Home / News / Monica Houweling Named Dressage Canada Red Scarf Equestrian Athlete of the Month for August

Dressage

Monica Houweling Named Dressage Canada Red Scarf Equestrian Athlete of the Month for August | Print |

September 26, 2011 — Monica Houweling of Delta, BC has been named the Dressage Canada Red Scarf Equestrian Athlete of the Month for August. 

During her third consecutive appearance at the FEI North American Junior & Young Rider Championships, held July 27–31, 2011, at the Kentucky Horse Park, in Lexington, KY, Houweling earned scores that kept her at the top of the leaderboard.

Head of the nominating committee, Angela Booth Malleau, explained that while Houweling’s achievements took place at the end of July, the committee felt compelled to award this to her for August:  “We cannot undervalue the achievements of our junior and young riders for the sake of a few days. They are the future of Canadian dressage, and we need to encourage and celebrate them.”

Houweling, 18, kicked off the competition on July 27 by scoring 65.054% in the Junior Team test riding Stentano, the 12-year-old Dutch Warmblood gelding she co-owns with her mother, Linda Houweling.

On Thursday, July 28, Houweling and Stentano won a bronze medal with their score of 66.605 in the individual Test. On the last day of competition in the Freestyle, the pair continued to top their previous day’s performance and earned 67.700% for a silver medal finish.

“We had record breaking temperatures and severe humidity to acclimatize to in such a short time and Stentano struggled with that especially in our team test so we had to really keep a close eye on him over the remainder of the show especially in our warm up,” said Houweling, who has been riding Stentano for five years. “But then not only was it the heat that we had to face but then a thunderstorm that interrupted our freestyle so that was probably one of the most stressful experiences of my competition career thus far. I still don't know how to quite describe the feeling of signaling for my music to start and then being told to dismount right then and there in the ring and to return back to the barn.”

“I feel so honoured to be chosen as the Red Scarf Equestrian Athlete of the month for August.  I have always dreamed of this but I never knew it would actually come true, so I just want to thank Red Scarf Equestrian so much for supporting riders and especially believing in the youth of the sport.”

The Dressage Canada Red Scarf Equestrian Athlete of the Month is a recognition program that celebrates the achievements of Canadian dressage riders who represent Canada in national and international competition in the FEI Pony, Children, Junior, Young Rider, Advanced, Grand Prix and Young Horse classes.

As the generous sponsor of this award, Red Scarf Equestrian will be providing Houweling with a generous gift certificate that can be used towards the purchase of elegant equestrian luggage, travel bags and accessories that are all made in Canada. For more information about Red Scarf Equestrian, please visit www.RedScarfEquestrian.ca.

Accueil / Nouvelles / Dressage Canada décerne le titre d’Athlète Red Scarf Equestrian du mois d’août à Monica Houweling

Dressage

Dressage Canada décerne le titre d’Athlète Red Scarf Equestrian du mois d’août à Monica Houweling | Imprimer |

Le septembre 26, 2011 — Dressage Canada a décerné le titre d’Athlète Red Scarf Equestrian du mois d’août à Monica Houweling, de Delta en Colombie-Britannique.

Lors de sa troisième présence consécutive aux Championnats nord-américains pour Juniors et Jeunes cavaliers de la Fédération équestre internationale (FEI), lesquels ont eu lieu du 27 au 31 juillet 2011 au Kentucky Horse Park à Lexington, Kentucky, Houweling a récolté des notes qui lui ont valu la première position parmi les meilleurs compétiteurs.

Angela Booth Malleau, chef du comité de nomination, explique que même si les réalisations de Houweling sont survenues à la fin de juillet, le comité s’est senti tenu de lui remettre ce titre pour le mois d’août : « Nous ne pouvons sous-estimer la valeur des réalisations de nos cavaliers juniors et de nos jeunes cavaliers pour seulement quelques jours. Ils sont l’avenir du dressage canadien et nous avons le devoir de les encourager et de leur rendre hommage. »

Houweling, âgée de 18 ans, a ouvert le concours du 27 juillet avec une note de 65,054 % dans la reprise junior en équipe à bord de Stentano, un hongre warmblood hollandais de 12 ans qui lui appartient en partenariat avec sa mère, Linda Houweling.

Le jeudi 28 juillet, Houweling et Stentano ont remporté la médaille de bronze avec une note de 66,605 % à la reprise en individuel. Puis, au dernier jour de la compétition en reprise libre, le couple a poursuivi sa conquête du sommet en améliorant sa performance de la veille avec une note de 67,700 %, pour rafler la médaille d’argent.

« Nous avons dû nous adapter très rapidement à des températures records et à une humidité lourde. Stentano a trouvé cette situation plutôt difficile, plus particulièrement lors de notre reprise en équipe; nous l’avons donc surveillé de très près tout le reste du concours, surtout lors de l’échauffement », souligne Houweling, qui monte Stentano depuis cinq ans. « Et nous n’avons pas seulement eu à affronter la chaleur, mais également un orage qui a forcé l’interruption de notre reprise libre.  Cette expérience a donc été l’une des plus stressante de ma carrière à ce jour.  Je ne sais toujours pas trop comment décrire mon sentiment lorsque j’ai demandé le signal de la musique pour être ensuite instruite de descendre de ma monture tout de suite après et de retourner à l’écurie. »

« Je suis très honorée d’avoir été choisie Athlète Red Scarf Equestrian du mois d’août. J’en ai toujours rêvé mais ne m’étais jamais imaginé que ce rêve se réaliserait. Alors, je désire remercier sincèrement Red Scarf Equestrian de son appui des cavaliers et, plus particulièrement, de croire aux jeunes dans notre sport. »

Le programme de reconnaissance d’Athlète Red Scarf Equestrian du mois de Dressage Canada souligne les réalisations des cavaliers canadiens de dressage qui représentent le Canada aux concours nationaux et internationaux des divisions FEI Poneys, Enfants, Juniors, Jeunes cavaliers, Avancé, Grand Prix et Jeunes chevaux.

Le programme de l’Athlète du mois de Dressage Canada est généreusement commandité par l’entreprise Red Scarf Equestrian. Red Scarf Equestrian remettra à Monica Houweling un généreux certificat-cadeau échangeable à l’achat d’élégants bagages, sacs de voyages et accessoires équestres tous fabriqués au Canada. Pour obtenir un complément d’information sur Red Scarf Equestrian, visitez le www.RedScarfEquestrian.ca.