Home / News / Dressage Canada Announces 2010 European Tour Participants

Dressage

Dressage Canada Announces 2010 European Tour Participants | Print |
May 13, 2010 — The Dressage Canada European Tour Selection Committee is pleased to announce that the following rider/horse combinations have been selected to participate in the European Tour: Ashley Holzer and Pop Art, Belinda Trussell and Anton, Wendy Christoff and Pfalstaff, Shannon Dueck and Ayscha and Bonny Bonnello and Pikardi.

Toronto native and three-time Canadian Olympian Ashley Holzer won both the Grand Prix and the Grand Prix Freestyle riding Pop Art (Amsterdam x Cabochon), a 13-year-old Dutch Warmblood gelding owned by Rusty Holzer and Moreen Nicoll, at the CDI-W West Palm Beach Gold Coast Opener, held January 21–24, in West Palm Beach, FL, USA. Holzer won the Grand Prix for Freestyle test with a score of 71.489%. The duo then performed a spectacular Grand Prix Freestyle to earn 76.489% for the double victory.

At the CDI3* Winter Equestrian Festival in Wellington FL, held March 18-21, Canadian Olympian Belinda Trussell of Newmarket, ON, riding Anton, a 10-year old German-bred gelding (Antaeous x Saxony) owned by Robyn Eames, scored 70.638% to win the Grand Prix class of 30 entries. They followed up with a score of 73.900% to also win the Grand Prix Freestyle.

For the second year in a row Delta, BC, native Wendy Christoff won the Grand Prix at the CDI 3* Golden State Dressage Festival, held April 9–11, in Rancho Murieta, CA, USA. Riding Pfalstaff, her 16-year-old Hanoverian gelding sired by Palladium, Christoff scored 67.064% in the Grand Prix test and 67.250% in the Grand Prix Special test for their second victory.

At the Kentucky Cup Dressage CDI3* Lexington held at the Kentucky Horse Park in Lexington, KY, April 20–22, Canadian Olympian Bonny Bonnello of Calgary, AB, earned an impressive personal best score of 68.638% to take third place in the grand Prix test riding Pikardi (Point Maker x Daimont), a 13-year-old Canadian Warmblood gelding co-owned by Bonnello and Jean Bell. The duo then earned a second personal best with 70.292% for second place in the Grand Prix Special.

Shannon Dueck of Loxachatchee, FL, scored 66.340% in the Grand Prix test riding Ayscha, her nine-year-old Oldenburg mare by Welt Hit II, at CDI3* Winter Equestrian Festival. Dueck was also a member of the Canadian Dressage Team at the 2002 World Equestrian Games in Jerez, Spain.

“I am thrilled to be taking five great riders and horses to Europe for a tour of four top competitions: Wiesbaden, Lingen, Rotterdam and Aachen. Giving our athletes this kind of experience and exposure is key to building a medal contending team,” said Dressage Canada technical coach/advisor, Robert Dover. “Beyond this group, there are also some wonderful combinations who have chosen to remain in North America to try out, which is allowed by our selection criteria, as well as several more who are already competing in Europe.”

“All in all, I am confident that Canada will have a very strong team for the World Equestrian Games in Kentucky this fall,” added Dover.

The Canadians will be given the opportunity to show and train in Europe. The tour includes CDI4* Wiesbaden, GER, May 21 – 24; CDI4* Lingen, GER, June 4 – 6; CDIO Rotterdam, NED, June 16 – 20; and CDIO Aachen, GER, July 13 – 18, 2010. Holtzer and Pop Art will not compete at CDI4* Wiesbaden, but will join the balance of the team for CDI4* Lingen. Declared riders who are remaining in North America may also attend Cornerstone Spring into Dressage CDI3*, which will be held June 4 – 6, 2010 in Palgrave, ON; Dressage at Blainville CDI 3*, to be held June 18 – 20, 2010, in Blainville, QC; or Edmonton Gold Rush CDI3*, held July 15 - 19, 2010, in Edmonton, AB, in order to earn WEG qualifying scores.
             
The European Tour has been made possible through the Own the Podium program, a national sport technical initiative designed to help Canada’s summer and winter athletes achieve podium success at the Olympic and Paralympic Games.

For a current listing of WEG standings, please visit the Dressage Canada website at the following link: http://equinecanada.ca/index.php?option=com_docman&task=cat_view&gid=833&Itemid=371&lang=en.

