Home / News / Diane Creech and Devon L Win Prix St. Georges & Intermediaire I at Paxton CDI3*

Dressage

Diane Creech and Devon L Win Prix St. Georges & Intermediaire I at Paxton CDI3* | Print |
Diane Creech - PAN AM 07' (Cealy Tetley Photo)May 20, 2008 — Canadian riders dominated the Advanced division at the Paxton Spring Classic CDI3* held May 9–11 in Ohio, USA.

The winning streak kicked off with the Prix St Georges class where Diane Creech rode to victory with Devon L, Douglas Leatherdale’s eight-year-old Hanoverian gelding sired by De Niro, scoring 68.650%. Fellow Canadian rider Gillian Sutherland of Unionville, ON, followed close behind in second place with 67.600%, aboard her 10-year-old Oldenburg gelding Great Tyme, sired by Granulit.Diane Creech - PAN AM 07' (Cealy Tetley Photo)

Both riders proceeded to improve upon their impressive first day performances, with Creech and Devon L winning the Intermediaire I class on a score of 70.300%. Sutherland and Great Tyme again followed closely in second position with 68.400%.

The Canadian hat trick in the Advanced division was completed when Sutherland and Great Tyme rode to first place honours in the Intermediaire I Freestyle with a score of 68.659%

The Grand Prix division saw the successful debut of Diane Creech and Wiona, owned by Doug and Louise Leatherdale. Members of the 2007 Silver medal winning Pan American Games Dressage Team, Creech and Wiona, an 11-year-old Hanoverian mare sired by Weltmeyer, earned a score of 67.250% which easily put them in third place out of 13 starters. The Grand Prix result gave Creech a score towards qualifying for the Canadian Olympic Dressage Team.

“Wiona never stops to amaze me. Our work in Germany this winter with Canadian team coach Norbert van Laak was so worth it. He is such a great trainer and we are lucky to have him as our coach,” remarked Creech, who started training Wiona when the mare was first imported from Germany as a three-year-old. “Riding down the centre line in my first Grand Prix was most exhilarating. My future goal is keeping Wiona happy, having fun with her work and establishing ourselves in the Grand Prix ring.”

Tina Busse-Irwin of Lakefield, ON, was also successful aboard Ute Busse’s 12-year-old Holsteiner gelding Amicelli, placing sixth in the Grand Prix, before finishing fourth in the Grand Prix Freestyle on a score of 65.200%.  

The international judging panel at the Paxton Spring Classic CDI3* included Canada’s Cara Whitham (FEI O), as well as Col. Axel Steiner (FEI O—USA), Lisette de Purcell (FEI I—DOM), Sarah Geikie (FEI C—USA), Jacques Van Daele (FEI I—BEL) and Gabriel Armando (FEI C—ARG).

For full results and more information, visit www.paxtonfarm.com.

About Dressage Canada

Dressage Canada, as a committee of Equine Canada, is the National governing body for Dressage in Canada. Dressage Canada's objective is to foster the growth of Dressage and the pursuit of excellence in the sport at the local, national and international levels. Dressage Canada provides support and guidance to both amateur and professional through the following programs: coaching education and programs, officials’ education and programs, rules & qualifying criteria, sport development, publications & awards. For more information about Dressage Canada, please visit the Dressage section of the Equine Canada site.

Accueil / Nouvelles / Diane Creech et Devon L remportent le Prix St-Georges et l’Intermédiaire 1 au CDI 3* de Paxton

Dressage

Diane Creech et Devon L remportent le Prix St-Georges et l’Intermédiaire 1 au CDI 3* de Paxton | Imprimer |
Diane Creech - jeux panaméricains 07' (par : Cealy Tetley)Le 20 mai 2008—Les cavalières canadiennes ont dominé la division Avancé au concours Paxton Spring Classic, un CDI 3* présenté du 9 au 11 mai en Ohio.

Tout a commencé avec la victoire de Diane Creech en Prix St-Georges. Elle montait Devon L (De Niro), l’Hanovrien de huit ans de Douglas Leatherdale, et leur note a été de 68,650 %. Sa compatriote Gillian Sutherland (Unionville, Ontario) la suivait de près en deuxième position (67,600 %) sur Great Tyme (Granulit), son Oldenbourg de dix ans.Diane Creech - jeux panaméricains 07' (par : Cealy Tetley)

Ces deux cavalières ont ensuite accédé à l’Intermédiaire 1 dans l’espoir d’améliorer leurs notes, ce qui fut accompli de belle manière. Creech et Devon  L remportaient l’épreuve avec 70,300 % tandis que Sutherland se méritait encore la seconde place sur Great Tyme, enregistrant cette fois 68,400 %.

Le Canada a eu droit à un tour du chapeau dans la division Avancé lorsque Sutherland et Great Tyme ont accédé à la première marche du podium en reprise libre d’Intermédiaire 1, avec la marque de 68,659 %.

Diane Creech et Wiona (Weltmeyer), une Hanovrienne de onze ans dont Doug et Louise Leatherdale sont propriétaires, faisaient leurs premiers pas en Grand Prix, et ce fut un début fort réussi puisqu’elles se sont classées troisièmes sur treize concurrents avec 67,250 %. Cette note en Grand Prix comptait comme résultat de qualification en vue de la sélection de l’équipe olympique de dressage. Rappelons que ce couple   faisait partie de l’équipe canadienne médaillée d’argent aux Jeux panaméricains de 2007.

« Wiona ne cessera jamais de m’étonner. Le travail que nous avons fait en Allemagne l’hiver dernier avec l’entraîneur de l’équipe canadienne, Norbert van Laak, en valait vraiment la peine. C’est un entraîneur réellement merveilleux et nous avons beaucoup de chance de l’avoir », a souligné Creech qui a commencé à dresser Wiona dès l’âge de trois ans quand elle a été importée d’Allemagne. « Le fait d’entrer dans la carrière pour exécuter mon premier Grand Prix sur elle était tout à fait exaltant. Maintenant, je vais m’employer à la garder heureuse de faire ce travail et graduellement, nous allons nous imposer en Grand Prix. »

Tina Busse-Irwin (Lakefield, Ontario) a connu du succès sur Amicelli, le Holsteiner de douze ans de Ute Busse. Ce couple a pris le sixième rang en Grand Prix et terminé quatrième en reprise libre de ce niveau avec 65,200 %.

Le jury international du Paxton Spring Classic CDI3* comprenait la Canadienne Cara Whitham  (FEI O), ainsi que le Col. Axel Steiner (FEI O—É.-U.), Lisette de Purcell (FEI I—DOM), Sarah Geikie (FEI C—É.-U.), Jacques Van Daele (FEI I—BEL) et Gabriel Armando (FEI C—ARG).

Pour un complément d’information, visitez www.paxtonfarm.com.

À propos de Dressage Canada
 
Dressage Canada est un comité de Canada Hippique. A titre d’organisme directeur du sport de dressage au Canada, son objectif  est de favoriser la croissance du dressage et la poursuite de l’excellence  aux niveaux local, national et international. Dressage Canada assure soutien et conseil tant à l’amateur qu’au professionnel, par le biais de programmes comme la formation et le perfectionnement des entraîneurs, la formation et le perfectionnement des officiels, la définition des règlements et  critères de qualification, l’avancement du sport, le développement de publications et la remise de prix. Pour obtenir un complément d’information sur Dressage Canada, veuillez visiter la section dressage du site de Canada Hippique.