Home / News / Tina Busse-Irwin Dances to Double Victories at CDI Blainville

Dressage

Tina Busse-Irwin Dances to Double Victories at CDI Blainville | Print |
Tina Busse-Irwin and Amicelli (Cealy Tetley Photo) July 8, 2008 — Tina Busse-Irwin of Lakefield, ON, earned a double victory in Quebec, winning the Grand Prix on June 26, and the Grand Prix Freestyle on June 28, at the CDI-W Blainville International Classic, held at the Blainville Equestrian Park in Blainville, QC, June 25 to 28, 2008.

During the grand finale of the competition, Busse-Irwin, riding Amicelli, a 12-year-old Holsteiner gelding owned by her mother, Ute Busse, and Wendy Beresford, danced to victory with a her Freestyle choreographed to hit music from Tina Turner and Lionel Richie. The pair received a score of 68.900%. Second place went to Simone Williams of Navan, ON, and Wunder Ein (Wolkenstein II x Maat), William’s 10-year-old Hanoverian gelding. Cindy Ishoy, 1988 Olympic Bronze Medalist, of Lynden, ON, finished in third place, with a score of 65.200%, in the Freestyle with Dread Response (Donnerschlag x Rosenkavalier), an 11-year-old Rheinlander gelding by owned by Joseph Saul.

“I was thrilled with Amicelli. He was really attentive during the freestyle,” noted Busse-Irwin, who has ridden and trained Amicelli since he was a four-year-old. “He really showed off his piaffe and passage.” Tina Busse-Irwin and Amicelli (Cealy Tetley Photo)

Busse-Irwin also earned the top score for during the Grand Prix competition with a score of 64.542%.

In the Advanced Division, the Intermediaire I Freestyle was won by 2004 Olympian Belinda Trussell of Stouffville, ON, with a score of 71.150%. Trussell, who won the same class in last week’s competition, was riding the eight-year-old German-bred gelding Anton (Antaeus x Melit), owned by Robyn Eames, to music from the soundtrack of the Bee Movie.

“I was absolutely thrilled with his performance because he handled the electric environment and the fantastic, enthusiastic Blainville crowd really well,” noted Trussell. “He is in his first year at this level, and I am really pleased with him. I have high hopes for him in the future.”

Gina Smith, of Brockville, ON, also a member of Canada’s Bronze Medal winning 1988 Olympic Dressage Team, finished in second place in the Intermediaire I Freestyle with Frappuccino, a nine-year-old Westphalian gelding owned by Smith and Faith Berghuis, with a score of 66.950%. Lee Tubman of Dunnville, ON, followed close behind in third place, with 66.500%, aboard the seven-year-old Hanoverian mare De La Rosa (De Niro x Rohdiamant) owned by Ducat Developments. Fourth place went to Tom Dvorak of Hillsburg, ON, and Corrigan (Cordobes I x Grosso Z), an eight-year-old Westphalian gelding owned by Karen Thompson-Harry, with a score of 65.250%.

Julie Watchorn of Schomberg, ON, and her mare Quintesse (Latano x Fernando), a 15-year-old Begian Warmblood, handily won the Intermediaire I class with a score of 66.083%. Second place went to Trussell and Anton with 65.667%, while Smith and Frappuccino earned 64.833%, for third place. Gary Vander Ploeg of King City, ON, and Degas (Donner Hall x Pring Miro), an 11-year-old Oldenburg gelding owned by Jean Vander Ploeg, placed fourth with 64.250%. Rounding out the top five was Tubman and De La Rosa with a score of 64.167%.

The Prix St. Georges class was won by Trussell and Anton with a score of 67.667%, followed by Watchorn and Quintesse in second place with 65.583%. In third place with 64.750%, was Bonny Bonnello of Calgary, AB, and Pikardi (Point Maker x Daimont), an 11-year-old Oldenburg gelding owned by Bonnello and Jean Bell. Vander Ploeg and Degas finished in fourth with 64.750%.

