Home / News / Canadian Olympian Belinda Trussell Tops Scoreboard at CDI3* WEF Dressage Classic in Florida

Dressage

Canadian Olympian Belinda Trussell Tops Scoreboard at CDI3* WEF Dressage Classic in Florida | Print |
Belinda Trussell & Anton (SusanJStickle.com)March 19, 2010 – Belinda Trussell of Newmarket, ON, earned her second score above 70% in as many weeks at the CDI3* Winter Equestrian Festival in Wellington FL, being held this weekend March 18-21, 2010.  Riding Anton, a 10-year old German-bred gelding (Antaeous x Saxony) owned by Robyn Eames, Trussell scored 70.638% to win Thursday’s Grand Prix class of 30 entries.

“I was very happy with all the Canadian riders who conducted themselves with a great deal of class and sportsmanship,” said Technical Coach/Advisor Robert Dover. “Belinda's score of over 70% for the 2nd show in a row defines her as another rising star for Canada following in the footsteps of Ashley Holzer. I also feel confident that everyone is getting a strong handle on how to best warm up and present their horses.
Belinda Trussell & Anton (SusanJStickle.com)
“I am already looking forward to the next CDI in Lexington as well as the European Tour,” added Dover. “Our riders and horses are on the move up the ranks and I believe everyone is seeing their progress, especially the judges!”

The class had a considerable Canadian contingent, as riders are competing for a spot on the Canadian team for the Alltech FEI World Equestrian Games this fall.  Victoria Winter of Toronto, ON and Proton, a 16-year-old Baden-Wurtemburger gelding (x Patriarch) owned by Cindy Ishoy, earned 68.809% for fifth place. In sixth was Shannon Dueck of Loxachatchee,FL with 66.340%.  Dueck was riding Ayscha, her 9-year-old Oldenburg mare by Welt Hit II.  Jacqueline Brooks placed in the top 10 with both her mounts, Gran Gesto and Balmoral. Aboard her 2008 Olympic mount Gran Gesto, a 15-year-old Oldenburg gelding (Grannox x Goldstern) owned by Brinc Ltd and Anne Welch, Brooks placed seventh with 65. 702%. Brooks scored 65.362% for ninth  place with Balmoral, a 10-year old Canadian Hanoverian gelding (Belcanto x Consul), owned Brinc Ltd and Anne & John Welch.

The Grand Prix Freestyle runs on Friday, March 19, 2010.

The judging panel for the CDI3* WEF includes Kurt Christensen (FEI I—DEN) Stephen Clarke (FEI O—GBR), Lisolette Fore (FEI I—USA), Janet Foy (FEI I—USA) and Jacques Van Daele (FEI I—BEL).
 

Support Canadian Riders’ WEG Dreams

There are still a number of WEG ticket packages available. Each package contains tickets directly behind “C” for four dressage events and is $875 (CDN) each. Dressage Canada also has a few select hotel rooms available at the official Canadian hotel — the Griffin Gate Resort and Spa in Lexington, KY. This is the same hotel where all the Canadian athletes will be staying. The room rate is $329/night plus taxes and the hotel rooms are booked for arrival on Sept 26th for 7 nights.

For more information, visit the Dressage Canada website (equinecanada.ca/dressage) and click on the “WEG 2010 Ticket Package Special” advertisement.

About Dressage Canada

Dressage Canada, as a committee of Equine Canada, is the National governing body for Dressage in Canada. Dressage Canada's objective is to foster the growth of Dressage and the pursuit of excellence in the sport at the local, national and international levels. Dressage Canada provides support and guidance to both amateurs and professionals through the following programs: coaching education and programs; officials’ education and programs; rules and qualifying criteria; sport development; and publications and awards. For more information about Dressage Canada, please visit the Dressage section of the Equine Canada site or connect with us on Twitter at www.twitter.com/dressagecanada or Facebook at http://tinyurl.com/lp8cnd

About Equine Canada

Equine Canada is Canada’s national governing body for equestrianism. A member-driven, charitable institution, it is the executive branch of the Canadian Equestrian Team, and the national authority for equestrian competition; the national voice for recreational riders; and the national association for equine welfare, breeding, and industry. Equine Canada is recognised by the Government of Canada, the International Equestrian Federation (FEI), and the Canadian Olympic Committee as the national organisation representing equestrian sport and equine interests. For more information about Equine Canada, please visit equinecanada.ca.

Accueil / Nouvelles / Belinda Trussell sur la première marche du podium au CDI3* WEF Dressage Classic de Floride

Dressage

Belinda Trussell sur la première marche du podium au CDI3* WEF Dressage Classic de Floride | Imprimer |
Le 19 mars 2010 – Belinda Trussell de Newmarket, Ontario, s’est mérité un second résultat dépassant les 70 % en cette seconde semaine du CDI3* Winter Equestrian Festival de Wellington, Floride, soit celle du 18 au 21 mars 2010. Sur la selle de Anton (Antaeous x Saxony), le hongre d’origine allemande de dix ans de Robyn Eames, Trussell a obtenu 70,638 %, ce qui lui a valu de vaincre les trente concurrents de l’épreuve de Grand Prix présentée jeudi.