 
Support Canadian Riders’ WEG Dreams

There are still a number of WEG ticket packages available. Each package contains tickets directly behind “C” for the four dressage events and are $875 (CDN) each.  For more information, visit the Dressage Canada website at equinecanada.ca/dressage and click on the “WEG 2010 Ticket Package Special” advertisement.

About Dressage Canada

Dressage Canada, as a committee of Equine Canada, is the National governing body for Dressage in Canada. Dressage Canada's objective is to foster the growth of Dressage and the pursuit of excellence in the sport at the local, national and international levels. Dressage Canada provides support and guidance to both amateurs and professionals through the following programs: coaching education and programs; officials’ education and programs; rules and qualifying criteria; sport development; and publications and awards. For more information about Dressage Canada, please visit the Dressage section of the Equine Canada site or connect with us on Twitter at www.twitter.com/dressagecanada or Facebook at http://tinyurl.com/lp8cnd

About Equine Canada

Equine Canada is Canada’s national governing body for equestrianism. A member-driven, charitable institution, it is the executive branch of the Canadian Equestrian Team, and the national authority for equestrian competition; the national voice for recreational riders; and the national association for equine welfare, breeding, and industry. Equine Canada is recognised by the Government of Canada, the International Equestrian Federation (FEI), and the Canadian Olympic Committee as the national organisation representing equestrian sport and equine interests. For more information about Equine Canada, please visit equinecanada.ca.

Accueil / Nouvelles / Dressage Canada présente les participants à la tournée européenne de 2010

Dressage

Dressage Canada présente les participants à la tournée européenne de 2010 | Imprimer |
Le 13 mai 2010 — Le comité de sélection de Dressage Canada pour la tournée européenne est heureux de présenter les couples sélectionnés. Ce sont : Ashley Holzer et Pop Art, Belinda Trussell et Anton, Wendy Christoff et Pfalstaff, Shannon Dueck et Ayscha et Bonny Bonnello et Pikardi.

Née à Toronto, Ashley Holzer est une athlète canadienne comptant trois participations olympiques. Elle a remporté l’épreuve de Grand Prix ainsi que la reprise libre de ce niveau au CDI-W West Palm Beach Gold Coast Opener, qui se déroulait du 21 au 24 janvier à West Palm Beach, Floride. Cette double victoire a eu lieu grâce à Pop Art (Amsterdam x Cabochon), le warmblood hollandais de treize ans de Rusty Holzer et Moreen Nicoll, sur lequel elle a obtenu 71,489 % au Grand Prix d’admission à la reprise libre. Le duo a ensuite exécuté une reprise libre tout à fait spectaculaire qui lui a valu une note de 76,489 %.   
Lors du CDI3* Winter Equestrian Festival de Wellington, Floride, présenté du 18 au 21 mars, l’athlète olympique canadienne Belinda Trussell (Newmarket, Ontario), a devancé 30 participants en Grand Prix, pour s’offrir une victoire avec un résultat de 70,638 %. Elle s’est aussi classée première en reprise libre avec 73,900 %. Ces exploits ont été réalisés sur Anton (Antaeous x Saxony), un hongre d’origine allemande appartenant à Robyn Eames.

Originaire de Delta, Colombie-Britannique, Wendy Christoff a remporté deux années de suite le Grand Prix du CDI3* Golden State Dressage Festival présenté à Rancho Murieta, Californie. Cette année, le concours se tenait du 9 au 11 avril et la cavalière montait Pfalstaff, son Hanovrien de seize ans issu de Palladium. Christoff a enregistré une victoire en Grand Prix avec 67,064 %  et une autre en Grand Prix Spécial avec 67,250 %. 

Au CDI3* Kentucky Cup qui se tenait du 20 au 22 avril au Kentucky Horse Park de Lexington, Bonny Bonnello (Calgary, Alberta) a inscrit un record personnel en recevant une impressionnante  note de  68,638 % ainsi que la troisième place en reprise de Grand Prix. En Grand Prix Spécial, elle réalisait un second record personnel en se classant deuxième avec la marque de 70,292 %. Bonnello était aux rênes de Pikardi (Point Maker x Daimont), un warmblood canadien de treize ans dont elle partage la propriété avec Jean Bell.

Lors du CDI3* Winter Equestrian Festival, Shannon Dueck, qui est établie à Loxachatchee, Floride, a obtenu un résultat de 66,340 % en Grand Prix sur Ayscha, sa jument Oldenbourg de neuf ans issue de Welt Hit II. Dueck a aussi fait partie de l’Équipe canadienne de dressage lors des Jeux équestres mondiaux de 2002 à Jerez, en Espagne.

