Home / News / Tom Dvorak Within Reach of Individual Medal at Pan American Games

Dressage

Tom Dvorak Within Reach of Individual Medal at Pan American Games | Print |

 2011panamgamestomdvorakvivassalierismallOctober 17, 2011 — Following the first day of individual dressage competition at the XVI Pan American Games, Tom Dvorak, 46, of Hillsburgh, ON, sits in fourth place, just over one percentage point behind third placed Marisa Featherling of the United States.

Riding Viva’s Salieri, a 10-year-old Canadian-bred Hannoverian stallion, Dvorak received a score of 73.079% in the FEI Intermediaire I test, which forms the first half of the individual medal competition.  On Sunday, October 16, Dvorak led Canada to a Team Silver medal as well as a berth for the 2012 London Olympic Games.

 

All four members of the Canadian Dressage Team contested the Intermediaire I with excellent results.  Calgary’s Crystal Kroetch, 54,2011panamgamestomdvorakvivassalieriweb rode her 10-year-old Hannoverian gelding Lymrix to a ninth place finish with a score of 71%.  The Canadian team’s youngest member, Tina Irwin, 30, of Stouffville, ON, finished close behind in tenth with a score of 70.842% riding Mary Ellen Horgan’s Winston, a 14-year-old Dutch Warmblood gelding.  Roberta Byng-Morris, 48, of Godmanchester, QC, was the Canadian rider to make the biggest leap up the leaderboard, moving from 25th in the team competition to 16th in the Intermediaire I with a score of 66.947% riding her 12-year-old Hannoverian gelding, Reiki Tyme.

The top 15 competitors from the Intermediaire I test qualify for the Individual Freestyle, after which the individual medals will be awarded.  However, as a maximum of three competitors per nation are allowed to contest the Individual Freestyle, Dvorak, Kroetch and Irwin will be Canada’s three representatives.

Delighted with his results to date with Viva’s Salieri, Dvorak is hoping for even more in the Individual Freestyle to Music on Wednesday afternoon.

“I love riding the freestyle,” said Dvorak following Monday’s competition.  “My freestyle is technically difficult and the music really suits my horse.  I’m really pleased with my horse and I know we are in the ball game, which is very exciting.”

Dvorak’s horse, Viva’s Salieri, is owned by its breeder, Augustin Walch, and his wife, Christine, who travelled to Mexico to watch their horse compete for Canada.

“I’m always very happy to see Tom with my horse,” commented Augustin Walch of Stratford, ON.  “Tom and his wife, Ellen, have always done the best for the horse since he was four years old.”

Kroetch also improved both her score and her placing from the team competition to Monday’s individual competition, and has every intention of moving even further up the standings in the Freestyle.

“My horse just gets better and better in the ring,” she said.  “I have wonderful music and a technically difficult program.  If I can keep it together with no mistakes, I believe we can still improve on our placing.”

Canadian Dressage Team Chef d’Equipe Gina Smith of Brockville, ON, and Team Technical Leader Markus Gribbe of Germany have been thrilled with the Canadian results in both the team and individual competitions.

“They have achieved exactly what we came here to do,” said Smith, a 1988 Olympic Team Bronze Medalist.  “The atmosphere among the team is wonderful.  It’s really been a pleasure to watch everyone come together and achieve these results.”

The Intermediaire Freestyle to Music, by far the most popular spectator event of the Pan Am Games Dressage competition, will commence at 3 p.m. on Wednesday, October 19, at the sold-out stadium at the Guadalajara Country Club.

The Canadian Dressage Team is assisted at the Pan American Games by Team Veterinarian Dr. Alan Manning.  The Canadian Equestrian Team is supported at the Pan American Games by Team Leader Kerri McGregor of Newmarket, ON, and Assistant Team Leader Tina Collins of Loretto, ON.

2011 Pan American Games Dressage Results - Intermediaire I – October 17, 2011

1. Steffen Peters/Weltino’s Magic (USA) – 78.079%

2. Heather Blitz/Paragon (USA) – 77.184%

3. Marisa Featherling/Big Tyme (USA) – 74.316%

4. Tom Dvorak/Viva’s Salieri (CAN) – 73.079%

5. Bernadette Pujals/Iusa Rolex (MEX) – 72.605%

9.  Crystal Kroetch/Lymrix (CAN) – 71.000%

10. Tina Irwin/Winston (CAN) – 70.842% 

16. Roberta Byng-Morris/Reiki Tyme (CAN) – 66.947%

For more information on the 2011 Pan American Games, held every four years, please visit www.guadalajara2011.org.mx.

Accueil / Nouvelles / Espoir de médaille pour Tom Dvorak aux Jeux panaméricains

Dressage

Espoir de médaille pour Tom Dvorak aux Jeux panaméricains | Imprimer |

2011panamgamestomdvorakvivassalierismallGuadalajara, Mexique, 17 octobre 2011 — Dès la première journée de la compétition de dressage en individuel aux XVIe Jeux panaméricains, Tom Dvorak (Hillsburgh, ON) a accédé à la quatrième position du classement. Seul un point et des poussières l’ont empêché d’atteindre la troisième marche du podium prise par Marisa Featherling des États-Unis. À bord de Viva’s Salieri, un étalon Hanovrien de dix ans élevé au Canada, Dvorak a reçu une note de 73,079 % dans l’épreuve d’Intermédiaire I qui constitue la première partie de la compétition pour l’obtention des médailles en individuel.  Le dimanche 16 octobre, la performance de Dvorak avait décoré l’équipe canadienne de la médaille d’argent, médaille assortie d’un laisser-passer pour les Jeux olympiques de Londres en 2012.

