Home / News / Canadian Chris Von Martels Earns Top Score in Kentucky Cup Freestyle

Dressage

Canadian Chris Von Martels Earns Top Score in Kentucky Cup Freestyle | Print |
April 23, 2010 — Chris Von Martels of Ridgetown, ON, received a personal best Grand Prix Freestyle score at the Kentucky Cup Dressage CDI3* Lexington, held at the Kentucky Horse Park in Lexington, KY, April 20–22.

Riding Naomi, a 15-year old Dutch Warmblood mare (Zeoliet x Bold Indian) owned by Sonia Zugel, Von Martels finished second in the Grand Prix Freestyle with a score of 70.200%.
Chris Von Martels and Naomi (Photo Credit—Cealy Tetley)
“I was very happy with Naomi in the Freestyle. She is really a talented horse, and she gives me 110%. It was really exciting to ride in the venue for the World Equestrian Games—the atmosphere was great," said Von Martels. “Sonia Zugel, the owner of Naomi, has been extremely generous and supportive of me.”

Canadian Olympian Jacqueline Brooks of Cedar Valley, ON placed third with 67.350% riding Balmoral, a 10-year old Canadian Hanoverian gelding (Belcanto x Consul), owned Brinc Ltd and Anne & John Welch.

“It was another great night for Canada in the Grand Prix Freestyle. Chris Von Martels and Naomi literally wowed the judges with a ride that, after only five weeks since this pair came together, was truly thrilling. I am certain that with a little more time Chris and Naomi will receive scores well over 70%,” said Robert Dover, Dressage Canada’s Technical/Coach Advisor. 
Jacqueline Brooks and Balmoral (Photo Credit—Cealy Tetley)
“In third place with her usual upbeat style and music was Jacquie Brooks riding Balmoral. Jacquie has been a great inspiration to all riders by competing, since Courtney King's accident, in tails and her riding helmet. She is a great role model and a top competitor,” added Dover. “This has been an outstanding week for the Canadian Dressage effort and bodes well for our upcoming European Tour, which is the next step in preparation for the World Equestrian Games. I salute all the riders, horses and their supporters.”

Scoring 65.550%, for fifth place, was Diane Creech of Caistor Centre, ON riding Douglas Leatherdale’s 10-year-old Hanoverian gelding, Devon L (De Niro x Wolkenstein II). Jaimey Irwin of Stouffville, ON and his horse Dover, a 13-year-old Oldenburg gelding (De Niro x Castro) finished in sixth place with 65.450%.

The competition, held at the site of the 2010 Alltech FEI World Equestrian Games from September 25 to October 10, has been organized as an official test competition for the Games.

The judging panel for the Grand Prix Freestyle test at the Kentucky Cup Dressage included Janet Lee Foy (FEI I—USA) Linda Louise Zang (FEI O—USA), Mary Seefried (FEI O—AUS), Joan Macartney (FEI I—CAN) and Charlotte Bredahl (FEI C—USA).

Support Canadian Riders’ WEG Dreams — Hotel Rooms Disappear April 23

There are still a number of WEG ticket packages available. Each package contains tickets directly behind “C” for four dressage events and is $875 (CDN) each.

For more information, visit the Dressage Canada website (equinecanada.ca/dressage) and click on the “WEG 2010 Ticket Package Special” advertisement.


About Dressage Canada

Dressage Canada, as a committee of Equine Canada, is the National governing body for Dressage in Canada. Dressage Canada's objective is to foster the growth of Dressage and the pursuit of excellence in the sport at the local, national and international levels. Dressage Canada provides support and guidance to both amateurs and professionals through the following programs: coaching education and programs; officials’ education and programs; rules and qualifying criteria; sport development; and publications and awards. For more information about Dressage Canada, please visit the Dressage section of the Equine Canada site or connect with us on Twitter at www.twitter.com/dressagecanada or Facebook at http://tinyurl.com/lp8cnd

About Equine Canada

Equine Canada is Canada’s national governing body for equestrianism. A member-driven, charitable institution, it is the executive branch of the Canadian Equestrian Team, and the national authority for equestrian competition; the national voice for recreational riders; and the national association for equine welfare, breeding, and industry. Equine Canada is recognised by the Government of Canada, the International Equestrian Federation (FEI), and the Canadian Olympic Committee as the national organisation representing equestrian sport and equine interests. For more information about Equine Canada, please visit equinecanada.ca.

Accueil / Nouvelles / Superbe résultat à la reprise libre du concours de dressage Kentucky Cup pour Chris Von Martels

Dressage

Superbe résultat à la reprise libre du concours de dressage Kentucky Cup pour Chris Von Martels | Imprimer |
Le 23 avril 2010 – Chris  Von Martels (Ridgetown, Ontario) a enregistré un nouveau record personnel à la reprise libre de Grand Prix du concours Kentucky Cup. Cette compétition de dressage CDI3* se déroulait du 20 au 22 avril au Kentucky Horse Park de  Lexington, KY.

