Home / News / CBC Bold Receives 2008 Dressage Canada Media Award of Excellence

Dressage

CBC Bold Receives 2008 Dressage Canada Media Award of Excellence | Print |
[left-right] Cara Whitham, Kerri McGregor, Bruce Cowley, Donna Warner, Kathryn Atkinson, Rick Davis, Nancy Wetmore (Michelle C. Dunn Photo)December 11, 2008 — Dressage Canada is proud to announce that CBC Bold is the recipient of the Dressage Canada Media Award of Excellence in recognition of their outstanding television coverage of all the equestrian sports at the 2008 Olympic Games held in Hong Kong, China.

CBC Bold provided complete same-day coverage of not only the dressage competition, but also eventing and show jumping with a dynamic team comprising of lead commentator Nancy Wetmore, dressage and eventing commentator, Cara Whitham, and Beth Underhill who covered eventing and show jumping. 

[left-right] Cara Whitham, Kerri McGregor, Bruce Cowley, Donna Warner, Kathryn Atkinson, Rick Davis, Nancy Wetmore (Michelle C. Dunn Photo)

The coverage by CBC Bold had equestrian enthusiasts across the country glued to their televisions from August 9–21 to watch the Canadian Equestrian Team deliver incredible and historic performances.

"CBC Bold has done incredible work to help make dressage accessible to not only existing fans, but also introduce the sport to those who have never before witnessed the power, elegance and grace that is dressage," remarked the Chair of Dressage Canada, Kerri McGregor.

The award was presented during Dressage Canada’s “A Celebration of Dressage” reception held at the Royal Agricultural Winter Fair November 13th in Toronto, ON. On hand to accept the award was Bruce Cowley (Creative Head, Digital Channels—CBC Network Programming), Donna Warner (Senior Producer, CBC TV Sports), Rich Davis (Producer/Director—CBC), Kathryn Atkinson (Assistant Director—CBC TV) and Nancy Wetmore (Colour Commentator—CBC Sports).

"We are so pleased to have been recognized by Dressage Canada. We poured a lot of resources into our coverage at the Olympics and our broadcast team did a terrific job in bringing the story home to Canadians,” noted Cowley. “It was very exciting."  

The Dressage Canada Media Award of Excellence is an annual award which recognizes a media affiliate who has made significant contributions to the sport of dressage in Canada.

In 2007, equestrian photographer, Cealy Tetley, won the award for her work covering Canadian dressage riders at major international events. CBC Country Canada was the inaugural recipient of the award, in 2006, for their coverage of the 2006 World Equestrian Games  (WEG) from Aachen, Germany. 
 

About Dressage Canada

Dressage Canada, as a committee of Equine Canada, is the National governing body for Dressage in Canada. Dressage Canada's objective is to foster the growth of Dressage and the pursuit of excellence in the sport at the local, national and international levels. Dressage Canada provides support and guidance to both amateur and professional through the following programs: coaching education and programs, officials’ education and programs, rules & qualifying criteria, sport development, publications & awards. For more information about Dressage Canada, please visit the Dressage section of the Equine Canada site.

Accueil / Nouvelles / Dressage Canada décerne le Prix du média d’excellence à CBC Bold

Dressage

Dressage Canada décerne le Prix du média d’excellence à CBC Bold | Imprimer |
[g–d] Cara Whitham, Kerri McGregor, Bruce Cowley, Donna Warner, Kathryn Atkinson, Rick Davis, Nancy Wetmore (par : Michelle C. Dunn)Le 11 décembre 2008 - Dressage Canada est fière d’annoncer que le Prix du média d’excellence est décerné à CBC Bold, en reconnaissance de sa remarquable couverture télévisée de tous les sports équestres lors des Jeux olympiques de Hong Kong qui se sont déroulés en août 2008.

CBC Bold a retransmis le même jour tant les épreuves de dressage que celles de concours complet et de saut d’obstacles,  avec une équipe dynamique comprenant la présentatrice principale Nancy Wetmore, épaulée par Cara Whitham qui commentait les épreuves de dressage et de concours complet, et par Beth Underhill qui couvrait le concours complet et le saut d’obstacles.

[g–d] Cara Whitham, Kerri McGregor, Bruce Cowley, Donna Warner, Kathryn Atkinson, Rick Davis, Nancy Wetmore (par : Michelle C. Dunn)

Grâce à CBC Bold,  les amateurs de sports équestres d’un bout à l’autre du pays ont eu les yeux rivés sur leur petit écran du 9 au 21 août afin de ne rien manquer des exploits historiques de l’équipe canadienne.

« CBC Bold a fait un travail exceptionnel qui a rendu le dressage accessible tant aux passionnés  du sport qu’à ceux qui n’avaient jamais admiré la puissance, l’élégance et la grâce de ce sport auparavant », a mentionné la présidente de Dressage Canada, Kerri McGregor.

C’est durant la réception Célébration du dressage tenue le 13 novembre dernier à Toronto dans le cadre du Royal Winter Fair que le Prix du média d’excellence a été attribué au lauréat représenté à cette occasion par M. Bruce Cowley (chargé de création pour les canaux numériques, programmation du réseau CBC), Madame Donna Warner (productrice senior, CBC Sports), M. Rich Davis (producteur et directeur de CBC), Madame Kathryn Atkinson (directrice adjointe, CBC) et Madame Nancy Wetmore (présentatrice, CBC Sports).

« Nous sommes ravis que Dressage Canada nous ait désignés comme lauréats, a dit M. Cowley. Nous avons consacré beaucoup de ressources à la couverture télévisée des Jeux olympiques et c’est avec une adresse extraordinaire que notre équipe a fait vivre ces événements aux  téléspectateurs de tout le pays. Ce fut une expérience fascinante. »

Le Prix du média d’excellence de Dressage Canada place sous les feux des projecteurs les apports  médiatiques exceptionnels  au sport de dressage au Canada.

La lauréate de 2007 fut la photographe équestre Cealy Tetley pour son merveilleux travail auprès des cavaliers et cavalières de dressage lors de concours internationaux. CBC Country Canada a été le premier récipiendaire du prix en 2006 après avoir couvert les Jeux équestres mondiaux qui se tenaient à Aix-la-Chapelle en Allemagne.


À propos de Dressage Canada

Dressage Canada est un comité de Canada Hippique. A titre d’organisme directeur du sport de dressage au Canada, son objectif  est de favoriser la croissance du dressage et la poursuite de l’excellence  aux niveaux local, national et international. Dressage Canada assure soutien et conseil tant à l’amateur qu’au professionnel, par le biais de programmes comme la formation et le perfectionnement des entraîneurs, la formation et le perfectionnement des officiels, la définition des règlements et  critères de qualification, l’avancement du sport, le développement de publications et l’attribution de prix. Pour obtenir un complément d’information sur Dressage Canada, veuillez visiter la section dressage du site de Canada Hippique.