Home / News / Holzer and Pop Art Score Double Victory at CDI 3* Royal Horse Show

Dressage

Holzer and Pop Art Score Double Victory at CDI 3* Royal Horse Show | Print |
"Canada's three time Olympian Ashley Holzer and her Olympic mount Pop Art scored another double victory in the Grand Prix and the Grand Prix Freestyle at CDI 3* at CDI 3* Royal Horse Show held at The Royal Agricultural Winter Fair, November 6–15, 2009, in Toronto, ON.”  Photo Credit—Cealy TetleyNovember 23, 2009 — Canada's three time Olympian Ashley Holzer and her 2008 Olympic mount Pop Art scored a double victory at the CDI 3* Royal Horse Show held at The Royal Agricultural Winter Fair, November 6–15, 2009, in Toronto, ON.

Holzer, originally from Toronto, ON, now a current resident of New York, NY, started the competition off on November 11 by winning the Grand Prix class aboard Pop Art (Amsterdam x Cabochon), a 12-year-old Dutch Warmblood gelding owned by Rusty Holzer and Moreen Nicoll. Their score was 71.830%. Holzer or Pop Art continued to dominate the following day in the Grand Prix Freestyle with a 75.850%, the highest score of the competition.
"Canada's three time Olympian Ashley Holzer and her Olympic mount Pop Art scored another double victory in the Grand Prix and the Grand Prix Freestyle at CDI 3* at CDI 3* Royal Horse Show held at The Royal Agricultural Winter Fair, November 6–15, 2009, in Toronto, ON.”  Photo Credit—Cealy Tetley
“I would just like to thank the great fans of dressage that came to watch us at the Royal. It’s so wonderful to ride in front of a home crowd. Poppy and I both loved it,” said Holzer, who is currently in 15th spot on the FEI Dressage Riders’ World Ranking List.

Holzer was also awarded the inaugural Ian Nicoll Memorial Trophy, created in memory of her father. The trophy will be awarded annually to the highest ranked Canadian dressage rider on the FEI Dressage Riders’ World Ranking List competing at the CDI 3* Royal Horse Show.

“It was also such an honour that the Royal created a trophy in my father’s name. My family was so touched, and my father was smiling in heaven,” added Holzer.

Denielle Gallagher-Legriffon, originally from Lakeside, NB, and currently residing in Suffern, NY, and Abrikos, her 18-year-old Russian Warmblood stallion, posted a third place finish in the Grand Prix with 64.936%. The duo then earned their personal best in the Grand Prix Freestyle, scoring 69.050% for third place.

Riding Paganini, John Risley’s 12-year-old Dutch Warmblood stallion (Havidoff x Statuar), Cheryl Meisner of Blandford, NS finished in fourth place with 64.426% in the Grand Prix and tied for fourth in the Grand Prix Freestyle with 67.950%. Canadian Olympian Jacqueline Brooks of Cedar Valley, ON, and Balmoral (Belcanto x Consul), a 10-year-old Canadian-bred Hanoverian owned by Brinc Ltd., John and Anne Welch & Jean and Nick Vinios, tied Meisner with a score of  67.950% for fourth in the Grand Prix Freestyle. The pair finished in fifth place in the Grand Prix test with 64.340%.

The international judging panel included Gary Rockwell (FEI O—USA), Cara Whitham (FEI O—CAN), Stephen Clarke (FEI O—GBR), Gabriel Armando (FEI I—ARG) and Lorraine MacDonald (FEI I—CAN).

The CDI3* was sponsored by Dominion Regalia (www.dominionregalia.com), who were on hand for the award presentations. Dominion Regalia is a strong supporter of dressage, being sponsors of Dressage Canada's "The EIGHT Award" which recognizes the achievements of riders competing at Equine Canada Silver and Gold dressage competitions.
 
About Dressage Canada

Dressage Canada, as a committee of Equine Canada, is the National governing body for Dressage in Canada. Dressage Canada's objective is to foster the growth of Dressage and the pursuit of excellence in the sport at the local, national and international levels. Dressage Canada provides support and guidance to both amateur and professional through the following programs: coaching education and programs, officials’ education and programs, rules & qualifying criteria, sport development, publications & awards. For more information about Dressage Canada, please visit the Dressage section of the Equine Canada site.

About Equine Canada

Equine Canada is Canada’s national governing body for equestrianism.  A member-driven, charitable institution, it is the executive branch of the Canadian Equestrian Team, and the national authority for equestrian competition; the national voice for recreational riders; and the national association for equine welfare, breeding, and industry.  Equine Canada is recognised by the Government of Canada, the International Equestrian Federation (FEI), and the Canadian Olympic Committee as the national organisation representing equestrian sport and equine interests. For more information about Equine Canada, please visit equinecanada.ca

Accueil / Nouvelles / Double victoire pour Holzer et Pop Art au CDI 3* du Concours Hippique Royal

Dressage

Double victoire pour Holzer et Pop Art au CDI 3* du Concours Hippique Royal | Imprimer |
«Ashley Holzer, une cavalière canadienne qui a participé aux olympiques à trois reprises, et Pop Art, sa monture olympique, ont été doublement victorieux au CDI 3* du Concours hippique Royal, raflant le Grand Prix et la Reprise Libre de Grand Prix. Ce concours a eu lieu dans le cadre du Royal Agricultural Winter Fair du 6 au 15 novembre 2009 à Toronto.”  Photo : Cealy TetleyLe 23 novembre 2009—Ashley Holzer, qui a représenté trois fois le Canada aux Jeux olympiques et Pop Art, sa monture des Jeux olympiques de 2008, ont été doublement victorieux au CDI 3* du Concours hippique Royal qui a eu lieu dans le cadre du Royal Agricultural Winter Fair du 6 au 15 novembre 2009 à Toronto.

