Home / News / Gwynne Rooke Nominated as Canadian Dressage Chef d’équipe for WEG

Dressage

Gwynne Rooke Nominated as Canadian Dressage Chef d’équipe for WEG | Print |
February 23, 2010 — Dressage Canada is pleased to announce that they have nominated Gwynne Rooke, of Stouffville, ON, as the chef d’équipe for Canada’s dressage team heading to the 2010 Alltech FEI World Equestrian Games (WEG) at the Kentucky Horse Park in Lexington, KY. The games run from September 25–October 10, 2010.
 
“Having the games on this continent is exciting,” said Rooke. "I know most of the athletes quite well. Their professional behaviour under demanding situations is much valued. I look forward to the opportunity to work with them once again in the pursuit of the goal of delivering their best ever performances."

Rooke has been an Equine Canada official since 1983, when she received her Recorded Steward Status. She went on to become an Equine Canada Senior Dressage Steward in 1985, and was given her FEI Dressage Steward Status in early 2007.  Rooke was also the Chef d’équipe of the silver medal winning 2007 Pan Am Games team, which qualified a Canadian Dressage Team at the 2008 Beijing Olympic Games.

In addition to being a Dressage Steward, Rooke was chair of the Canadian Equestrian Dressage Team from 1987 to 1992, and was the chef d’équipe for the bronze medal winning Dressage Team at the 1988 Seoul Olympics in Korea, as well as the gold medal teams at both the 1987 and 1991 Pan American Games. Rooke was also chef d’équipe for the 2004 Athens Olympic Dressage Team. A long-serving volunteer, Rooke has been involved in the organization of competitions for many years and has also served a term as chair of Dressage Canada’s Senior High Performance Committee.

 
Tickets to WEG Still Available

For those wishing to cheer on our dressage athletes under Rooke’s capable guidance, Dressage Canada has purchased some great ticket packages.

“Dressage has a limited number of tickets still available for purchase,” said Christine Peters, Equine Canada Manager, Dressage. “The tickets come in complete packages, so purchasers would get tickets for the entire Dressage competition — Grand Prix, Days 1 and 2, plus the Grand Prix Special and Grand Prix Freestyle.”

The ticket packages are $875 (CDN) each. “The seating is prime with all the Canadians sitting directly behind C,” added Peters.

Dressage Canada also has a few select hotel rooms available for interested dressage enthusiasts. The rooms are at the official Canadian hotel — the Griffen Gate Resort and Spa in Lexington, KY. This is the same hotel where all the Canadian athletes will be staying. The room rate is $329/night plus taxes and the hotel rooms are booked for arrival on Sept 26th for seven nights.

For more information, visit the Dressage Canada website (equinecanada.ca/dressage) and click on the “WEG 2010 Ticket Package Special” ad.

About Dressage Canada

Dressage Canada, as a committee of Equine Canada, is the National governing body for Dressage in Canada. Dressage Canada's objective is to foster the growth of Dressage and the pursuit of excellence in the sport at the local, national and international levels. Dressage Canada provides support and guidance to both amateurs and professionals through the following programs: coaching education and programs; officials’ education and programs; rules and qualifying criteria; sport development; and publications and awards. For more information about Dressage Canada, please visit the Dressage section of the Equine Canada site or connect with us on Twitter at www.twitter.com/dressagecanada or Facebook at http://tinyurl.com/lp8cnd.

About Equine Canada

Equine Canada is Canada’s national governing body for equestrianism.  A member-driven, charitable institution, it is the executive branch of the Canadian Equestrian Team, and the national authority for equestrian competition; the national voice for recreational riders; and the national association for equine welfare, breeding, and industry.  Equine Canada is recognised by the Government of Canada, the International Equestrian Federation (FEI), and the Canadian Olympic Committee as the national organisation representing equestrian sport and equine interests. For more information about Equine Canada, please visit equinecanada.ca.

Accueil / Nouvelles / Nomination de Gwynne Rooke au poste de chef de l’équipe canadienne de dressage en vue des JEM

Dressage

Nomination de Gwynne Rooke au poste de chef de l’équipe canadienne de dressage en vue des JEM | Imprimer |
Le 23 février 2010 – Dressage Canada a le plaisir d’annoncer la nomination de Gwynne Rooke (Stouffville, Ontario) au poste de chef de l’équipe canadienne de dressage participant aux Jeux équestres mondiaux de 2010. Ce concours se tiendra du 25 septembre au 10 octobre prochain au Kentucky Horse Park de Lexington, au Kentucky.
 