Les quatre membres de l’équipe canadienne de dressage ont obtenu d’excellents résultats en Intermédiaire I.2011panamgamestomdvorakvivassalieriweb Âgée de 54 ans, Crystal Kroetch (Calgary, AB) s’est classée neuvième sur Lymrix, son Hanovrien de dix ans, avec une note de 71 %. La plus jeune membre de l’équipe canadienne, Tina Irwin (Stouffville, ON), 30 ans, a pris le dixième rang avec une note de 70,842 % sur Winston, le warmblood hollandais de 14 ans de Mary Ellen Horgan. Parmi les membres de l’équipe, c’est Roberta Byng-Morris (Godmanchester, QC) qui a  fait le bond le plus spectaculaire au classement. Partie de la 25e place en compétition par équipe, elle est remontée au 16e échelon en Intermédiaire I grâce à un résultat de 66,947 %. Cette cavalière de 48 ans montait Reiki Tyme, son Hanovrien de douze ans.

Les 15 premiers concurrents au classement de l’Intermédiaire I se sont qualifiés pour la reprise libre en individuel, l’ultime épreuve qui déterminera les médaillés en individuel. Étant donné que chaque nation ne peut faire concourir que trois cavaliers en reprise libre, les trois représentants canadiens seront Dvorak, Kroetch et Irwin.

Se disant emballé des résultats qu’il a obtenus sur Viva’s Salieri, Dvorak espère faire encore mieux mercredi après-midi lorsqu’il exécutera sa reprise libre en musique.

« La reprise libre est une épreuve que j’adore », a-t-il dit lundi après la compétition. « Ma reprise libre présente des difficultés techniques et la musique convient parfaitement à mon cheval. Je suis très satisfait de lui et je sais que nous sommes dans la course, ce qui est très excitant. »

Viva’s Salieri, le cheval de Dvorak, appartient à celui qui l’a élevé, Augustin Walch, et à son épouse Christine, qui se sont rendus au Mexique pour observer  leur cheval concourir pour le Canada.

« Je suis toujours très heureux de voir Tom sur mon cheval », a commenté Augustin Walch qui vit à Stratford, ON. « Tom et son épouse Ellen ont été très dévoués envers lui et ce, depuis qu’il a quatre ans. »

Lundi, en compétition individuelle, Kroetch a elle aussi amélioré sa note et sa position au classement. Elle a maintenant la ferme intention de monter plus haut.

« Mon cheval s’améliore de jour en jour dans la carrière, dit-elle. Ma musique est superbe et mon programme est complexe, alors si je ne commets aucune faute, je crois que nous serons encore mieux classés. »

La chef d’équipe Gina Smith (Brockville, ON), tout autant que Markus Gribbe (Allemagne) qui occupe la fonction de chef technique de l’équipe de dressage, sont totalement  ravis des résultats canadiens tant en compétition par équipe qu’en individuel.

« Ils ont accompli exactement ce que l’on attendait d’eux ici », a dit Smith, qui fut médaillée de bronze par équipe aux Jeux olympiques de 1988. « L’ambiance est super parmi les membres de l’équipe. C’est un grand plaisir de les voir réunis pour faire de grandes choses. »

La reprise libre en musique d’Intermédiaire I est celle qui attirera le plus grand nombre de spectateurs aux épreuves de dressage des Jeux panaméricains. Tous les billets se sont envolés pour cet événement qui débutera à 15 heures mercredi le 19 octobre au Guadalajara Country Club.

L’équipe canadienne de dressage est assistée aux Jeux panaméricains par  le Dr Alan Manning qui agit comme vétérinaire d’équipe. L’équipe équestre canadienne des Jeux panaméricains s’est dotée du soutien de Kerri McGregor (Newmarket, ON) au poste de  responsable de l’équipe, assistée de Tina Collins (Loretto, ON).

Résultats de l’épreuve de dressage Intermédiaire I  aux Jeux panaméricains de 2011–

Le 17 octobre 2011

1.    Steffen Peters/Weltino’s Magic (É.-U.) – 78.079%

2.    Heather Blitz/Paragon (É.-U.) – 77.184%

3.    Marisa Featherling/Big Tyme (É.-U.) – 74.316%

4.    Tom Dvorak/Viva’s Salieri (CAN) – 73.079%

5.    Bernadette Pujals/Iusa Rolex (MEX) – 72.605%

9.  Crystal Kroetch/Lymrix (CAN) – 71.000%

10. Tina Irwin/Winston (CAN) – 70.842%

16. Roberta Byng-Morris/Reiki Tyme (CAN) – 66.947%

Pour obtenir un complément d’information sur les Jeux panaméricains de 2011, qui se tiennent tous les quatre ans, visitez www.guadalajara2011.org.mx.