The competition also showcased some of Canada’s best young talent, both human and equine. With CDI-W Blainville International Classic being the final opportunity for riders to qualify for the 2008 North American Junior/Young Riders' Championship (NAJYRC) to be held in The Colorado Horse Park in Parker, CO, this August, the Young Rider division was hotly contested. In the FEI Young Rider Freestyle, Jessica Rhinelander of St. John's, NL, and Allende, a 13-year-old Danish Warmblood gelding owned by Andrea Rhinelander, won with a score of 66.667%. Second place went to Jamie Holland of Caledon, ON, and her horse Fleurina (Florestan x Nouveau Roi), a 10-year-old Westphalian mare, with 65.750%. Annie-Pier Venne of Charlemagne, QC, and her horse Step Up, a 12-year-old Westphalian stallion picked up third place with 65.500%. Holland won the Young Rider Individual test with Fleurina with a score of 65.417%. Second went to Amy Jager of Puslinch, ON, with Jive, a 17-year-old Dutch Warmblood by Ulft. Third place went to Venne and Step Up. Jager and Jive won the Young Rider Team Test with a score of 67.037%. Venne and Step Up finished in second. Third place went to Rhinelander and Allende.

Tina Busse-Irwin and Anton (Cealy Tetley Photo) The results were identical for FEI Junior Freestyle and Individual tests. First place went to Alexandra Dvorak of Hillsburgh, ON, aboard her eight-year-old Westphalian gelding, Fling. Alexandra Dvorak scored 70.083% in the Freestyle test and 66.583% in the Individual test. Ariana Chia of Winnipeg, MB, finished in second place with Marzipan, an 11-year-old Hanoverian stallion owned by Susan Nash. Chia scored 68.167% in the Freestyle and 65.417% in the Individual test. Megan Lane of Collingwood, ON, and Dolany finished third in both classes, receiving a 66.833% in the Freestyle. Lane and Dolany won the FEI Junior Team test. Second place went to Chia and Marzipan.

In the FEI Pony Division, Vivian Cornell of Kingston, ON, won the Freestyle aboard Faith Berghuis’ Daylight with a score of 66.750%. Noemie Gagnon-Bergeron of Kanata, ON, and Crown Royal finished in second place in all the tests in the FEI Pony Division. Julie Channell of Boucherville, QC, and Ronja won the Individual test and Mathilde Blaise-Tetrault and Miss Honey Church won the Team test.

In the FEI Young Horse Five-Year-Old Division, Harma Germs of Montague, PE, rode her Dutch Warmblood mare, Whiscalina, to a win in the Preliminary class with a score of 76%. Second place went to Neil MacIntosh and Evi Strasser’s Right Tyme with a score of 71.40%. Faberge, a Westphalian gelding owned and ridden by Brittany Fraser finished third with 68.200%. MacIntosh and Right Tyme won the Finale Test with a score of 77%, while Fraser and Faberge finished second with 73.800%. Dark Dandy, Ashley Phipps’ Hanoverian gelding, finished in third with 70%.

Tom Dvorak and Freixenet won FEI Young Horse Six-Year-Old Preliminary class with a score of 71.800%. Royal T and Francine Bell of Vercheres, QC, finished in second with 70.800%. Third place went to Williams and Da Vinci with a score of 66.800%. Williams and Da Vinci won the Finale Test with a score of 72.400%, and Tom Dvorak and Freixenet placed second with 72.200%.

The international judging panel included Trond Asmyr (FEI I—NOR), Jane Weatherwax (FEI I—USA), Bernard Maurel (FEI O— FRA), Marian Cunningham (FEI I—PER), Jacques Van Daele (FEI I—BEL), Lorraine MacDonald (FEI I—CAN) and Peter Engel (FEI I—GER).


About Dressage Canada

Dressage Canada, as a committee of Equine Canada, is the National governing body for Dressage in Canada. Dressage Canada's objective is to foster the growth of Dressage and the pursuit of excellence in the sport at the local, national and international levels. Dressage Canada provides support and guidance to both amateur and professional through the following programs: coaching education and programs, officials’ education and programs, rules & qualifying criteria, sport development, publications & awards. For more information about Dressage Canada, please visit the Dressage section of the Equine Canada site.

Accueil / Nouvelles / Deux victoires pour Tina Busse-Irwin au concours CDI de Blainville

Dressage

Deux victoires pour Tina Busse-Irwin au concours CDI de Blainville | Imprimer |
Tina Busse-Irwin et Amicelli (par : Cealy Tetley)Le 8 juillet 2008 – Tina Busse-Irwin (Lakefield, Ontario) s’est mérité une double victoire à la Classique internationale de Blainville, un concours  CDI-W qui se tenait au Parc équestre de Blainville, du 25 au 28 juin dernier. Le 26, la cavalière a gagné le Grand prix et le 28, elle a récolté le ruban rouge de la reprise libre de ce niveau. 