« Je suis emballée à la perspective de me rendre aux Jeux équestres mondiaux sur ce continent, a dit Rooke. Je connais assez bien la plupart des athlètes et j’apprécie énormément l’attitude professionnelle dont ils font preuve dans des conditions exigeantes. Je me réjouis à l’idée de travailler une fois plus auprès d’eux afin leur aider à atteindre leur performance de pointe. »

Rooke occupe la fonction d’officiel de Canada Hippique depuis 1983, date où elle obtient un  statut de commissaire enregistré. En 1985, elle devient commissaire de CH niveau Senior et en 2007, la FEI lui décerne le statut de commissaire de dressage FEI.

En plus de son poste de commissaire de dressage, Rooke a été  présidente de l’équipe canadienne de dressage de 1987 à 1992. Elle était chef de l’équipe de dressage médaillée de bronze aux Jeux olympiques de Séoul en 1988, un rôle qu’elle a aussi joué auprès des équipes médaillées d’or aux éditions 1987 et 1991 des Jeux panaméricains.  En 2004, aux Jeux olympiques d’Athènes, elle était chef de l’équipe canadienne de dressage.

Gwynne Rooke agit comme bénévole depuis longtemps au sein de comités organisateurs de concours. Elle a aussi rempli un mandat à titre de présidente du comité de la haute performance senior de Dressage Canada.

 
Il reste encore des billets pour assister aux JEM

Dressage Canada a pensé aux personnes qui veulent se rendre au Kentucky pour acclamer nos athlètes de dressage qui concourront sous la houlette de Gwynne Rooke. Nous avons d’intéressants forfaits à vous proposer.

La directrice du dressage de Canada Hippique, Christine Peters, a annoncé qu’il reste encore un certain nombre de billets pour les épreuves de dressage. « Votre billet vous donne droit  à toutes les épreuves de dressage, soit le Grand Prix (Jours 1 et 2), le Grand Prix Spécial et la reprise libre de Grand Prix », a-t-elle précisé.

« Le prix d’un tel billet est de 875 $ CAN pour une place de choix car les spectateurs canadiens sont placés en C », a ajouté madame Peters.

Dressage Canada a également réservé un bloc de chambres pour les passionnés de dressage au Griffen Gate Resort and Spa, où tous les athlètes canadiens seront logés. Le tarif est de 329$ la nuitée, taxes en sus,  et la réservation est faite pour sept jours à compter du 26 septembre. Pour obtenir un complément d’information, veuillez visiter le site Web de Dressage Canada (equinecanada.ca/dressage) et cliquer sur la publicité du « Spécial forfait JEM 2010 ». 

À propos de Dressage Canada

Dressage Canada est un comité de Canada Hippique. A titre d’organisme directeur du sport de dressage au Canada, son objectif  est de favoriser la croissance du dressage et la poursuite de l’excellence  aux niveaux local, national et international. Dressage Canada assure soutien et conseil tant à l’amateur qu’au professionnel, par le biais de programmes comme la formation et le perfectionnement des entraîneurs, la formation et le perfectionnement des officiels, la définition des règlements et  critères de qualification, l’avancement du sport, le développement de publications et l’attribution de prix. Pour obtenir un complément d’information sur Dressage Canada, veuillez visiter la section dressage du site de Canada Hippique ou joignez-vous à nous  sur Twitter à www.twitter.com/dressagecanada ou Facebook à http://tinyurl.com/lp8cnd.

À propos de Canada Hippique

Canada Hippique est l’organisme national chapeautant l’hippisme. Institution caritative axée sur le service aux membres, Canada Hippique est la division administrative de l’Équipe équestre canadienne faisant autorité en concours hippique national. Elle est la voix nationale des cavaliers de loisir, l’association nationale représentant le bien-être du cheval, l’élevage et l’industrie. Canada Hippique est reconnue auprès du gouvernement du Canada, de la Fédération équestre internationale et du Comité olympique canadien en tant qu’organisme représentant les sports équestres et les intérêts équins.  Pour plus de renseignements sur Canada Hippique, veuillez visiter le equinecanada.ca.