Home / News / Dressage Canada Canadian Grand Prix Freestyle Championship Finalists Announced

Dressage

Dressage Canada Canadian Grand Prix Freestyle Championship Finalists Announced | Print |

November 5, 2007 - The inaugural Dressage Canada Grand Prix Freestyle Championships will be one of the main highlights of the Royal Horse Show, held November 2-11, 2007, as part of the Royal Agricultural Winter Fair at the Ricoh Coliseum in Toronto, ON.

Two horse-rider combinations are preparing to go head-to-head in a battle that will determine the Dressage Canada Grand Prix Freestyle Champion. As part of the featured evening performances, competitors will each perform Grand Prix Freestyle to music on Wednesday, November 7, for Round 1, and on Thursday, November 8, for Round 2 of the Championships. The results of each test will be added together to determine the overall champion and be crowned the Dressage Canada Grand Prix Freestyle Champion.

The contenders in this year's Dressage Canada Grand Prix Freestyle Championships include Jacqueline Brooks, riding Gran Gesto, and Canadian Olympian Cindy Ishoy, aboard Proton.

Brooks, of Mount Albert, ON, has had another successful Grand Prix season in 2007 with Gran Gesto, a 12-year-old Oldenburg gelding sired by Grannox and owned by Anne Welch and Brinc Ltd. The duo represented Canada at the 2007 World Cup Dressage Finals in Las Vegas in April. At the 2007 Ottawa Summer Classic CDI-W they won the Grand Prix and the Grand Prix Freestyle (71.15%). Brooks and Gran Gesto added to their red ribbon collection by winning the Grand Prix at CDI-W Blainville, QC, in addition to wins in both the Grand Prix and the Grand Prix Freestyle (72.05%) at Toronto CNE Classic CDI-W.

Two-time Olympian Cindy Ishoy and Proton, a 10-year-old Baden-Wurttemberg gelding (Patriarch x Rosenkavalier), won the Grand Prix and Grand Prix Freestyle (70.90%) at the Paxton Farm CDI3*, Cincinnatti, OH, and placed second in the Grand prix at CDI-W Blainville, QC.

At the Royal Horse Show, competitors will start with a clean slate. They will perform in front of a three-member ground jury that includes Elizabeth McMullen of Canada (FEI-O), Lorraine Stubbs of Canada (FEI-I) and Natalie Lamping of the United States (FEI-I).

In addition to the Dressage Canada Grand Prix Freestyle Championships, horse show spectators will also be treated to a special dressage demonstration each evening performed by double Olympian Ashley Holzer, and Canadian Equestrian Team shortlisted rider Gillian Sutherland.

Tickets for all Royal Horse Show performances can be purchased through Ticketmaster by visiting www.ticketmaster.ca.  For more information on the Royal Horse Show, including complete schedules, please visit www.royalfair.org.

About Dressage Canada

Dressage Canada is a committee of Equine Canada. As the national sport governing body, its objective is to foster the growth of dressage and the pursuit of excellence at the local, national and international levels. Dressage Canada provides support and guidance to both the amateur and professional through programs such as coaching, education and awards and is responsible for setting rules, team qualifying criteria and the education and licensing of officials. For more information about Dressage Canada, email This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it or visit us online at www.dressagecanada.org.

Accueil / Nouvelles / Championnat canadien des reprises libres de Grand Prix : Dressage Canada annonce les finalistes

Dressage

Championnat canadien des reprises libres de Grand Prix : Dressage Canada annonce les finalistes | Imprimer |

Le 5 novembre 2007 - Le tout premier Championnat des reprises libres de Grand Prix, un événement de Dressage Canada, sera l'un des faits saillants du Concours hippique Royal présenté du 2 au 11 novembre au Ricoh Coliseum de Toronto, Ontario, dans le cadre du Royal Winter Fair.



Deux couples cavalier-cheval convoitent le titre de champion canadien et une dure bataille se profile déjà à l'horizon. Le public pourra assister aux prestations en musique des deux couples concurrents au cours de la soirée du mercredi 7 novembre, en plus des autres activités au programme. Il s'agira de la première manche de cette compétition, tandis que la deuxième se déroulera le jeudi 8 novembre. Les résultats obtenus dans chaque manche s'additionneront et le couple ayant obtenu la note la plus élevée sera couronné par Dressage Canada comme Champion canadien en reprise libre de Grand Prix.

Les prétendants au titre sont : Jacqueline Brooks sur Gran Gesto, ainsi que la cavalière olympique  Cindy Ishoy sur Proton.     
Brooks (Mount Albert, Ontario) a connu une saison fructueuse en 2007 à bord de Gran Gesto (Grannox), l'Oldenbourg de 12 ans d'Anne Welch et Brinc Ltd. En avril, le duo a représenté le Canada en finale de Coupe du Monde à Las Vegas. Ils ont gagné le Grand Prix et la reprise libre de Grand Prix (71,15 %) à l'occasion du CDI-W Ottawa Summer Classic. Puis ils ajoutaient  d'autres rubans rouges à leur collection en étant vainqueurs du Grand Prix au CDI-W Dressage international de Blainville, au Québec, et vainqueurs du Grand Prix et de la reprise libre de Grand Prix (72,05 %), au CDI-W CNE Classic de Toronto.

Cindy Ishoy, une cavalière canadienne qui compte deux participations olympiques, sera la seconde participante sur Proton, un hongre Baden-Wurttemberg (Patriach x Rosenkavalier) de 10 ans. Elle a gagné le Grand Prix et la reprise libre de Grand Prix (70,90%) au CDI3* Paxton Farm de Cincinnatti, en Ohio, et elle s'est classée deuxième au Grand Prix du concours CDI-W de Blainville.

Au Concours hippique Royal, les partants entrent dans la carrière de dressage avec une fiche vierge. Ils s'exécuteront devant un jury composé de trois membres, soit Elizabeth McMullen (Canada - O FEI), Lorraine Macdonald (Canada - I FEI) et Natalie Lamping (États-Unis - I FEI).

En plus d'assister au championnat, les spectateurs auront droit à une démonstration spéciale de dressage qui sera présentée chaque soir par la double olympienne Ashley Holzer, et la cavalière Gillian Sutherland, membre de la liste courte de l'Équipe équestre canadienne.  

Les billets pour assister à toutes les épreuves du Concours hippique Royal sont en vente par Ticketmaster, au www.ticketmaster.ca. Pour obtenir de plus amples informations, dont le programme complet, veuillez visiter le www.royalfair.org.

À propos de Dressage Canada

Dressage Canada est un comité de Canada Hippique. A titre d'organisme directeur du sport de dressage au Canada, son objectif  est de favoriser la croissance du dressage et la poursuite de l'excellence  aux niveaux local, national et international. Dressage Canada assure soutien et conseil tant à l'amateur qu'au professionnel, par le biais de programmes comme la formation des entraîneurs, le perfectionnement et les prix d'honneur. Il est chargé de définir les règlements, les  critères de qualification des équipes, ainsi que le perfectionnement et l'accréditation des officiels. Pour obtenir un complément d'information sur Dressage Canada, communiquez par courriel à l'adresse suivante: Cette adresse email est protégée contre les robots des spammeurs, vous devez activer Javascript pour la voir. , ou visitez notre site Web: www.dressagecanada.org.