Au cours de la soirée de clôture, sa reprise libre, exécutée au son des succès de Tina Turner et Lionel Ritchie, en partenariat avec Amicelli, l’Holsteiner de 12 ans appartenant à sa mère, Ute Busse, ainsi qu’à Wendy Beresford, lui a valu de monter sur la première marche du podium. Le couple a obtenu 68,900 %. La seconde place est allée à Simone Williams (Navan, Ontario) et Wunder Ein (Wolkenstein II x Maat), son Hanovrien de 10 ans. La médaillée de bronze des Jeux olympiques de 1988, Cindy Ishoy (Lynden, Ontario), a terminé troisième avec une note de 65,200 % dans cette épreuve, sur Dread Response (Donnerschlag x Rosenkavalier), un Rheinlander de onze ans appartenant à Joseph Saul.
                                                                                 Tina Busse-Irwin et Amicelli (par : Cealy Tetley)
« Je suis ravie de la performance d’Amicelli. Il était très attentif au cours de la reprise libre », a mentionné Busse-Irwin qui monte et dresse ce cheval depuis qu’il est âgé de quatre ans. « Il a vraiment voulu se faire admirer au moment du piaffer et du passage. »

Busse-Irwin s’est également mérité le meilleur résultat en Grand Prix, soit 64,542 %.

Dans la division Avancé, la reprise libre d’Intermédiaire I a été remportée par la cavalière des Jeux olympiques de 2004, Belinda Trussell (Stouffville, Ontario) qui a reçu 71,150 %. Trussell, qui a remporté cette épreuve au concours de la semaine précédente, était à bord d’Anton (Antaeus x Melit), un cheval d’origine allemande de huit ans, dont Robyn Eames est propriétaire. Le couple a exécuté sa reprise libre sur la bande sonore du film Bee Movie.

« J’étais au comble de la joie après notre compétition parce qu’il s’est très bien comporté dans cette atmosphère électrisante, avec en arrière-plan la foule des fantastiques partisans de Blainville, a-t-elle dit. C’est sa première année à ce niveau et je suis très heureuse de ses progrès. Je fonde beaucoup d’espoir sur ce cheval. »

Une autre membre de l’équipe canadienne médaillée de bronze aux olympiques de 1988, Gina Smith (Brockville, Ontario), a pris la deuxième place dans la reprise libre d’Intermédiaire I sur Frappuccino, un Westphalien de neuf ans, qui lui appartient de même qu’à Faith Berghuis, avec une note de 66,950 %. Lee Tubman (Dunnville, Ontario) était troisième (66,500 %) sur la jument Hanovrienne de sept ans De La Rosa (De Niro x Rohdiamant), propriété de Ducat Developments.

C’est Tom Dvorak (Hillsburg, Ontario) qui est arrivé quatrième (65,250 %) sur Corrigan (Cordobes I x Grosso Z), un Westphalien de huit ans dont la propriétaire est Karen Thompson-Harry.

Julie Watchorn (Schomberg, Ontario) et sa jument Quintesse (Latano x Fernando), une Warmblood belge de 15 ans, se sont facilement emparées de l’Intermédiaire I avec une note de 66,083 %. La suivante était Trussell et Anton (65,667 %), tandis que Smith et Frappuccino recevaient 64,833 % ainsi que la troisième position. Gary Vander Ploeg (King City, Ontario) et Degas (Donnerhall x Pring Miro), un Oldenbourg de onze ans appartenant à Jean Vander Ploeg, se sont classés quatrièmes avec 64,250 % suivis de Tubman et De La Rosa (64,167 %).

L’épreuve  Prix St-Georges a été remportée par Trussell et Anton (67,667 %). Watchorn et Quintesse étaient deuxièmes (65,583 %)et  Bonny Bonnello (Calgary, Alberta), troisième (64,750 %) sur Pikardi (Point Maker x Daimont), l’Oldenbourg de onze ans dont elle est propriétaire avec Jean Bell. Vander Ploeg et Degas se sont classés quatrièmes (64,750 %).