« Je suis très satisfait de tous les cavaliers canadiens car leur classe et leur esprit sportif est hors du commun », a dit l’entraîneur et conseiller technique Robert Dover. « La note de Belinda  dépassait les 70 % pour la seconde fois d’affilée, ce qui confirme son statut d’étoile montante canadienne, suivant la trace de Ashley Holzer. Je sens que chacun possède bien sa technique d’échauffement et est en mesure de bien présenter son cheval. »

« J’ai bien hâte au prochain CDI de Lexington ainsi qu’à la tournée européenne. Nos couples cavalier-cheval sont en pleine ascension et je crois que chacun constate leurs progrès, y compris les juges! », a ajouté Dover.

Plusieurs cavaliers canadiens participaient à l’épreuve puisqu’ils se font la lutte pour se mériter une place dans l’équipe canadienne qui prendra part aux Jeux équestres mondiaux FEI Alltech cet automne. Victoria Winter (Toronto, Ontario) et Proton (xPatriach), le Baden-Wurtemberger de 16 ans de Cindy Ishoy, s’est classée cinquième avec 68,809 %. Shannon Dueck (Loxahatchee, Floride) occupait la sixième position avec 66,340 % sur Ayscha, sa jument Oldenbourg de neuf ans  issue de Welt Hit II. Jacqueline Brooks s’est classée au top dix avec ses deux montures, Gran Gesto et Balmoral. Elle a obtenu 65,702 % ainsi que la septième place sur Gran Gesto (Grannox x Goldstern), l’Oldenbourg de 15 ans de Brinc Ltd et Anne Welch, qui fut sa monture des Jeux olympiques de 2008. Elle a de plus obtenu un résultat de 65,362 % sur Balmoral (Belcanto x Consul) assorti de la neuvième position. Balmoral est un Hanovrien de dix ans élevé au Canada dont les propriétaires sont Brinc Ltd et Anne et John Welch.

La reprise libre de Grand Prix aura lieu vendredi le 19 mars 2010.

Le jury officiant à ce CDI3* WEF comprend Kurt Christensen (FEI I—DEN) Stephen Clarke (FEI O—GBR), Lisolette Fore (FEI I—USA), Janet Foy (FEI I—USA) et Jacques Van Daele (FEI I—BEL).
 

Soutenez le rêve des cavaliers canadiens sur la voie des JEM

Il reste encore quelques forfaits billets pour les JEM. Il s’agit d’une place directement derrière la lettre C pour les quatre épreuves de dressage et le prix est fixé à 875$. Dressage Canada détient également quelques chambres d’hôtel situées à l’hôtel où sera logée la délégation canadienne, soit le Griffen Gate Resort and Spa, situé à Lexington, au Kentucky. Le tarif est de 329$ la nuitée plus taxes et la chambre est retenue à compter du 26 septembre pour sept nuitées.

Pour obtenir un complément d’information, veuillez visiter le site Web de Dressage Canada au equinecanada.ca/dressage, et cliquer sur l’annonce « Spécial forfaits billets pour les JEM de 2010 ».

À propos de Dressage Canada

Dressage Canada est un comité de Canada Hippique. A titre d’organisme directeur du sport de dressage au Canada, son objectif  est de favoriser la croissance du dressage et la poursuite de l’excellence  aux niveaux local, national et international. Dressage Canada assure soutien et conseil tant à l’amateur qu’au professionnel, par le biais de programmes comme la formation et le perfectionnement des entraîneurs, la formation et le perfectionnement des officiels, la définition des règlements et  critères de qualification, l’avancement du sport, le développement de publications et l’attribution de prix. Pour obtenir un complément d’information sur Dressage Canada, veuillez visiter la section dressage du site de Canada Hippique ou joignez-vous à nous  sur Twitter à www.twitter.com/dressagecanada ou Facebook à http://tinyurl.com/lp8cnd.

À propos de Canada Hippique

Canada Hippique est l’organisme national chapeautant l’hippisme. Institution caritative axée sur le service aux membres, Canada Hippique est la division administrative de l’Équipe équestre canadienne faisant autorité en concours hippique national. Elle est la voix nationale des cavaliers de loisir, l’association nationale représentant le bien-être du cheval, l’élevage et l’industrie. Canada Hippique est reconnue auprès du gouvernement du Canada, de la Fédération équestre internationale et du Comité olympique canadien en tant qu’organisme représentant les sports équestres et les intérêts équins.  Pour plus de renseignements sur Canada Hippique, veuillez visiter le equinecanada.ca.