Holzer, originaire de Toronto en Ontario et qui réside maintenant à New York, a entamé le concours le 11 novembre en remportant l’épreuve de Grand Prix à bord de Pop Art (Amsterdam x Cabochon), un hongre Warmblood hollandais de 12 ans appartenant à Rusty Holzer et Moreen Nicoll.  Le couple a obtenu une note de 71,830%.  Le lendemain, Holzer et Pop Art ont continué à dominer la compétition en gagnant la Reprise Libre de Grand Prix avec une note de 75,850%, le plus haut score décerné au concours.
«Ashley Holzer, une cavalière canadienne qui a participé aux olympiques à trois reprises, et Pop Art, sa monture olympique, ont été doublement victorieux au CDI 3* du Concours hippique Royal, raflant le Grand Prix et la Reprise Libre de Grand Prix. Ce concours a eu lieu dans le cadre du Royal Agricultural Winter Fair du 6 au 15 novembre 2009 à Toronto.”  Photo : Cealy Tetley
«J’aimerais simplement remercier les amateurs de dressage qui sont venus nous voir au Royal.  C’était vraiment agréable de performer devant un auditoire local.  Poppy et moi avons adoré cela», a dit Holzer, qui est actuellement en 15ème position au classement mondial des cavaliers de dressage de la FEI.

Holzer a aussi reçu le premier trophée Ian Nicoll Memorial, créé en mémoire de son père.  Le trophée sera remis annuellement au meilleur cavalier de dressage canadien au classement mondial des cavaliers de dressage de la FEI qui participe au CDI 3 * du Concours hippique Royal.

«Le Royal nous a fait un tel honneur en créant ce trophée au nom de mon père.  Ma famille a été très touchée, et mon père nous sourit au paradis», a ajouté Holzer.

Denielle Gallagher-Legriffon, originaire de Lakeside, C.-B., et qui réside actuellement à Suffern, New York, montant Abrikos, son étalon Warmblood russe de 18 ans, s’est mérité une troisième place dans le Grand Prix avec une note de 64,936%.  Le duo a ensuite réalisé sa meilleure performance à vie dans la Reprise Libre de Grand Prix, avec une troisième place et la note de 69,050%.

Montant Paganini (Havidoff x Statuar), l’étalon Warmblood hollandais de 12 ans de John Risley, Cheryl Meisner de Blandford, Nouvelle-Écosse, a pris la quatrième position en  Grand Prix avec une note de 64,426%, et la quatrième ex aequo en Reprise Libre de ce niveau  avec 67,950%.  La cavalière olympique Jacqueline Brooks de Cedar Valley, Ontario, et Balmoral (Belcanto x Consul), l’Hanovrien de 10 ans élevé au Canada de Brinc Ltd., John et Anne Welch & Jean et Nick Vinios, ont terminé à égalité avec Meisner. Ils ont obtenu un résultat de 67,950% assorti de la  quatrième place en Reprise Libre après s’être classés cinquièmes en Grand Prix avec 64,340%.

Le jury siégeant au concours était formé de Gary Rockwell (FEI O—États-Unis), Cara Whitham (FEI O—Canada), Stephen Clarke (FEI O—Grande-Bretagne), Gabriel Armando (FEI I—Argentine) et Lorraine MacDonald (FEI I—Canada).

Le CDI3* était commandité par Dominion Regalia (www.dominionregalia.com) qui était sur place durant la remise des prix. Dominion Regalia appuie énergiquement le dressage, notamment par le biais de sa commandite au « Prix HUIT » de Dressage Canada qui souligne les réalisations des participants aux concours de Canada Hippique de niveaux Argent et Or.

À propos de Dressage Canada

Dressage Canada, en tant que comité de Canada Hippique, est le corps dirigeant du sport de dressage au Canada. L’objectif de Dressage Canada est de favoriser la croissance du dressage et la poursuite de l’excellence dans le sport aux niveaux local, national et international. Dressage Canada assure soutien et conseil tant au niveau amateur que professionnel grâce aux programmes suivants : certification et perfectionnement des entraîneurs, accréditation et perfectionnement des officiels, règlements et critères de qualification, développement du sport, publications et prix d’honneur. Pour obtenir un complément d’information sur Dressage Canada, consultez la section Dressage du site Web de Canada Hippique.

À propos de Canada Hippique

Canada Hippique est l’organisme national chapeautant l’hippisme. Institution caritative axée sur le service aux membres, Canada Hippique est la division administrative de l’Équipe équestre canadienne faisant autorité en concours hippique national. Elle est la voix nationale des cavaliers de loisir, l’association nationale représentant le bien-être du cheval, l’élevage et l’industrie. Canada Hippique est reconnue auprès du gouvernement du Canada, de la Fédération équestre internationale et du Comité olympique canadien en tant qu’organisme représentant les sports équestres et les intérêts équins.  Pour plus de renseignements sur Canada Hippique, veuillez visiter le equinecanada.ca