La compétition était également une occasion de mettre en lumière les talents canadiens émergents, tant chez les cavaliers que les chevaux. La Classique internationale de Blainville étant l’ultime opportunité de se qualifier pour les Championnats nord-américains pour Juniors et Jeunes Cavaliers (CNAJJC) qui se tiendront en août au Colorado Horse Park (Parker, Colorado), la division Jeunes Cavaliers a été chaudement disputée. La reprise libre de  ce niveau est allée à Jessica Rhinelander (St-Jean, Terre-Neuve), qui a obtenu 66,667 % sur Allende, un Warmblood danois de 13 ans dont Andrea Rhinelander est propriétaire. Jamie Holland (Caledon, Ontario) était deuxième ( 65,750 %) sur Fleurina (Florestan x Nouveau Roi), une jument Westphalienne de dix ans. La Québécoise de Charlemagne, Annie-Pier Venne, et Step Up son étalon Westphalien de 12 ans ont pris le troisième rang avec 65,500 %. Holland a remporté la reprise JC en individuel sur Fleurina (65,417 %), Amy Jager (Puslinch, Ontario) et Jive, un Warmblood hollandais de 17 ans issu de Ulft étaient deuxièmes et Venne et Step Up, troisièmes. Jager et Jive ont été les meilleurs dans la reprise JC par équipe (67,037 %) et Venne et Step Up ont terminé deuxièmes tandis que la troisième place allait à Rhinelander et Allende.
Tina Busse-Irwin et Anton (par : Cealy Tetley)
En Junior FEI, les résultats étaient identiques dans la reprise libre et la reprise individuelle. Alexandra Dvorak (Hillsburgh, Ontario) a pris la première position sur Fling, son Westphalien de huit ans, enregistrant 70,083 % en reprise libre et 66,583 % en individuel. Ariana Chia (Winnipeg, Manitoba) était deuxième sur Marzipan, un étalon Hanovrien de onze ans appartenant à Susan Nash (68,167 % pour la reprise libre et 65,417 % pour l’individuel). Megan Lane (Collingwood, Ontario) et Dolany ont terminé troisièmes dans les deux épreuves, recevant 66,833 % en reprise libre. Lane et Dolany ont remporté l’épreuve Junior FEI par équipe et Chia et Marzipan les suivaient au second rang.

Dans la division pour Poneys FEI, Vivian Cornell (Kingston, Ontario) a été la meilleure en reprise libre sur Daylight, le cheval de Faith Berghuis, avec la marque de 66,750 %. Noémie Gagnon-Bergeron (Kanata, Ontario) et Crown Royal ont pris le deuxième rang de toutes les épreuves Poneys FEI. Julie Channell (Boucherville, Québec) et Ronja ont remporté l’individuel et pour Mathilde Blaise-Tétreault et Miss Honey Church, ce fut la victoire dans l’épreuve par équipe.

Chez les Jeunes Chevaux FEI de cinq ans, c’est Harma Germs (Montague, I.-P-.É.) qui a remporté la victoire sur sa jument Warmblood hollandaise (76 %) dans l’épreuve Préliminaire. Neil MacIntosh et Right Tyme, le cheval d’Evi Strasser était deuxième avec 71,40 %. Faberge, le  Westphalien de Brittany Fraser a terminé troisième pour sa cavalière avec 68,200 %. MacIntosh et Right Tyme ont été les meilleurs en Finale avec 77 %, tandis que Fraser et Faberge terminaient deuxièmes avec 73,800 %. Dark Dandy, l’Hanovrien d’Ashley Phipps, s’est classé troisième avec 70 %.

Tom Dvorak et Freixenet ont gagné l’épreuve Préliminaire chez les six ans (71,800 %). Royal T et Francine Bell (Verchères, Québec) étaient deuxièmes (70,800 %). Williams et Da Vinci se sont classés troisièmes  (66,800 %) pour ensuite remporter la finale (72,400 %). Tom Dvorak et Freixenet prirent la seconde position avec 72,200 %.

Le jury international comprenait Trond Asmyr (FEI I—NOR), Jane Weatherwax (FEI I—É.-U.), Bernard Maurel (FEI O— FRA), Marian Cunningham (FEI I—PER), Jacques Van Daele (FEI I—BEL), Lorraine MacDonald (FEI I—CAN) et Peter Engel (FEI I—ALL).


À propos de Dressage Canada
 
Dressage Canada est un comité de Canada Hippique. A titre d’organisme directeur du sport de dressage au Canada, son objectif  est de favoriser la croissance du dressage et la poursuite de l’excellence  aux niveaux local, national et international. Dressage Canada assure soutien et conseil tant à l’amateur qu’au professionnel, par le biais de programmes comme la formation et le perfectionnement des entraîneurs, la formation et le perfectionnement des officiels, la définition des règlements et  critères de qualification, l’avancement du sport, le développement de publications et la remise de prix. Pour obtenir un complément d’information sur Dressage Canada, veuillez visiter la section dressage du site de Canada Hippique.