Home / News / Faith Berghuis Named 2007 Dressage Canada Owner of the Year

Dressage

Faith Berghuis Named 2007 Dressage Canada Owner of the Year | Print |

Faith Berghuis and familyDecember 6, 2007 - Dressage Canada is pleased to announce that Faith Berghuis has been chosen as the 2007 Dressage Canada Owner of the Year.

Berghuis, the owner of Franklands Farm, has been an avid supporter of equestrian sport in Canada for many years. Owned by the Berghuis' family since the 1920s, Franklands Farm was named after her great-uncle, Frank Jones.

Running the farm for the past 25 years, Berghuis has been actively supporting dressage in Canada by starting two very prominent syndicates, The Dressage Collection Inc. and more recently The Firelight Group.

Berghuis currently co-owns the Canadian-bred Raffles, sired by Reipo, with Olympian Gina Smith of Brockville. With rider Andrea Bresee, of Uxbridge, ON, Raffles has been steadily moving up the international ranks of dressage, culminating with the duo being members of the 2007 Pan Am Games silver medal team and an overall individual placing of seventh in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

"I was so pleased that Faith was named Dressage Canada Owner of the Year.  She is very deserving of this honour as she hasFaith Berghuis and family been such a long time supporter of horses with Gina, and most recently myself with Raffles," remarked Bresee. "I enjoyed being a part of the Franklands team for the last 11 years, and I am so thankful for her support and encouragement in helping me reach my goals."

With The Dressage Collection Inc., Berghuis purchased the very talented Dutch warmblood gelding Faust, sired by Saluut, in 1993. With Smith riding, Faust represented Canada at the 1996 Olympics in Atlanta, GA.

Berghuis also owned, Fledermaus, a Dutch warmblood gelding sired by Purioso, who was also trained by Smith. The duo represented Canada at the 2000 World Cup Final. Smith and Berghuis' Dutch Warmblood Dutch Treat were members of Canada's gold medal winning team at the 1991 Pan American Games in Havana, Cuba. Smith and Berghuis currently co-own Frappuccino, a promising eight-year-old Westphalian gelding by Florestan I.

"I could say so much about Faith and her involvement," noted Smith. "It is pretty rare to have support like this for so long-not just with the great team at Franklands Farm, but all the horses."

Recently, Berghuis started another syndicate called The Firelight Group that owns two young dressage horses, Flamboyant, a four-year-old Westphalian gelding, and Delight, a six-year-old Hanoverian gelding by De Niro.

"I would have never been so involved in dressage without the enthusiasm and expertise of Gina Smith," reflected Berghuis. "Gina has been at Franklands Farm for 18 years. That kind of commitment and loyalty is unheard of in the horse industry."

Berghuis was presented with the 2007 Dressage Canada Owner of the Year award at the Dressage Canada "In Celebration of Dressage" reception held November 8th at the Royal Winter Fair in Toronto, ON.

Past winners of the Dressage Canada Owner of the Year Award include Karen Soupcoff (2003), Deryol Andrews (2004), Evi Strasser (2005) and Doug Leatherdale (2006).

About Dressage Canada

Dressage Canada is a committee of Equine Canada. As the national sport governing body, its objective is to foster the growth of dressage and the pursuit of excellence at the local, national and international levels. Dressage Canada provides support and guidance to both the amateur and professional through programs such as coaching, education and awards and is responsible for setting rules, team qualifying criteria and the education and licensing of officials. For more information about Dressage Canada, email This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it or visit us online at www.dressagecanada.org

Accueil / Nouvelles / Faith Berghuis est nommée Propriétaire de l'année par Dressage Canada

Dressage

Faith Berghuis est nommée Propriétaire de l'année par Dressage Canada | Imprimer |

La famille de Faith BerghuisLe 6 décembre 2007 - Dressage Canada est heureux d'annoncer que Faith Berghuis est la lauréate du Prix du Propriétaire de l'année.

Madame Berghuis, qui est propriétaire de Franklands Farm, soutient les sports équestres de notre pays avec un grande ferveur depuis de nombreuses années. Franklands Farm, dont la famille Berghuis s'est portée acquéreur en 1920, tient son nom du grand-oncle Frank Jones.