Sur la selle de Naomi (Zeoliet x Bold Indian), une jument warmblood hollandaise de quinze ans dont Sonia Zugel est propriétaire, Von Martels a pris le second rang de la reprise libre de Grand Prix avec une note de 70,200 %.
Chris Von Martels et Naomi (Crédit photo : Cealy Tetley)
« Je suis vraiment très heureux du résultat de Naomi dans la reprise libre. Elle est très talentueuse et se donne à 110 %. J’ai trouvé cela emballant de concourir sur le site des futurs Jeux équestres mondiaux. L’atmosphère était fantastique, a dit Von Martels. La propriétaire de Naomi, Sonia Zugel, est extrêmement généreuse. Elle est toujours là pour m’épauler. »

L’athlète olympique canadienne Jacqueline Brooks (Cedar Valley, Ontario) s’est classée troisième avec 67,350 % sur Balmoral (Belcanto x Consul), un Hanovrien canadien de dix ans appartenant à Brinc Ltd et Anne et John Welch.

« La présentation de cette reprise libre de Grand Prix  fut une autre soirée formidable pour le Canada. Chris Von Martels et Naomi ont livré une prestation qui a vraiment impressionné les juges.  Lorsqu’on sait que ce couple n’est formé que depuis cinq semaines, c’est tout à fait brillant. Je suis certain qu’avec un peu plus de temps Chris et Naomi recevront des notes bien supérieures à 70 % », a dit Robert Dover, entraîneur et conseiller technique de Dressage Canada.
Jacqueline Brooks et Balmoral (Crédit photo : Cealy Tetley)
« Avec le style musical enlevant qui lui est propre, Jacquie Brooks a pris la troisième position sur Balmoral. Depuis l’accident qu’a subi Courtney King, Jacquie a été une grande source d’inspiration pour les cavaliers car elle porte maintenant un casque protecteur avec son habit de dressage queue de pie. En plus d’être super en compétition, cette femme est un véritable exemple pour nous tous, a ajouté Dover. Nous avons vécu une semaine extraordinaire au plan des résultats ici. C’est de bon augure pour la tournée européenne qui s’en vient. C’est notre prochaine étape préparatoire aux Jeux équestres mondiaux. Je lève mon chapeau à tous les cavaliers, à leurs chevaux, ainsi qu’à ceux qui les soutiennent. »

Diane Creech (Caistor Centre, Ontario) et Devon L (De Niro x Wolkenstein II), l’Hanovrien de dix ans de Douglas Leatherdale ont obtenu 65,550 % ainsi que la cinquième place. Jaimey Irwin (Stouffville, Ontario) et Dover (De Niro x Castro), son Oldenburg de treize ans, ont terminé en sixième position avec 65,450 %.

Le concours, qui se déroulait sur le site des Jeux équestres mondiaux FEI Alltech présentés du 25 septembre au 10 octobre 2010,  représentait une compétition d’essai officielle préparatoire aux Jeux.

Le jury de la reprise libre de Grand Prix du Kentucky Cup Dressage était formé de Janet Lee Foy (FEI I—USA) Linda Louise Zang (FEI O—USA), Mary Seefried (FEI O—AUS), Joan Macartney (FEI I—CAN) et Charlotte Bredahl (FEI C—USA).

Soutenez le rêve des cavaliers canadiens sur la voie des JEM – il n’y aura plus de possibilité d’obtenir une chambre d’hôtel après le 23 avril.
 
Il reste encore quelques forfaits billets pour les JEM. Il s’agit d’une place directement derrière la lettre C pour les quatre épreuves de dressage et le prix est fixé à 875$ CAD.

Pour obtenir un complément d’information, veuillez visiter le site Web de Dressage Canada au equinecanada.ca/dressage, et cliquer sur l’annonce « Spécial forfaits billets pour les JEM de 2010 ».

 
À propos de Dressage Canada

Dressage Canada est un comité de Canada Hippique. A titre d’organisme directeur du sport de dressage au Canada, son objectif  est de favoriser la croissance du dressage et la poursuite de l’excellence  aux niveaux local, national et international. Dressage Canada assure soutien et conseil tant à l’amateur qu’au professionnel, par le biais de programmes comme la formation et le perfectionnement des entraîneurs, la formation et le perfectionnement des officiels, la définition des règlements et  critères de qualification, l’avancement du sport, le développement de publications et l’attribution de prix. Pour obtenir un complément d’information sur Dressage Canada, veuillez visiter la section dressage du site de Canada Hippique ou joignez-vous à nous  sur Twitter à www.twitter.com/dressagecanada ou Facebook à http://tinyurl.com/lp8cnd.

À propos de Canada Hippique

Canada Hippique est l’organisme national chapeautant l’hippisme. Institution caritative axée sur le service aux membres, Canada Hippique est la division administrative de l’Équipe équestre canadienne faisant autorité en concours hippique national. Elle est la voix nationale des cavaliers de loisir, l’association nationale représentant le bien-être du cheval, l’élevage et l’industrie. Canada Hippique est reconnue auprès du gouvernement du Canada, de la Fédération équestre internationale et du Comité olympique canadien en tant qu’organisme représentant les sports équestres et les intérêts équins.  Pour plus de renseignements sur Canada Hippique, veuillez visiter le equinecanada.ca.