Home / News / Canadian Dressage Rider Leslie Reid Competes in California

Dressage

Canadian Dressage Rider Leslie Reid Competes in California | Print |
May 6, 2008 — Canadian rider Leslie Reid competed at the Del Mar CDI3* held April 24-27, 2008, held at the Del Mar Fairgrounds in Del Mar, California.

The competition was an official qualifier for the US Olympic Selection Trials and as a result a number of top US Olympic contenders, including Olympians Debbie McDonald, Steffen Peters, Susan Blink and Leslie Morse, were seeking qualifying scores.

With 12 entries in the Grand Prix class, Reid, a Canadian Olympian from Langley, BC, rode Patricia Hatch's Orion, a 12-year-old Dutch Warmblood gelding sired by Jazz, to an eighth place finish with a score of 66.042%. The pair then earned a 65.920%, which was good for a fifth place finish, in the Grand Prix Speciale.

The last stop on the California dressage circuit for Reid and Orion again highlighted the remarkable progress Orion has made in his first year competing in the Grand Prix division in CDI competitions

“I thought it was the best test he has done,” noted Reid. “I am really blessed. He keeps getting better at each show.”

The international judging panel at Del Mar CDI3* competition included Canada’s own Elizabeth McMullen (FEI O), as well as Janine Rohr-Cicurel  (FEI I—ARG), Mary Robins (FEI C—NZL), Jane Weatherwax (FEI I—USA) and Gary Rockwell (FEI O—USA).

Also competing the same weekend in the Saumur CDI3* in Saumur, FRA, was Canadian Olympian Evi Strasser. Strasser, of St-Adele, QC, rode her young upcoming FEI horse Action Tyme, an eight-year-old Oldenburg stallion (Aktuell x Aleksander) who placed 11 out of 27 entries in the Prix St. Georges (65.350%) and 16 out of 24 entries in the Intermediaire I (65.300%). In the Grand Prix Freestyle, Strasser rode Quantum Tyme to a score of 64.680% and sixth place.

The international judging panel at Saumur CDI3* competition included Peter Engel (FEI I—GER), Karin Kruger  (FEI I—DEN), Jean-Pierre Tuloup (FEI C—FRA), Claire Bardon de Cardenal (FEI I—FRA), Evi Eisenhardt (FEI O – GER), Barnabas Mandi (FEI O – HUN), Jan Peeters (FEI O – NED) and Freddy Leyman (FEI O—BEL).

About Dressage Canada

Dressage Canada, as a committee of Equine Canada, is the National governing body for Dressage in Canada. Dressage Canada's objective is to foster the growth of Dressage and the pursuit of excellence in the sport at the local, national and international levels. Dressage Canada provides support and guidance to both amateur and professional through the following programs: coaching education and programs, officials’ education and programs, rules & qualifying criteria, sport development, publications & awards. For more information about Dressage Canada, please visit the Dressage section of the Equine Canada site.

Accueil / Nouvelles / La cavalière canadienne Leslie Reid participe à un concours de dressage californien

Dressage

La cavalière canadienne Leslie Reid participe à un concours de dressage californien | Imprimer |
Le 6 mai 2008 – La cavalière canadienne Leslie Reid a concouru en Californie du 24 au 27 avril dernier au concours de dressage CDI3* présenté sur le site de Del Mar Fairgrounds.

Le concours était une qualification officielle en vue de la sélection de l’équipe olympique des États-Unis, ce qui avait attiré une palette de cavaliers de haut calibre, dont Debbie McDonald, Steffen Peters, Susan Blinks et Leslie Morse, tous des athlètes olympiques avides de se mériter les plus hautes notes.

Leslie Reid, cavalière olympique elle aussi, faisait face à onze concurrents dans l’épreuve de Grand Prix. En selle sur Orion (Jazz), le Warmblood hollandais de douze ans de Patricia Hatch, la cavalière de Langley, C.-B., s’est classée huitième avec une note de 66,042 %, puis une autre de 65,920 % assortie de la cinquième place en Grand Prix Spécial.  

Ce dernier arrêt sur le circuit de dressage de la Californie a une fois de plus montré les progrès remarquables enregistrés par Orion en cette première année de compétition CDI  division  Grand Prix.

« Je pense qu’il s’agit de sa meilleure reprise, a-t-elle dit. Il s’améliore d’un concours à l’autre. Je nage dans le bonheur. »   

Le jury international siégeant au concours Del Mar CDI3* comprenait la Canadienne Elizabeth McMullen (FEI O), ainsi que Janine Rohr-Cicurel  (FEI I—ARG), Mary Robins (FEI C—NZL), Jane Weatherwax (FEI I—É.-U.) et Gary Rockwell (FEI O—É.-U.).

Pendant ce temps, Evi Strasser concourait en France, au CDI3* de Saumur, sur son jeune cheval prometteur Action Tyme, un étalon Oldenbourg de huit ans (Aktuell x Aleksander). La cavalière olympique de Ste-Adèle, au Québec, s’est classée onzième sur 27 participants en Prix St-Georges (65,350 %) et seizième sur 24 en Intermédiaire I (65,300 %). En reprise libre de Grand Prix, sur Quantum Tyme cette fois, Strasser a obtenu 64,680 % ainsi qu’une sixième place.

Le jury international du CDI3* de Saumur comprenait Peter Engel (FEI I—ALL), Karin Kruger  (FEI I—DAN), Jean-Pierre Tuloup (FEI C—FRA), Claire Bardon de Cardenal (FEI I—FRA), Evi Eisenhardt (FEI O – ALL), Barnabas Mandi (FEI O – HON), Jan Peeters (FEI O – P.-B.) et  Freddy Leyman (FEI O—BEL).

 
À propos de Dressage Canada
 
Dressage Canada est un comité de Canada Hippique. A titre d’organisme directeur du sport de dressage au Canada, son objectif  est de favoriser la croissance du dressage et la poursuite de l’excellence  aux niveaux local, national et international. Dressage Canada assure soutien et conseil tant à l’amateur qu’au professionnel, par le biais de programmes comme la formation et le perfectionnement des entraîneurs, la formation et le perfectionnement des officiels, la définition des règlements et  critères de qualification, l’avancement du sport, le développement de publications et la remise de prix. Pour obtenir un complément d’information sur Dressage Canada, veuillez visiter la section dressage du site de Canada Hippique.