage et la poursuite de l’excellence  aux niveaux local, national et international. Dressage Canada assure soutien et conseil tant à l’amateur qu’au professionnel, par le biais de programmes comme la formation et le perfectionnement des entraîneurs, la formation et le perfectionnement des officiels, la définition des règlements et  critères de qualification, l’avancement du sport, le développement de publications et la remise de prix. Pour obtenir un complément d’information sur Dressage Canada, veuillez visiter la section dressage du site de Canada Hippique.