« Je suis ravi d’accompagner cinq fantastiques cavalières et leur cheval en Europe pour participer à quatre concours, soit ceux de Wiesbaden, Lingen, Rotterdam et Aix-la-Chapelle. Pour qu’une équipe puisse prétendre aux médailles, il est crucial que ses athlètes bénéficient de l’expérience de la compétition dans ce milieu », a déclaré le conseiller technique et entraîneur de Dressage Canada, Robert Dover. « À part ce groupe, il y a d’autres magnifiques couples qui ont choisi de rester en Amérique du Nord afin de continuer à se mesurer en concours, ce qui est permis par nos critères de sélection, ainsi que plusieurs autres qui sont déjà en Europe sur les terrains de concours. »

« Le Canada disposera ainsi d’une équipe de dressage très puissante aux Jeux équestres mondiaux du Kentucky cet automne », a-t-il tenu à ajouter.

Les Canadiennes auront la possibilité de concourir et de s’entraîner en sol européen lors d’une  tournée qui englobera ces concours: le CDI4* de Wiesbaden (Allemagne, 21 au 24 mai), le CDI4* de Lingen (Allemagne, 4 au 6 juin), le CDIO de Rotterdam (Pays-Bas, 16 au 20 juin), et le CDIO d’Aix-la-Chapelle (Allemagne, 13 au 18 juillet). Holzer et Pop Art ne participeront pas au CDI4* de Wiesbaden, mais ils se joindront aux autres au CDI4* de Lingen.

Pour se mériter des résultats de qualification, les autres cavaliers candidats aux Jeux qui demeureront en Amérique du Nord pourront prendre part au CDI3*  Cornerstone Spring into Dressage (Palgrave, Ontario, 4 au 6 juin), au CDI3* de Blainville (Blainville, Québec, 18 au 20 juin), ou au CDI3* Edmonton Gold Rush (Edmonton, Alberta, 15 au 19 juillet).

La tournée européenne a été réalisée grâce au programme À nous le podium, qui est une initiative sportive nationale créée en vue d’aider les athlètes canadiens des jeux d’hiver et d’été à monter sur le podium des Jeux olympiques et paralympiques.

Vous obtiendrez le classement actuel pour les JEM sur le site Web de Dressage Canada en suivant ce lien : http://equinecanada.ca/index.php?option=com_docman&task=cat_view&gid=833&Itemid=371&lang=en         

Soutenez le rêve des cavaliers canadiens sur la voie des JEM
 
Il reste encore quelques forfaits billets pour les JEM. Chaque forfait comprend des billets placés  directement derrière la lettre C pour les quatre épreuves de dressage et le prix est fixé à 875$ CAD. Pour obtenir un complément d’information, veuillez visiter le site Web de Dressage Canada au equinecanada.ca/dressage, et cliquer sur l’annonce « Spécial forfaits billets pour les JEM de 2010 ».

À propos de Dressage Canada

Dressage Canada est un comité de Canada Hippique. A titre d’organisme directeur du sport de dressage au Canada, son objectif  est de favoriser la croissance du dressage et la poursuite de l’excellence  aux niveaux local, national et international. Dressage Canada assure soutien et conseil tant à l’amateur qu’au professionnel, par le biais de programmes comme la formation et le perfectionnement des entraîneurs, la formation et le perfectionnement des officiels, la définition des règlements et  critères de qualification, l’avancement du sport, le développement de publications et l’attribution de prix. Pour obtenir un complément d’information sur Dressage Canada, veuillez visiter la section dressage du site de Canada Hippique ou joignez-vous à nous  sur Twitter à www.twitter.com/dressagecanada ou Facebook à http://tinyurl.com/lp8cnd.

À propos de Canada Hippique

Canada Hippique est l’organisme national chapeautant l’hippisme. Institution caritative axée sur le service aux membres, Canada Hippique est la division administrative de l’Équipe équestre canadienne faisant autorité en concours hippique national. Elle est la voix nationale des cavaliers de loisir, l’association nationale représentant le bien-être du cheval, l’élevage et l’industrie. Canada Hippique est reconnue auprès du gouvernement du Canada, de la Fédération équestre internationale et du Comité olympique canadien en tant qu’organisme représentant les sports équestres et les intérêts équins.  Pour plus de renseignements sur Canada Hippique, veuillez visiter le equinecanada.ca.