En charge des opérations de la ferme depuis 25 ans, madame Berghuis a montré un attachement tout particulier pour le dressage. Elle a mis sur pied deux réputés syndicats, The Dressage Collection Inc. et  The Firelight Group.

Elle possède Raffles, un cheval élevé au Canada issu de Reipo, en co-propriété avec la cavalière olympique Gina Smith (Brockville, Ontario). Guidée par sa cavalière Andrea Bresee (Uxbridge, Ontario), Raffles a accédé au rang de monture de dressage internationale admise dans l'équipe canadienne des Jeux panaméricains de 2007. À cette compétition qui se tenait à Rio de Janeiro, au Brésil, l'équipe a été médaillée d'argent et le duo s'est classé septième individuellement.

« Je suis absolument ravie que Faith reçoive la distinction de Propriétaire de l'année de Dressage Canada, a dit Bresee. Elle mérite pleinement cet honneur car elle confie ses chevaux depuis longtemps à Gina. C'est grâce à elle que je monte Raffles.   Pendant onze ans, j'ai eu le bonheur de faire partie de l'équipe Franklands. Elle m'a encouragée et soutenue et je lui serai toujours reconnaissante de m'avoir aidée à atteindre mes objectifs. »

Le syndicat The Dressage Collection Inc. de Faith Berghuis a fait l'achat en 1993 du talentueux Warmblood hollandais Faust dont le père était Saluut. Sous la selle de Gina Smith, Faust a représenté le Canada aux Jeux olympiques d'Atlanta en 1996.

Berghuis était également propriétaire de Fledermaus, un Warmblood hollandais issu de Purioso, qui avait été dressé par GinaLa famille de Faith Berghuis Smith. En 2000, ce couple a représenté le Canada en finale de Coupe du Monde.  Dutch Treat, le Warmblood hollandais de Berghuis, était la monture de Smith aux Jeux panaméricains de 1991 (La Havane, Cuba), où l'équipe canadienne a remporté une médaille d'or. Smith et Berghuis sont actuellement co-propriétaires de Frappuccino (Florestan I), un Westphalien de huit ans très prometteur.

« Je pourrais parler pendant des heures de Faith et de son profond engagement dans le sport, a souligné Smith. Il est assez rare de voir une personne s'impliquer aussi longtemps - et pas seulement au sein de la grande équipe de Franklands, mais avec beaucoup de chevaux. »

Le plus récent syndicat de Faith Berghuis se nomme The Firelight Group.  Il possède deux jeunes chevaux de dressage : Flamboyant, un Westphalien de quatre ans et Delight, un Hanovrien de six ans issu de De Niro.

« Je ne me serais jamais autant impliquée en dressage sans l'enthousiasme et la compétence de Gina Smith, a dit la lauréate. Gina est à Franklands Farm depuis 18 ans. Un tel engagement et une telle loyauté sont uniques dans le milieu du cheval. »

Le Prix du Propriétaire de l'année 2007 a été remis à Faith Berghuis à l'occasion d'une réception donnée par Dressage Canada le 8 novembre dernier au Royal Winter Fair de Toronto, Ontario.    

Le Prix du Propriétaire de l'année de Dressage Canada a déjà été décerné à : Karen Soupcoff (2003), Deryol Andrews (2004), Evi Strasser (2005) et Doug Leatherdale (2006).

À propos de Dressage Canada

Dressage Canada est un comité de Canada Hippique. A titre d'organisme directeur du sport de dressage au Canada, son objectif  est de favoriser la croissance du dressage et la poursuite de l'excellence  aux niveaux local, national et international. Dressage Canada assure soutien et conseil tant à l'amateur qu'au professionnel, par le biais de programmes comme la formation des entraîneurs, le perfectionnement et les prix d'honneur. Il est chargé de définir les règlements, les  critères de qualification des équipes, ainsi que le perfectionnement et l'accréditation des officiels. Pour obtenir un complément d'information sur Dressage Canada, communiquez par courriel à l'adresse suivante: Cette adresse email est protégée contre les robots des spammeurs, vous devez activer Javascript pour la voir. , ou visitez notre site Web: www.dressagecanada.org.